Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


New Lane Memorial Elementary School 2

Posted June 02, 2016
- a parent
This school is one of the worst. The only reason my child is going here is because his home school is full. Lets start off with the fact that there are no walls dividing the classrooms. So you can hear everything going on. My child constantly comes home and says that teachers are screaming at people all the time. Real nice! My child has a focusing problem that is apparent and he gets very easily distracted. The lack of walls has only made matters worse. Next on the long list of why this school is terrible...NO CAFETERIA! That's right folks, kids eat at their desk! In all the years this school has been functioning they haven't had time to put one in. Next up...zero communication by the teachers. I have never received a letter home once from the current teacher. No progress reports, no issue notes, not anything. From what I gather this teacher is right around the corner from retiring and from the looks of it she has checked out! This class does the same stale homework every night. Nothing new, nothing exciting. One month left of school and nothing new being introduced. Why not give these kids a small sample of what is expected next year? The biggest learning regression happens on summer vacation, yet these people are extending that by another month by repeating the same thing over and over. The library will not let the kids check out books any longer even though there is a month of school remaining. God forbid the library doesn't get their ratty books back that are torn and tattered. Where is my tax money going?! Higher up salaries I suppose. I can't put all the blame on the teachers because I am sure the administrators are making their lives hell with test score numbers! This school is a disgrace and is rated one of the lowest in the Middle Country School District. Rather than using my tax money to keep it open, close it down! Put the money into the other schools and move on.

New Lane Memorial Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted February 02, 2016
- a community member
As I have said before, the teachers want nothing to do with the students who need them the most. A student with ADHD didn't understand a math lesson- teacher's comment to parent -- I tried to explain but he didn't pay attention--- HE IS ADHD TEACHER------ DO YOU NOT GET THAT?????????


New Lane Memorial Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a community member
From the work I've seen of the students in my family and it's just a mess. No one cares that a FOURTH GRADER cannot spell, cannot write, struggles with math, has ADHD and can't concentrate or stay on task.

New Lane Memorial Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a community member
Again, why would the students have respect when they don't receive respect. Only thing this place is interested in are their "numbers" and the bottom line

New Lane Memorial Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 02, 2016
- a community member
How can they foster compassion IN students when they don't have compassion FOR students????? SCHOOLwants nothing to do with providing services to children who desperately need them. Certainly not preparing students for success


New Lane Memorial Elementary School 1

Posted February 02, 2016
- a community member
School wants nothing to do with providing services for children in need. No attention paid to students with ADHD. Administration says they don't deal with issues like that - they only focus on academics!!! Have never encountered such abysmal results on EVERY grade level and with FOUR children going thru the school ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING!!!!

New Lane Memorial Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 18, 2015
- a community member
My kids are in new lane I have to said "teachers " are the worse they have no respect for the little ones they prejudices against Hispanic and not impresse with the principal. Teachers nowadays are so unprofessional and rude the teaching is very poor and when u try to contact or set up appointment with principal or who ever in charge is always oh she is to busy so u would probably never resolve anything horrible .

New Lane Memorial Elementary School 5

Posted November 12, 2013
- a parent
My son is now 20 years old and went to New Lane, I had my reservations because of the open classrooms and not having a cafeteria. It may have bothered me but not my son. He excelled there! The Teachers were wonderful! Now I have a 10 year old daughter in 5th grade there This year has already started an exciting last year with all kinds of trips and activities planned. Once again no problems at all. It was my issue not my kids. They had an amazing experience there!


New Lane Memorial Elementary School 1

Posted August 27, 2013
- a community member
This school was a huge distraction because of the lack of walls, you can hear every single teacher. It is so hard to concentrate in this school.When I was in 4th grade we were taking the New York Sate Testing Program and the teacher had to read a passage and we had to take notes,the problem was you could hear EVERY SINGLE TEACHER reading the exact same thing.Some are reading before your teacher and some are reading after.That was a huge distraction.Also there is NO CAFETERIA,so students eat and drink at there desks.This school was a huge disappointment and a big distraction to me for 5 years

New Lane Memorial Elementary School 1

Posted March 01, 2013
- a parent
I have had 3 sons in this school,2 whom have ADHD.There are no speacial programs for my boys with adhd.Also,I have had numerous issues with the "teachers",the Therapists and the principal of this school.They don't seem to care about the children,all the seem to care about it the money they get.My youngest child has recently been pulled out of the school to be homeschooled,due to the lack of caring and assistance from the school and its staff.if you children go here..Good Luck to you,you will need it

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Lane Memorial Elementary School
15 New Lane, Selden, NY  11784
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (631) 285-8900
Last modified New Lane Memorial Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 1-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top