Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
9-12
Public district
Setauket- East Setauket, NY
Students enrolled: 1,844
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ward Melville Senior High School 5

Posted March 07, 2014
- a student
Ward Melville provides an excellent education as well as so many great programs for the students. They have a wide variety of class offerings and really helps guide students to prominent universities following graduation.

Ward Melville Senior High School 4

Posted January 26, 2013
- a student
Most of the teachers are not very engaged in their job, relying on the students from "rich" backgrounds to keep up the reputation. Administration is very stubborn, uninterested, and unhelpful. On the flip side, still a relatively strong school academically, with success in many major academic competitions. The students are very self-motivated and competitive, though not in a cutthroat sort of way. Unfortunately, more and more is getting cut with each year, and many formerly wonderful programs (i.e. InSTAR, some sports teams) are steadily declining in quality.


Ward Melville Senior High School 3

Posted September 11, 2012
- a community member
Needs better administration; opportunity is provided by the expensive taxes of the district, of which they are not allocating in the right places. Teachers encourage preying on your self - esteem issues with grades and their concern is only limited the few students that do well in class. Also, class sizes are pretty large (30) and bound to increase as they never seem to have enough money for anything.

Ward Melville Senior High School 4

Posted June 08, 2010
- a parent
I am moving to the area from out of state and not sure who has the best school to go to Rocky Pointe ,Miller Place ,Mt Sinai,Smithtown or Three Village and out of all those schools it seems Three Village offers the best choices for students anyone who can help on this problem please comment thanks !

Ward Melville Senior High School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a teacher
I taught Biology at Ward Melville for thirty one years. It has always been an innovative school offering courses for all levels of ability. Many interesting electives are available for students to get a look at the kinds of opportunities possible for them after they graduate.


Ward Melville Senior High School 4

Posted July 10, 2009
- a parent
My daughter just graducated. I am very proud of what the Three Village Central School District offered my child. She excelled and developed academically,socially,and most of all prepared her well for college to have a successful future. Thank you again..

Ward Melville Senior High School 5

Posted November 21, 2008
- a parent
Those of you who attend this school and belittle it have no idea as to how many more opportunities you have had by virtue of being in this school district. Having been raised in a blue collar district where we had to fight for programs, I appreciate all that the 3Vs and WMHS has had to offer for my children. There is a degree of friendly competition amongst my oldest's fellow students which made them strive to work even harder. There have been some wonderful teachers who truly care about their students and have a passion for the subject they teach. There have been some who are less than stellar; but one has to ask how much is the teacher vs. the subject matter vs. the group of students in a particular class? I wish I had 1/2 the opportunities WMHS students have.

Ward Melville Senior High School 5

Posted November 20, 2008
- a student
Like all High schools Ward melville has its ups and downs. And i dont think the parents can say they think they're kids teachers are bad. All the teachers employed in three village are amazing and care so extremly much about their students, but thats not enough. tudents have to make an effort to, to get the best possible relationship with there teachers. Ward Melville is an amazing school, and fowl language and cliques are in any school. it just happens to show a little more in the three village schools because of the 'rich' family backrounds


Ward Melville Senior High School 4

Posted October 15, 2008
- a student
There was definitely a distinction between honors students and non. If you were an honors/ AP student, you were pushed to do multiple AP courses. The AP courses are pretty good; there are 22 offered and I'd say well over half are excellent, although a few are complete jokes. However, being an AP student, there was definitely a difference in relationship between the school and students at different levels. At the AP level, teachers were very concentrated on pushing information and us memorizing; however boring and tedious and traditional, though, it was effective and most students at this level received very high AP test scores. Overall, if your student wants to go to a good college, WMHS does get them in. It won't be a good time, though, very cliquey and crowded, but academically strong.

Ward Melville Senior High School 4

Posted April 04, 2008
- a student
I find that Ward Meville has readily prepared me for college. My moto in life is -- what you put into it, is what you get out of it. I DO feel that Ward Melville H.S. has 'left the mediocre student' in the dark about higher education. Being a strong student-athlete at Ward Meville, I had no knowledge of an AP course (as rudimentary as that may sound). I think that it is NOT the school that pushes the student to be the best that they can be, but it is the over bearing parenting that pushes the child to be at the top of their studies. Although this review may seem as if I am bashing the system, I am simply stating that the validity of the current reviews of Ward Melville should be taken with a grain of salt and the voice of an experienced athlete should be heard.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ward Melville Senior High School
380 Old Town Road, Setauket- East Setauket, NY  11733
(631) 730-4900
Last modified Ward Melville Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ward Melville Senior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top