Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
127 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Annur Islamic School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 07, 2016
- a community member
Sister Ashley is the best teacher in the school! Sister Maha is a wonderful lady!

Annur Islamic School 1

Posted July 07, 2016
- a community member
An honest appraisal of this school is what was needed! I gave an honest appraisal after my daughter was there for just 3 months and I saw first-hand how bad the administration is. There were other reviews that also gave their honest opinions about how bad the administration is. FINALLY, something was done about it! Hopefully for the benefit of the children and parents, someone will be hired that is respectful to parents, especially parents who pay a lot of money for tuition. Also someone who is fair and recognizes that they will be held accountable for how they manage an institution.


Annur Islamic School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted January 04, 2016
- a parent
A MAIN concern that I will advise you of, is that, they are prone to say “how advanced their school operates”, however I pose a question. How do you run a school without teachers being able to write notes on the board? As educators who are supposed to have a background in teaching and with that comes learning about child psychology, they should understand how a child’s mind operates. Children are visual learners and a teacher writing daily notes on the board is VITAL as opposed to dictation style in the elementary grades. Children learn through repetition, so by copying from the board increases their chance of learning & retaining the information. I have always found it strange that most of the teachers from Pre K – 6th grade did not write notes on the board, yet (Elizabeth & Hawana) get upset when the ELA and math state test scores are constantly low. The teaching is sub-par to say the least and they have a practice of leaving students back in the beginning of the school year. The criterion that Principal Hawana and Elizabeth are using to leave students back is based on the IOWA test that is given in September as well as the first quarter report card grades. Never has a school operated in such a manner that instead of using the IOWA test and the 1st quarter report card as a tool to see what are a student strengths and weaknesses and how to improve on those weaknesses, their first option is to hold the child back a grade when the reality is the 1st OPTION should be TUTORING, in which they did not offer.

Annur Islamic School 5

Posted August 26, 2014
- a parent
AnNur is our and our children s most favorite school. Prior to AnNur they attended Craig Elementary School in the touted Niskayuna School District. We still live in Niskayuna and pay hefty school taxes to Niskayuna School District but we willingly pay added tuition to AnNur because it has proven to us to be well worth it. Ms. Wilson, Ms. Branning, Ms. Keris, Ms. Zahdan, Dr. Havana and the staff are all amazing.

Annur Islamic School 5

Posted July 09, 2014
- a parent
This is the best school I have seen in a long time. The staff is very friendly. They sincerely care for my girls and their education. Elizabeth helped me step by step throughout the entire enrollment process. She is very helpful and understanding.


Annur Islamic School 1

Posted June 11, 2014
- a community member
Every year, in the month of June, we students would have fun days (ex.hat day, twin day, dress up as favorite character day, etc). Ever since Sr. Elizabeth came, everything is being changed. She in stubborn and always thinks she's right for every single thing. she make all decisions instead of the principal. The principal lets her beacause she in his WIFE. anyways, she cancled all June Fundays.

Annur Islamic School 5

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
My kids did well here. AnNur has excellent programs to help any child from falling behind. We love AnNur School.

Annur Islamic School 5

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
It's hard not to gush about AnNur, as civilized and accomplished an elementary school as you'll find. The faculty are a lovely mix of highly experienced with young and energetic, the principal on a first-name basis with every kid. The demographics are dominated by smart parents, as it were, but the make-up is also surprisingly diverse, thanks in part to the proximity of GE Labs and to a growing extent Global Foundries, which are attracting families from around the country and world. I have two very different children, one extremely bright and the other needing a ton of support just to get through the day, and we feel very confident both are getting the education they need. The school does a good job at balancing core classroom instruction with "specials"


Annur Islamic School 5

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
We really could not ask for more from AnNur. The support of the school community is overwhelming. It seems like children just blossom with the great love and dedication of its teachers and staff. We made the right decision id choosing to send our boys to this school. It is the best there is in Upstate New York!

Annur Islamic School 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
I'd like to congratulate Annur Islamic School for being granted accreditation by Advanced Ed. I'd like to give thanks to the staff, principal and administration for working hard to make this great achievement. I would especially like to thank the principal, Dr. Walid Hawana and the Executive Office Manager, Elizabeth Zahdan for putting so much time and effort into making changes for the way it should be today. Thank You

Nearby schools

Annur Islamic School
2195 Central Avenue, Schenectady, NY  12304
(518) 395-9866
Last modified Annur Islamic School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top