Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Private
Schenectady, NY
Students enrolled: 123

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St John The Evangelist 5

Posted February 29, 2012
- a parent
St John's is a wonderful school with high standards and a caring staff. My children have been in both the early childhood program and the elementary school and have thrived academically and emotionally. Although there is a strong emphasis on academics the education that they have received goes far beyond what can be taught from books. The teachers at St John's are devoted to their students' achievements and are always available when needed. It is more than a school, it is a community- one that I am proud my family is part of.

St John The Evangelist 5

Posted February 01, 2012
- a parent
St. John's is more than a school, it is a family. My children have been challenged academically, and have soared. But more than that, they have learned to be caring and empathetic citizens of the world.


St John The Evangelist 5

Posted July 15, 2011
- a parent
We chose St. John's because of it's advanced technology program and strong academic track record.The education that my children are receiving goes beyond just the basics, they are learning lessons that will benefit them in life, such as community service, respect and personal responsibility. They love their teachers and principal and we have greatly enjoyed the many wonderful classroom presentations and family functions that occur throughout the year!

St John The Evangelist 5

Posted July 04, 2011
- a parent
St. John's School is a gem!!! The teachers are professional, experienced and genuingly care about each student. It's lead by a principal who knows and cares about each child. It's not just an excellent learning environment for your children, your family is part of a community!!!! The School offers Family Fun Nights, Pasta Dinner and Bowl-a-Thon. Kids can join programs after school such as basketball, bowling, Back-to-Basics, Girl Scouts, band and garden club. I have recommended and supported this school since my daughter has been in kindergarten. I substitute taught in over 20 schools in this area and in my profressional opinion St. John's School is outstanding!!!!

St John The Evangelist 5

Posted May 24, 2011
- a parent
This school is the best money we have every spent. When all the NYS test scores are calculated, this school ranks among the top 5% of schools in New York State! For example; the 2009-2010 5th grade had a 95% pass rate on Math and ELA combined. Niskayuna had a 77% pass rate and Burnt Hills had a 75% pass rate - these are considered the top elementary schools in this area. As my children start to move on from St. Johns to the public middle school in Schenectady, we are finding that they are more than well prepared for the 7th grade in terms of work habits and subject knowledge.


St John The Evangelist 5

Posted April 22, 2010
- a parent
I have sent all 4 of my children to St. Johns and they have all excelled here. The environment is warm and positive. 100% of the students passed the New York State tests in the 2008-2009 school year! This school is an incredible value for anyone looking for a private education for their child.

St John The Evangelist 0
no rating

Posted September 24, 2009
- a parent
A very loving, caring and hands on facility. The Principal knows EACH student by name. Definately an asset to our children's education, can not say enough.

St John The Evangelist 5

Posted September 13, 2009
- a parent
This school is Great from the principal to every teacher and any other workers in the school. The children are treated with respect and they learn by the Examples being set by the teachers and parents! They are truly interested in your child learning the best way, the right way, & a lifetime of good habits and skills.


St John The Evangelist 5

Posted April 06, 2007
- a parent
My son is in the first grade and had transfered from another school. He has improved by leaps and bounds in all subjects. His attitude towards school couldn't be better. The teachers and facutly really care about each and every student, not just the best and brightest or only trouble makers.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St John The Evangelist
806 Union Street, Schenectady, NY  12308
(518) 393-5331
Last modified St John The Evangelist is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
St John The Evangelist Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top