Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Madeleine Sophie School

Private | PK-5 | 58 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Schenectady

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $140,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 8, 2012

Excellent learning experience with a sense of community throughout. Schenectady mailing address but actually in the suburb of Guilderland. Though Schenectady mailing address Guilderland, Albany County. It is special!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

This school has been wonderful for our two children. The families of the children in this school all have similar family values and all of us value an excellent education. They are taught to have faith, to be kind, to have excellent manners and to be individuals. I never thought I would go the "Catholic school route" but it has been an excellent choice for our family. We have made friends that will last a lifetime and believe that our children are getting a superior education compared to our other options. Spanish class is great!!! The kids love the extracurricular activities: cooking club, drama club, bowling, etc. The gym teacher is wonderful, the music teacher is ultra-talented and art class is a pleasure for the kids. Select SMS for your kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2011

After many open houses and much deliberation about where to send our 5yr old, I met with the principal of St. Madeleine Sophie School. She couldn't have been more attentive. She listened to every word I said. I realized my daughter would be an individual at this school, a school that is a perfect balance of acedemic excellence and tradition, a school that cares for her welfare and will guide her spiritual growth. I couldn't be happier with our decision to send her to this school. The amount of extracurricular activities available for the students is an added bonus. From cooking classes to dance and creative movement, from band to drama club to banking, bowling, not to mention the many others offered, this school is a home away from home for these kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2011

I currently have 2 children in St. Madeleine Sophie School and 1 more on the way in! Many things come to mind when I think of SMS. First is Catholic Foundation that the school gives the children. Second is the higher standards of education that is received. Lastly is the safety of the children. Each of these areas St. Madeleine Sophie provides 110%. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2010

I graduated from this school and now am in college. I learned alot from this school and am pleased my mother and father placed me there. The teachers are wonderful and helpful! I strongly encourage you place your child in this school. It teaches values and strong morals.


Posted January 28, 2010

This school has been so wonderful for my children because they not only teach academics but values and tools children need to be great citizens of this world. They care about each student, and create a family atmosphere. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

As the father of two graduates from St. Madeleine Sophie School, I would like you to know how pleased I was with the spiritual and educational experience my sons received while students there. The academic journey through St. Madeleine's takes place in an environment where children are taught that spirituality and Christian values are important throughout life. I have known many graduates from St. Madeleine's and one quality they all possess is the importance they place on spirituality. From the academic standpoint, dedicated and experienced faculty provide the basis for solid programs in math, science, reading, and foreign language. I credit much of my sons' success at the secondary level to the well rounded education they received at St. Madeleine's. I feel they left St. Madeleine's well prepared, confident and with the discipline required to excel and take on leadership roles at the high school level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

We watched our son grow in every aspect: faith, academics, personality, character, respect. St. Madeleine Sophie School helped us raise our child with the values we live every day. We thank God for the exceptional teachers and staff for their teaching abilities and their compassion for children. Our son moved on to ND-BG for middle school and is now entering high school there. He has always been in the top of his class and we couldn't ask for a more wonderful young man. His foundation came from God and St. Madeleine Sophie School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

St. Madeleine Sophie School provided my daughter a wonderful education in a faithful, safe and nuturing environment. They built on the values that she was taught at home. After graduating, she was able to take the knowledge learned there that was not only educational in nature but values that taught her to be a wonderful caring young lady. She excelled in middle school because of the solid background from SMS.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 92% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 1%
Black 2% 21%
Hispanic 1% 21%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Two or more races 0% N/A
White 0% 52%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Teresa Kovarovic
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Albany
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3510 Carman Road
Schenectady, NY 12303
Phone: (518) 355-3080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Woodlawn School
Schenectady, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT