Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St John The Evangelist

Private | PK-6 | 123 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Schenectady

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $77,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $770.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 29, 2012

St John's is a wonderful school with high standards and a caring staff. My children have been in both the early childhood program and the elementary school and have thrived academically and emotionally. Although there is a strong emphasis on academics the education that they have received goes far beyond what can be taught from books. The teachers at St John's are devoted to their students' achievements and are always available when needed. It is more than a school, it is a community- one that I am proud my family is part of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2012

St. John's is more than a school, it is a family. My children have been challenged academically, and have soared. But more than that, they have learned to be caring and empathetic citizens of the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2011

We chose St. John's because of it's advanced technology program and strong academic track record.The education that my children are receiving goes beyond just the basics, they are learning lessons that will benefit them in life, such as community service, respect and personal responsibility. They love their teachers and principal and we have greatly enjoyed the many wonderful classroom presentations and family functions that occur throughout the year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2011

St. John's School is a gem!!! The teachers are professional, experienced and genuingly care about each student. It's lead by a principal who knows and cares about each child. It's not just an excellent learning environment for your children, your family is part of a community!!!! The School offers Family Fun Nights, Pasta Dinner and Bowl-a-Thon. Kids can join programs after school such as basketball, bowling, Back-to-Basics, Girl Scouts, band and garden club. I have recommended and supported this school since my daughter has been in kindergarten. I substitute taught in over 20 schools in this area and in my profressional opinion St. John's School is outstanding!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

This school is the best money we have every spent. When all the NYS test scores are calculated, this school ranks among the top 5% of schools in New York State! For example; the 2009-2010 5th grade had a 95% pass rate on Math and ELA combined. Niskayuna had a 77% pass rate and Burnt Hills had a 75% pass rate - these are considered the top elementary schools in this area. As my children start to move on from St. Johns to the public middle school in Schenectady, we are finding that they are more than well prepared for the 7th grade in terms of work habits and subject knowledge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

I have sent all 4 of my children to St. Johns and they have all excelled here. The environment is warm and positive. 100% of the students passed the New York State tests in the 2008-2009 school year! This school is an incredible value for anyone looking for a private education for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

A very loving, caring and hands on facility. The Principal knows EACH student by name. Definately an asset to our children's education, can not say enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2009

This school is Great from the principal to every teacher and any other workers in the school. The children are treated with respect and they learn by the Examples being set by the teachers and parents! They are truly interested in your child learning the best way, the right way, & a lifetime of good habits and skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2007

My son is in the first grade and had transfered from another school. He has improved by leaps and bounds in all subjects. His attitude towards school couldn't be better. The teachers and facutly really care about each and every student, not just the best and brightest or only trouble makers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 52%
Two or more races 15% N/A
Hispanic 5% 21%
Asian 4% N/A
Black 3% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Marie C. Keenan
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Albany
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

806 Union Street
Schenectady, NY 12308
Phone: (518) 393-5331

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare

Add this school to compare
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT