Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Schenectady, NY
Students enrolled: 2,606
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Schenectady High School 5

Posted June 11, 2015
- a student
SHS is an amazing school. It gets a lot of bad attention because negative things about the school are emphasized more than the positive things. Overall, it has a full IB program, offers the Inspire program, Smart Scholars, Votec, Pre-IB, and IB certificates as well as special Ed classes and classes in the arts. It's athletics department is amazing as well and it is packed with a variety of clubs and after school activities.

Schenectady High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 11, 2015
- a student
The staff encourages its students to challenge themselves and try as hard as they can.


Schenectady High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 11, 2015
- a student
They are extremely caring. When a boy committed suicide and a teacher died, they offered extra help for students and teachers coping with this.

Schenectady High School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 11, 2015
- a student
SHS tries to make room for everyone and treat everyone fairly. The staff has high expectations for each and every student.

Schenectady High School 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a student
i will be going into the 11th grade (junior) this year, and i can say i am very excited. I have learned alot in the school and i really cannot wait for this new school year. The friends, classes , teachers i miss it all. So many people have such bad remarks but honestly its not bad at all. Of course there are different cliques but what other schools dont?


Schenectady High School 5

Posted August 13, 2013
- a student
This school has grown very much throughout the years, if only the school was a bit bigger than it wouldnt seem so crowded. But overall the teachers are great. The counselors are always attentive to their students. The cafeteria is big and has many food choices ( healthy aswell). Theres not much bad that i can say, this school was the best. Class of 2008

Schenectady High School 5

Posted December 03, 2011
- a community member
I am a recent graduate of Schenectady High School (Class of 2011) and I have to say, It is the most diverse and well rounded school i've ever encountered. Yes, it does have it's challenges but when you're putting over 3000 students of different ethnicity, social class, background, and religion together, tensions run high. But honestly, it isn't an unsafe school, it isn't scary like people have said. It has a ton to offer. Almost any class you could want is offered in this school as well as the very prestigious International Baccalaureate program. I am a graduate not only of SHS but I was an IB student for all 4 years of attending this school. I received an education that some other high school students dream of achieving. I'm in college with students who have been sheltered throughout their high school experience. They weren't enlightened by diversity. They weren't given a world renowned educational opportunity such as the IB program. So before you base your idea of SHS on these little reviews, go there for yourself. You'll see it isn't a violent atmosphere, it's a diverse one. Student receive an amazing education. It's the one's who blow it off that are the statistics of SHS.

Schenectady High School 1

Posted August 22, 2011
- a student
As you can tell by the atrocious grammar and spelling of some of my fellow students reviewing my school on this site... Not many people care very much about their education at my school, I regret to say. I honestly don't like it at all. Its actually a bit scary... >.>


Schenectady High School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
My daughters graduated from there and I feel it could use the support.

Schenectady High School
no rating

Posted April 06, 2010
- a student
This school is amazing. It is so fun and it has classes for basically everything you want to be. The activities are like no other. People don't take the time to see how amazing it really is. Sure there is fight but doesn't most schools have those. I think it is the best school ever. ive been to many but this school by far is the best.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Schenectady High School
1445 The Plaza, Schenectady, NY  12308
(518) 881-2044
Last modified Schenectady High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Schenectady High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top