Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Edgemont Junior Senior High School 1

Posted September 13, 2015
- a parent
As a resident and parent its obvious that there is utter lack of governance and a good leadership in the BOE. They just raised taxes in a district where taxes are exorbitantly high and the 2015 NewsWeek national ranking for EHS is a dismal #183. It just doesn't add up??

Edgemont Junior Senior High School 5

Posted January 11, 2015
- a student
I am currently go to EHS and it is a great school with challenging classes but you get used to it in the first few weeks. There are so many sports for example I was part of the undefeated Edgemont Soccer Team but thats not what its about. There are many good classes to take and Edgemont was just voted one of the best schools in the nation.


Edgemont Junior Senior High School 1

Posted December 08, 2014
- a parent
Very very high property taxes and disproportionately mediocre outcomes in academic standards! Much hype surrounding the school system but as a resident in the community witnessing erosion in curriculum and STEM education.

Edgemont Junior Senior High School 5

Posted September 23, 2014
- a community member
I go to edgemont and I love it. They have so many clubs and sports and the teachers are amazing! The cafeteria has so manu choices for lunch, the vending machines have snacks, ice cream, and drinks. It is a very independent school and I would not trade it for the world.

Edgemont Junior Senior High School 3

Posted June 02, 2014
- a community member
As a student having gone through the entirety of the Edgemont elementary and junior high system, I can indeed say that, yes, the teachers and classes are usually great and inspiring (especially for Latin, band, and science). However, having moved away freshman year, I'm now fully able to realize what a stupidly wretched, depressing time I had there. Maybe it was due to just to the peers in my particular grade, maybe not. The school grounds are beautiful, the cafeteria food strangely delicious, the library relatively well-stocked, but when I left, did I miss it? Not really, because being bullied for most of elementary school and then becoming a wandering, shallow-friendship-holding semblance of myself amongst the same people and others in middle school (since the elementary schools are combined, therefore combining cliques and producing strained relationships between old friends) thoroughly drubs the amazing academics this school had to offer. Go panthers.


Edgemont Junior Senior High School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
I have a son in 8th and a daughter who is a senior. Best thing about being in this school district is you don't have to pressure your kids to do well in school and to want to go to a good college. Their peers will do that for you. In some affluent communities, you get kids who want designer clothing as status symbols. I feel like in Edgemont, getting into a good college is the status symbol.

Edgemont Junior Senior High School 5

Posted June 06, 2012
- a community member
I am a fairly recent Edgemont alum and have to say that Edgemont really does prepare you well for both college and life. Like all of the other reviews have mentioned, the quality of the education and specific attention that each student receives is excellent. After attending a top university and seeing the range of academic backgrounds that other kids had come from, I could clearly tell that Edgemont was AS GOOD, in most cases BETTER, than most private schools. One huge perk of Edgemont over private schools/IB schools was that I entered college with a significant amount of AP credit, which inevitably cut the cost of tuition during my senior year. The range of opportunities outside the classroom are really great for a public school. Sports, music/arts, clubs, peer mentoring, etc. are all really strong and there really are small niches that each student can explore based on his/her interests. Each grade is pretty small (140-200 kids) so the grades are pretty cliquey. It's really nice if your grade is close as a whole, but it can definitely get annoying if not - my grade was not close, but my younger brother's grade was very close. It really depends on the year. Overall, A+

Edgemont Junior Senior High School 4

Posted March 28, 2011
- a community member
Lol...Sure most parents make 100k and pay 20,000 in taxes to send their children to an upscale schol system but what about the kids that sneak in with false addresses and work our school systwem for 4 yrs tuition and tax free...we should put of our resources to work and catch the people who live off our dollar....It's not fair that we hard to keep our children in our district school and others can just send them for free EDGEMONT do your homework...


Edgemont Junior Senior High School 5

Posted March 28, 2011
- a parent
We moved to Edgemont high school district when my son was at 9th grade. Based on our personal experience, it's a great school in all perspective. There are about average150 kids per grade. In term of academic, it s rated one of top schools in the nation. It offers many AP classes. The most important is that the students are competing to be successful and help each other. In term of sports, they offer many different sports program and have no cut policy. They also offer many musical, arts, clubs etc programs as well. We re very happy with my son development in Edgemont. We used to live the school district with about 700 students per grade. He got loss in the crowd and wanted to be as average student even he has many potentials. After we moved to Edgemont, he got to know every kid at the school and started to take many AP classes as all the kids looking up the smart kids. He joined track team and eventually became the captain. He also joined many clubs and gets involved with many communities services. We credit all his achievement to Edgemont!

Edgemont Junior Senior High School 4

Posted June 24, 2010
- a parent
The school has small class sizes, lots of challenging courses including many AP courses. There are lots of extracurrici;ar activities and numerious sports programs to balance the academic demands of the school. Through its rigorous academic programs and intellectual capabilities of its students along with a dedicated faculty, many students gain admission to Ivy League and top tier schools.

Nearby schools

Edgemont Junior Senior High School
200 White Oak Lane, Scarsdale, NY  10583
(914) 725-1500
Last modified Edgemont Junior Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top