Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Seaford, NY
Students enrolled: 607

3 stars
Based on 6 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Seaford Middle School 0
no rating

Posted December 03, 2008
- a parent
I am sorry for all the negative reviews!! I have 5 children in the district and am a tough customer when it comes to education. I feel the three that have experienced the middle school have all done very well. They are three different types of students and all have received an excellent education. Can things be improved in the school? Of course, like all schools, Seaford has it's weak points, but overall I think the school is great. They have had some excellent teachers and have been part of clubs and sports that have all had an impact on their lives. I feel safe sending my children to the school and know they are getting what they need educationally. The work load is insane in 7th grade, but I am pretty sure it is like that everywhere. Honestly, if parents have a problem, they should talk to the administration!

Seaford Middle School 5

Posted June 27, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Seaford Middle School 0
no rating

Posted November 15, 2007
- a parent
Children are over worked, overloaded with work on a daily basis. The difficulty of the work is not the issue, just the amount. This is wearing the children down in a time in their lives that is difficult on the social level. My daughter is an excellent student and trying to keep up with the workload and demands of the teachers is literally exhausting for even an adult. This will definitely discourage the weaker students and cause them to lose interest in school. I am seeing what it is doing to my daughter, a good student and it is frightening. If teachers of different subjects staggered the quizzes, exams, assigments so they aren't all due the same time, the children wouldn't get discouraged and would be able to do their best. I am worried for my other children who will attend this school in a few years. The stress kevek is enormous. Frightening.

Seaford Middle School 4

Posted June 07, 2007
- a parent
Seaford is a very strong and loyal community of people. Many parents in the community have grown up in the neighborhood. This shows a strong commitment to the neighborhood and the school district. This is a small town made up of middle income families with moderately priced homes compared to towns like Merrick and Bellemore. Since there is less households to collect school taxes from, much of the school budget is spent on maintaining status quo rather than expanding programs. However the school does very well educating the children. The success on state and national tests exemplify the success. The community needs more state aid so there are more extracurricular programs available and better equipment. The teachers and counselors are always ready to help. All a parent needs to do is get involved with their child's education and ask for it. They will deliver.

Seaford Middle School 1

Posted April 17, 2007
- a parent
The School needs alot of improvements, both with the building and handling of teachers and students. The teachers don't listen to a student when that student has a problem. The teachers have power trips. They also don't have any control of the school.If it keeps up, we will be like brooklyn. The teachers have to show that they care. The teachers take charge by the student grades. I don't see it.


Seaford Middle School 2

Posted May 18, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Seaford Middle School 3

Posted October 16, 2004
- a parent
For the taxes we pay in NY, this school does not deliver. The sports programs are not adequate and I do not feel as though we get our money's worth.

Seaford Middle School 4

Posted February 23, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Seaford Middle School
3940 Sunset Avenue, Seaford, NY  11783
(516) 592-4200
Last modified Seaford Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Seaford Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top