Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Patrick Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 59 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Smithtown

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $415,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2014

This school was terrible. Kids were bullied every single day. The old principle smoked every single lunch period. Plus all the kids that go here are rich families from the north shore. The tuition is way too much. This school was not good. Actually this school sucked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2014

I have been a member of St Patrick Parish for 23 years. My three children have attended St Patrick School over a continuous span of fourteen years. St Patrick offers a well established curriculum and a faith based education. Families are given the privilege to work alongside a faculty who give selflessly to students. The new administration has brought even more spirit to the building. They are communicative to parents, friendly in nature and are visible each and every day. My children who have moved on to high school have transitioned well into competitive schools. I believe this is due to their reliance on the foundation St Patrick has given them. Lastly, and perhaps most importantly St Patrick is what it is because of the people who give of their time and talent to enhance all St Patrick has to offer. Children are able to see parents volunteer at events to make St Patrick School an exceptional experience. Families also donate their specific skills to keep the school well represented and informed From these donations of time and talent children may then lead by example and carry on a specific value system based on kindness, dedication and hard work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2014

St. Patrick's is a WONDERFUL school that encourages and fosters the growth of your entire child - both academically & spiritually. The school is large enough to allow for two classes per grade, which creates smaller classes for more personalized instruction. The Principal has been at St. Pats for 20 years & is a wonderful educator who cares about every one of her students. The education the students receive is top notch as is evidenced by the large numbers of graduating 8th graders being accepted into honors programs at very competitive high schools as well as scholarship dollars. In fact, many public school teachers & administrators send their kids to St. Pats. I have found SPS students to be far ahead of their same grade public school counterparts in all subjects. Faculty & administration are very sensitive to situations that arise and deal with it appropriately and maintain an open line of communication with families. The vast and varied extra-curricular activities offer something for every child. The administration welcomes parent volunteers and truly appreciates any efforts to help the school. Best decision we ever made to send our children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2012

St. Patrick's has wonderful, devoted teachers and many kind children attending. I completely disagree with the last post. I left "meet the teacher" night feeling that the school is being revived and moving in a very positive direction. I was there and the board was NOT asking for more money! They were asking for EVERYONE to get involved! Not just one group, but the entire family community. St. Patrick's school has SmartBoards in every classroom and they have updated technology which allows instant communication with parents on what is going on and how to get involved. I have children in the middle school and lower grades and they are all very happy at St. Pat's. Test scores are always good and many students qualify for National Jr. Honor Society. I am somewhat shy, but have never felt slighted or left out ever by other parents...even the so called "in crowd". Some people are never happy and are bitter, but St. Patrick's has many more good aspects than bad. While there is no such thing as perfect, I do not have any regrets about sending my children to St. Pat's. The uniform, sacraments and school masses are beautiful. In this world, St. Pat's is a good, safe choice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2011

I agree with the last poster. There were 32 students in the 8th grade classes last year. The current principal does not make the effort to get to know the students and the school now has less of a "family" feeling. There were bullying issues which she did not address, even after parent complaints. When I tried to meet with her, she took forever to get back to me and she showed no interest or concern about my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2010

St. Patricks School has changed. Just recently a new principal has started after the death of the previous principal. This new principal does not put the children number one. She is focused on the budget. Our children are now in classes that have 27 students. This makes it difficult for students to learn. The teachers are of high quality. The teachers care for the children and help them build character and integrity. The only reason I keep my children in the school is because of the teachers, not the principal. The new principal is distant and not engaged with children or parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

My daughter has been going to St. Pats for four years and she loves it. The teachers are nurturing, class size is small and administration creates a safe and supportive school enviornment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2008

My three children attend St. Patrick's and we have been very happy with both their academic and social experiences. The families are what make it a truly wonderful experience for the entire family. Some of our closest friends are parents we met through the school. The great test results on the New York State tests for the older grades have solidified our commitment to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2007

If you are looking to put your child into an environment where teachers and family's work together, pray together, and make friends this is the place. The school has a true feeling a community that was lacking in our previous public school. It's a big financial sacrifice but the confidence my kids have gained from being surrounded by families with similar values has been worth it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 52%
Asian 3% N/A
Two or more races 3% N/A
Black 2% 21%
Hispanic 2% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Rita Anne Swift
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Rockville Centre
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

284 East Main Street
Smithtown, NY 11787
Phone: (631) 724-0285

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Nesaquake Middle School
Saint James, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT