Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Crossroads Center for Children

Private

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Scotia

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $162,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $860.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 19, 2012

This is an excellent school that encourage each individual child to enhance their abilities to learn. Even though the school may not be for every child I REALLY think is worth a try. ABA teaching strategies really made a difference in my[AUTISM] daughter's life. The staff is extremely caring and truly understand a child with special needs. Even though it targets autism I believe the staff dedication and knowledge can be helpful to all. I love this school. IS TRULLY A GIFT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

The teachers and TA's care a lot about the children and put their heart and soul into making a difference in the children's lives. I think Crossroads has done wonders for my child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2007

As a parent and staff member of a child with autism, I would recommend Crossroads. However, this program is very intense. It may not be right for all kids on the spectrum. That is why it;s very important to do your homework and research other schools and talk to other parents. The ABA aspect has helped my child greatly. He has come a long way. The staff at Crossroads are very dedicated and work very hard to assist our children in reaching their potential and being the best they can be.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted August 15, 2007

Highly recommended. A great program with the intensity necessary to make a significant difference in the lives of children with Autism. The staff fosters the independence necessary to enter public school. Research ABA - the only scientifically proven method to help children with Autism.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2007

Not recommended at all. Management and staff are not good. Children are responsible for too many things by themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

This is an intense program but it made all the difference in my child. He started going here at age 4 diagnosis PDD-NOS and now he is mainstreamed part of the time at regular elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2007

I believe these kids need to heal a bit before going into a program like this. The kids are responsible for themselves @ Crossroads. If they can't ask for it, they won't get it. There were way too many issues to deal with. I DO NOT recommend this school for any parent with an autistic child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2007

I would advise parents who are considering sending their child to Crossroads to fully research the school. I would never recommend this program to any family.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 23, 2006

Crossroads Center for Children is a wonderful school for children with Autism Spectrum Disorders. (Typical children also attend Crossroads.) Crossroads uses ABA (Applied Behavior Analysis). The 5 1/2 hour intensive program is an excellent choice for children with special needs in the capital district area. My two children with high functioning autism spectrum disorders (Asperger's and PDD-NOS) attended the school. Our lives have changed so much with the help of Crossroads.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

50 Cypress Drive
Scotia, NY 12302
Phone: (518) 384-3833

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Oak Hill School
Scotia, NY





Glendaal School
Scotia, NY


Glencliff School
Rexford, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT