Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Schenectady, NY
Students enrolled: 1,380

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Niskayuna High School 4

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
Nisky is a great school. I am not only a parent of three graduated children in recent years but I am a graduate as well. The standards here are higher than other schools HOWEVER my opinion of the administration has declined rapidly. My first issue (among many not addressed here) would be a principal appointed who clearly demonstrates his part time devotion to his "educational job" yet his full time presence in the professional sports area - I find offensive. When did we lower our standards to appoint someone who doesn't devote 40 hours a week to his job? Is that why we have assistant principals to take up his slack? My attendance at the HS didn't see ANY assistant principals. The whole district has become disappointing in my eyes.

Niskayuna High School 1

Posted April 07, 2014
- a parent
I have been a parent in the Nisky district for 15 years, with my youngest now in HS. I can tell you that its a matter of time before this district - which is completely overrated - crashes. The Administration for a pristigious, upscale district is lost (to say the least) and without giving too much detail, the bottom line for anyone willing to consider their child(ren) attending Nisky schools is that it is the children themselves who make Niskayuna look good.


Niskayuna High School 4

Posted March 29, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is a freshman this year. So far I have been very impressed with the school and all of the oppurtunities that are available to her. I don't think I could ask for more from a public or private school!

Niskayuna High School 1

Posted May 22, 2013
- a parent
Highly overrated. The teachers hands are held due to state regs. Quality of education has gone down the toilet. Bullying is ignored far and wide and the kids are horrible to each other. Nobody does anything to stop it. It's all smoke and mirrors. Don't buy into it.

Niskayuna High School 5

Posted September 03, 2010
- a parent
Niskayuna schools is like many high caliber public schools. It is excellent and offers one the best public school curriculum around. It cannot be everything to everyone. If your child is among the top and is ambitious, it is a great place with plenty of challenging offerings. If your child is seriously struggling and is among the lower percentile, he/she will get great services and attention. If your child is somewhere in the middle (depending on where), he/she will get lost in the shuffle. Contrary to those who are disillusioned by the music dept, I find the music dept to be excellent and committed. Of course the better caliber music students should get accolades. I don't see this as a problem. There should be some semblance of meritocracy. Above all, the student body exhibits great acceptance of uniqueness. Students are quite considerate toward each other. It's a great environment.


Niskayuna High School 1

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
Highly overrated. I have found with both of my children that the competition and emphasis on the 'ivy' track destroyed their joy of learning. Both of my children are intelligent kids who did well, but whose love of school was extinguished when they walked through the door. Contrary to the previous reviewer - the music dept is not dedicated to teaching all kids, but to the accolades they receive from showcasing the chosen few. We won't be sending our youngest to Nisky High - we've learned our lesson twice over. Shameful.

Niskayuna High School 5

Posted April 10, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Niskayuna High School 0
no rating

Posted June 02, 2009
- a student
Man, forget all of that. Niskayuna is just an average school. It us just a suburban school that has little to no diversity. Schools like Schenectady High School are more diverse, just like the real world.


Niskayuna High School 5

Posted June 16, 2008
- a parent
Consistently ranked one of the top school districts in the Albany area, Niskayuna HS offers tremendous learning opportunities to its entire student population, resulting in a high level of college attendance among its graduates. Most school districts will cut art/music programs when budgets are tight but Niskayuna has an outstanding music program whose ensembles achieve gold and silver consistently in local NYSSMA competitions. This is mainly due to the commitment demonstrated by the dedicated and talented staff, parents who care about education, and students who understand the value of a solid education.

Niskayuna High School 5

Posted February 20, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Niskayuna High School
1626 Balltown Road, Schenectady, NY  12309
(518) 382-2511
Last modified Niskayuna High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Niskayuna High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top