Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
285 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 18, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Gayanelo, Mrs. Bergasi, Mrs. Vierno, Mrs. O'Hanlon, Mrs. Dolan, Mrs. Colety, Mrs. Bryde and Mr. Henry...thank you for being a positive influence on my child for you have demonstrated that there are good teachers at IHM.

Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted September 20, 2015
- a parent
I would like to say thank you to several people at the school who work very hard at making it a small community. Mrs Slater is busy all day long and helps as much as possible with little effort. She smiles, she's friendly and she's real. The school nurse has her hands full but is competent and diligent..and Mrs Gorham - thank you for making our transition to PreK so smooth- for playing your guitar, making the children smile and laugh, feel ultra-special on their birthday, and for being warm, caring and empathetic...you should be there full time for as great as you are.


Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted September 20, 2015
- a parent
Homework was busy work. Workbook was sent home without directions and reading assignments, especially in religion had vocabulary on them that were NEVER taught. When questioned, the teacher never responded... since when are Kindergarteners expected to recognize and read 4 syllable words - even with the new Common Core??? Enough Said.

Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted September 20, 2015
- a parent
My daughter's persistence and self esteem was shattered. I can only speak from my experience. I was told that it was my fault and the issues I was seeing - although I have 18 years of teaching under my belt- was nominated teacher of the year and won the My Favorite Teacher Award - my areas of expertise were pretty much shot down and nullified by IHM but not the Scarsdale School District, who evaluated her... Go figure.

Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted September 20, 2015
- a parent
My child only entered Pre- K and K. The PreK teacher was fabulous as far as teaching and showing compassion and empathy, which let's face it... Children learn best by example. The Kindergarten teacher was another story entirely...as well as her assistant...therefore my opinion is skewed. They- as a team showed no mercy whatsoever, rather seemed to wallow in seeing young children lose crucial self esteem. This may sound like a rant- but had I known I was one of five or so other parents, I would have not merely left the school quietly. My actions would've gone much further...and speaking of compassion and empathy future parents...be very happy the prior principal is gone. She was part of the issue...a very large part of a long standing, well known problem that is allowed bc "it's Catholic School."


Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted September 20, 2015
- a parent
I feel the families - for the most part - are invested in the school and their child's overall experience. However, there is a sense of cliquiness, which goes completely against teaching children integrity and fairness. The very premise of the Catholic religion was based on humility and being humble, which is not what the overall vibe is here- from the prior administration down. In retrospect, there are some very well meaning faculty, staff members, and families who made this almost worth the money.

Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic School 5

Posted May 14, 2015
- a parent
This school is great!! It is warming to any family from any background and from all students that live in many areas of westchester!!! It does not cater to the wealthy!!! That does not exist!!! If your child needs academic help the teachers are wonderful to help that student out!! I have been there for many years and it is a good feeling when your child wakes up excited to go to school , which this is the case for both my kids!! The principal is a well respected ,kind, great sense of humor and a real great person in general !!!! One of the best principals I have seen in my opinion!!

Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic School 1

Posted May 05, 2015
- a parent
I find this school to cater to wealthy!! MONEY is their first PRIORITY Unless you are wealthy and are donating money or volunteering your time you are not a friend nor are you favored or liked. The principal is very fake and quite frankly only wants to know you if you are of her kind. This school doesn't appear to be very color friendly either (There s probably 2% of diversity). This is a very expensive school and their PRIORITY is MONEY and NOT EDUCATION. There are no programs that are available for students that do well, obviously b/c it caters to families that are wealthy. If you are ever late on your tuition you child is quickly suspended with absolutely no consideration in mind. There is some tutoring help that's offered afterschool but one on one availability is based on a preferential list....My guess is that list is based on the more money that's given to the school by parents. I am in the process of looking into other schools for my child......as this is not a comfortable setting for my child. The Principal of this school is looking for the PERFECT child.......in my opinion, no one is perfect. But if you think your child is PERFECT then this is the school for your child.


Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic School 5

Posted April 02, 2015
- a parent
It never ceases to amaze that people come onto this website to trash such a wonderful, loving and academically strong school. Numbers do not lie. If ever in doubt, please look at our stats and see where our children end up going to high schools and colleges. I hope perspective parents, that do come onto this website, are not swayed by the few parents who didn t get their way. To call the Kindergarten teacher less than stellar and emotionless is completely not true. My child is also in the Kindergarten class and within a few months she has become a strong reader, writer and quickly excelling in Math. There have been topics related to God that I didn t even know how to approach, when discussing it my child, and this particular teacher did and she did in in such a loving and non-fearful way.

Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic School 5

Posted April 02, 2015
- a parent
Continuation of my previous post..Any concern I have ever had, related to school, this teacher has quickly responded too. All these qualities make this particular teacher indispensable to me and so many other parents. What does amuse me is that this particular parent, despite their complaints, is still returning to the school next year. So please consider that. IHM is a fantastic school and I hope you will decide that for yourself and not read these silly and senseless comments!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic School
201 Blvd, Scarsdale, NY  10583
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (914) 723-5608
Last modified Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top