Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Seely Place School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 01, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. D'Amico has been a stellar teacher for our first grader, and Dr. Kennedy has been an outstanding principal.

Seely Place School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 01, 2016
- a parent
There's homework every day for 1st graders, but the homework is quick and easy to complete, and reinforces the reading, writing, and math skills the kids learn at school that day.


Seely Place School 5

Posted June 01, 2016
- a parent
Our first grade daughter has had an incredible experience at Seely Place. We moved here from out of town and she was welcomed warmly by the teachers, faculty, and students. And as an advanced reader, her wonderful teacher has given her significant individual attention to keep her engaged and motivated to learn by selecting books they can read together.

Seely Place School 2

Posted May 25, 2014
- a parent
Extremely supportive school for kids with learning deficits. Currently facing fiscal pressure and very political BOE. This has resulted in drop in academic standards as well as decline in standards!

Seely Place School 5

Posted September 10, 2013
- a parent
My daughter started K last week. The little girl brought back home a little gift from the teacher, with a note, which thrilled both me and wife. No more words needed for the rating. I quote: We are looking forward to a wonderful Kindergarten year! This bag contains a few things important reminders... The COTTON BALL is to remind you that our room is always filled with kind words and warm feelings. The STICKER is to remind you that we need to stick together and help each other. The RUBBER BAND is to remind you to hug your family each morning before you come to school. The STAR is to remind you to shine and to always try your best. The PIPE CLEANER is to remind you to be flexible. The BAND-AID is to remind you to say kind things and help heal hurt feelings in your friends and yourself. The TISSUE is to remind you to help someone who is having a bad day and help dry their tears. The RIBBON is to remind you that friendship tie our hearts together. The ERASER is to remind you that everyone makes mistakes, and that is okay. The PENNY is to remind you that you are valuable and special like a shiny new coin, and I am lucky to have you in my class. ENJOY! Love,


Seely Place School
no rating

Posted October 27, 2009
- a parent
my daughter went to seely k-6 the teachers are great if you are lucky your child will havr a great education some great teachers retired but who ever you get will leave wonderful memories for you and your child miss fox to mr. cass they are all graet

Seely Place School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Seely Place School is not only number 1 in Westchester County, but I would consider them as Nation Best Schools. Excellent Teaching Staff who pays undivided attention to each child and brings best out of them. It would be undermining, if I do not praise the efforts of PTA and after school Programs. The variety show and the science fair encourages all the kids for their wholesome personality development. No doubt, Seely Place School, Edgemont School District is the best.

Seely Place School 5

Posted January 26, 2009
- a parent
Seely Place is quite honestly the most wonderful school I have ever had the privilege to be in! It provides a nurturing, safe and fun place to learn for the children. The principal is a fabulous administrator and each and every teacher cares about the children and his/her job. As an educator, I have seen many schools and this one is the best! Our son transitioned mid school year last year, everyone made sure his move was smooth and that he was welcomed. He has truly blossomed under the care and supervision of the Seely Place staff.


Seely Place School
no rating

Posted November 03, 2008
- a parent
Edgemont was ranked one of the top 3 school districts (rural) in the US in US New and World Report Magazine. My son has some learning issues and with their support and small class settings he was able to graduate an A/B student and get into his #1 college. He went to Seely Place elementary which was a school I wish I had gone to in my youth. It just doesn't get any better than Edgemont. I chose it for the schools and The NY Times had called it 'Scarsdale, but low keyed'. Great that Jr and High School located on the same campus so kids don't have to get reaclamated at a new high school. His graduating class was just over 100 students which was also a plus so kids don't get lost amongst a huge student body. It will be the best gift you give your kids/family.

Seely Place School 4

Posted May 19, 2006
- a parent
My daughter has been at Seely place since kindergarden. Seely is a school where the children come first. Each child is encouraged to do their personal best without being labeled as the smart or dumb kids. The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child. The principal is kind and knows each child by name. He is a great example of a leader and I will miss seeing him everyday as my daughter is moving. Thank you Seely for bringing out the best in my children and giving her the encouragement and confidence she needed to go the next grade.

Nearby schools

Seely Place School
51 Seely Place, Scarsdale, NY  10583
(914) 472-8040
Last modified Seely Place School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top