Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William Floyd Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 737 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 27, 2013

The William Floyd Elementary school is an amazing place! The teachers are very loving and caring and are committed to helping the students succeed! All of my children's teachers have been wonderful! My kids have learned and have grown academically and socially. The Principal is a top notch administrator and is very involved in day to day situations. He addresses any problems immediately and is very approachable. The parent/teacher organization is very involved in the school and plan many fun and exciting events for the families in their building. Overall this school is great! The support staff is very helpful and courteous. This school gets an A+ from me!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

I have two children in William Floyd elementary and I couldn't be happier. This school does so much for its students. I think it's great how the school recognizes each child's accomplishments, big or small. I have nieces & nephews in other districts(sachem, pat-med) & their schools don't come close to ours when it comes to the recognition the students get. I'm proud to say I live in Shirley & that my kids go to William Floyd Elementary!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

I love this school. The Administration, Supporting Staff and the Teachers are second to none. They are involved not only in school activities but community activities as well. This summer the teachers took it upon themselves to schedule weekly read-ins at our community library. This year was an extremely difficult year with New York State adopting common core standards. It was tough on staff and students and to reward everyone for their hard work this year the Principal, Assistant Principal and a Teacher got into a dunk tank and let the children have at them. This school feels like a family. They work hard and also play hard. Its an amazing balance for the children. They have amazing community service projects that the entire school particpates in. They have an incredible science fair. It is a well rounded, fun enjoyable learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

My kids have flourished while attending this school! Both the principal and assistant principal as well as the teachers and staff truly care about their students and are willing to address concerns as they arise. Throughout the school year, there are many fun activities that are planned for the students both in and out of school. Parents and families are encouraged to participate in these activities as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2013

My son is in 3rd grade he loves his teachers,So far our experience with this school is exellent....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2012

Wish there was a 0 star button. Extremely dissatisfied with this school. Have had several issues with everyone from the bus driver to the principle( who happens to be one of the most unprofessional, rudest people I have ever met). Countless times when there was an issue, I was addressed in a manner that I was bothering them or "wasting their time". Really, if you care about your child's education do not send them to this school. Either switch them to a better school district, pay the tuition or find other means of educating your child. This school is very cold and the teachers are only interested in test scores on a whole and have no interest in your child. I am sure other parents have a different opinion of this school however this parent, who wants the very best for her child, cannot handle the factory educational commercial joke that this school is. My child deserves better and is now in a wonderful private school. Hope this school picks up the slack.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2011

My son attended this school for K-2nd grade. He had an excellent experience and thrived academically. The principle was always involved in the day to day occurances with the children and if there were any issues he would contact me directly. Our overall experience with this school was very positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2011

My kids have flourished in William Floyd Elementary School. We've had a very positive experience thus far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

Their teachers are very thoughtful and genuine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

There are so many stereotypes about the Wiliiam Floyd District. I am happy to say none of them are true. I could not be happier witht the education that my children are receiving. All their teachers have been dedicated and wonderful. For those of you that are so concerned about test scores, one must understand the high level of ethnic diversity this district has. HAve you ever heard the saying 'don't put all your eggs in one basket' well 'don't put all your stock in test scores' I am proud to have my kids attend Willima folyd E- Jen _Shirley
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2008

Willaim Floyd Elementary is a wonderful school where the teachers and principle really care. I have had the pleasure of getting to know my childs teachers and work together with them to help my child learn and develop on all levels. Your childs experience not only depends on the teachers. Its your job as a parent to be fully involved! there are no good experiences or bad experiences...... just experience. You learn as you go, just like your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

I have taught in this district and am currently a principal in another successful Long Island district. Test scores are not the end all be all, and don't mean that your child is not receiving a quality education. We would be fooling ourselves if we didn't acknowledge that many children in this district don't have the proper parental support to help them be as successful as they can be, hence the low test scores. Floyd's teachers are as good and as dedicated as any I've seen in my career. As long as my child is successful and meeting state standards I really am not worried about how the school preforms against state averages. Hopefully, Mr. Fasciana will be around for a while and he is doing a great job. Also, all the schools follow the same curriculum, so one is not doing anything much different than the others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

My daughter attends this school and I am very disappointed in the quality of education. The fact that my daughter has had 3 different principals within 5 years is sad. Test scores are below State average in most areas. There needs to be after school help so the students can get better grades. What do the surrounding schools like Tangier Smith do?? Maybe we should check that out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

My daughter attends this school and I am very disappointed with the quality of education. The fact that my daughter has had 3 different principals within 5 years is sad. Test scores are below state average in most areas. What is Tangier Smith doing that we're not?? Maybe we should find out. Maybe there should also be extra help after school so kids can bring up their scores. Results are in and once again we are doing poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2004

I had heard terrible things about this school. I don't know why. I met with the new Principal, Mr Monetti, to tell him how great things are going. He seems to have a gift that brings out the best in both the teachers and students. I couldn't be happier and more secure! I know this will continue to be a great educational experience. Ps. The school needs more male teachers.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 3, 2004

I was very suprised at the previous comment. I love the school. The principal is wonderful (although unfortunately she is resigning), the teachers are fantastic, and the students are taught not only educational material, but also how to be good citizens and peers to each other. I would agree that I would like to see more extracurricular activities, although I absolutely love the music program! -Lynda Montgomery
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2004

This school is horrible! My daughter was moved to this school because the district re-routed. She used to attend Moriches Elem.(which by the way was fantastic).In this school there was a problem with a special ed child that was molesting other girls. When I found out about this in Novemeber I went down to speak to the principal and she told me that this child had done this five times already this school year. I was shocked to find out that it took 5 times(that the principal knew about)for this little girl to hurt others before any real action was taken. Children write on the bathroom stalls about eachother. There is too many negative things to list. If at all possible do not send your child here. My child was extremely interested in school. Now in third grade she is affraid! I am looking into private schools for Sept 2004!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2003

the teachers are caring, the principal takes care of matters that need attending to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I love my children's school and most of the staff. If I could change one thing it would be the lack of extra curicular activities for the younger grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students33%
Female36%
Male31%
African American9%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White37%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities5%
General population39%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English37%
Non-migrant33%

Math

All Students32%
Female34%
Male30%
African American9%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White28%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities0%
General population40%
English language learners36%
Proficient in English32%
Non-migrant32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students24%
Female30%
Male19%
African American0%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White28%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities0%
General population27%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant24%

Math

All Students39%
Female36%
Male41%
African American0%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities8%
General population42%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant39%

Science

All Students93%
Female89%
Male96%
African American81%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities66%
General population97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students29%
Female33%
Male25%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic0%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White34%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population31%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English29%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant29%

Math

All Students27%
Female24%
Male32%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic8%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population29%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English27%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant27%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 64% 48%
Hispanic 1 21% 23%
Black 1 9% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 4% 9%
Two or more races 1 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 26%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 133%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 69%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. KEITH FASCIANA

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

111 Lexington Rd
Shirley, NY 11967
Phone: (631) 874-1258

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Clayton Huey Elementary School
Center Moriches, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT