Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oak Hill School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a community member
This is an amazing program that works with students to nurture their self-esteem and facilitate social development while providing an individualized education plan.

Oak Hill School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a teacher
This is an amazing private therapeutic day school for students in grades K-8th with emotional and/or behavioral challenges. The staff is extremely dedicated and the program is fully aligned with NYS Learning Standards and the Common Core Learning Standards.


Oak Hill School 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a teacher
The school has an outstanding and caring staff. They go up and beyond with providing a high quality education for all kids.

Oak Hill School 5

Posted April 25, 2014
- a community member
I have sent several students to this program. One of the best private schools in the capital region for dealing with students with behavior problems. Outstanding staff! Would recommend this program highly.

Oak Hill School 1

Posted June 02, 2013
- a parent
Parents beware. This "school" is a joke. The kids are placed there due to behavior issues yet, they do not have a behavior specialist or a behavior plan for each child. Th e entire school follows the one plan. Should each child have the same IEP. There is NO parent involvement. If you try to get involved you are bascially locked out. Forget it if you actually know what you are talking about and try advocate for your kids. No one is putting te kids first. Oh don't forget that if you want ti see the program and your child you must call ahead and make an apt. For after school on what ever day the director decides to come to work. Th e new director will lie directly to your face so be careful. I woukd also be concern about physical restraints and time out room. HUGE MISTAKE TO SEND KIDS HERE. Beware
1 person found this helpful


Oak Hill School 1

Posted September 21, 2010
- a community member
they over use restaint and seclusion i was a former student thare i give it 0 out of five for being a good school less your geting ready to lern how to live in solitary then it be 5 of 5 for that the land it is on is brethtaking but the way it runs is sickly bad the head of the school thare 2 times out the year teaching was like waching monky doing math painfall to wach i give them for trying a 1 for this was in 2003 to 2004 if your kid is looking at ending up in a supermax in soltary then yes grate school to send them to but i came out with parts of grassian's SHU sindrum found in supermax prisons after only 7 mouth should call it USP OAKHILL

Oak Hill School 5

Posted October 02, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Oak Hill School 5

Posted March 15, 2008
- a student
Oak Hill had a very important impact on me and has given me valuable people skills.


Oak Hill School 5

Posted March 04, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Oak Hill School 1

Posted September 01, 2005
- a parent
Poor academics. No parent involvement/music/sports. I made a mistake sending my child to oak hill.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oak Hill School
39 Charlton Rd, Scotia, NY  12302
(518) 399-5048
Last modified Oak Hill School is a Private school that serves grades 1-8
Oak Hill School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top