Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
K-6
Public
Setauket- East Setauket, NY

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Minnesauke Elementary School 5

Posted October 14, 2010
- a parent
It is a wonderful school for your kids to go to all the teachers are the best in three village

Minnesauke Elementary School 4

Posted September 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Minnesauke Elementary School 2

Posted October 16, 2007
- a parent
My daughter attended part of kindergarten, first grade and most of second grade at Minnesauke. I was extremely impressed with her second grade teacher but felt her first grade teacher was very out of touch with her students. I felt completely shut off from the school as a parent. The administration and office staff were distant and simply allowed little to no parent involvement. When considering this school, please keep that in mind. This is not a place where you will be welcomed or encouraged to participate in your child's education. Having moved out of the state, I truly feel the 'hype' of this district and the tax rate are completely unjustified.

Minnesauke Elementary School 4

Posted August 13, 2007
- a parent
Having been a student myself in the school and having friends in various districts around the island I know that minesauke is a top notch elementary school devoted to giving our youngsters the heads up in learning they need for today's world. There is a great teamwork feel in both the staff and student body.i am so glad to see things over the past 20 years since i went here have not changed that much and i look forward to having my children enjoy their elementary education as much as i did.--allison marcellino

Minnesauke Elementary School 4

Posted June 06, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Minnesauke Elementary School 4

Posted April 11, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Minnesauke Elementary School 4

Posted August 26, 2005
- a parent
Minnesauke is a great elementary school for K-6. They have a full day kinder program and on-site before and after school care programs. The staff is well trained and success oriented. Minn. has a very strong Literacy Collaborative program they have developed over the last five year. It is an inclusive school and offers extensive additional support in every subject matter.

Minnesauke Elementary School 2

Posted March 01, 2005
- a parent
Sadly, high test scores only reveal so much. While we've had good teachers and appreciate the quality of academics at Minnesauke, the unwelcoming environment and lack of parent/administration partnership has been disappointing for this family which moved to the area specifically because of the District's reputation. We now wish our home was in a different part of the district. After discussing this feeling with other disappointed Minnesauke parents, we came to the conclusion that the problem is a direct result of the imperious approach to school administration, primarily fostered by the Principal. There is a distinct lack of parental involvement, in large measure because it is actively discouraged by the local administration. Every interaction with the administration has a sense of mistrust, as though the primary objective was an unlitigated resolution rather than one best addresses the needs of the elementary school-age children both parents and administrators are ostensibly trying to nurture.


Minnesauke Elementary School 3

Posted February 02, 2005
- a parent
Nearly NO parental involvement, although parents WANT to be involved. There are plenty of 'bells and whistles', but parents really aren't welcome, even though the administration would never admit that. Academically, it is a great school, but the administration is hard to work with. The teachers are great, though.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Minnesauke Elementary School
21 High Gate Drive, Setauket- East Setauket, NY  11733
(631) 730-4200
Last modified Minnesauke Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Minnesauke Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top