Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Park School

Private | PK-12 | 290 students

We are best known for confident students ready for college and life.
 
 

 
 

Living in Snyder

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $123,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 18, 2014

Park is a Progressive school with quality, innovative educators, a creative, diverse student body (preK -12 grade), a beautiful, expansive (34 acre) campus in a natural setting (pond, marsh, numerous playing fields), and a proud history. The head of school is a fantastic leader and has positioned Park well for the future. My children (one in lower school, one in middle) are thriving. HIGHLY recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2013

From 1969 to 2010 I taught at three different school systems in Western New York. For ten years of that 41 year career, I taught history at The Park School. I also served as the Director of College Placement and the Director of Upper School. Looking back on my career, I can honestly say that, philosophically, Park School was committed to having its learning environment conform to the nature and needs of its students. The overall goal of the Park School experience was to promote a long term disposition toward reading, thinking, and questioning. During my years at Park, I know that while its students were afforded an atmosphere of freedom and opportunity, this experience was tempered with the recognition that one had a personal responsibility to promote and protect the common welfare. My 35 year association with Park School has confirmed my belief that its philosophy, goals, and learning environment are most appropriate for children of all ages.


Posted October 23, 2012

My son entered Park School in the first grade. The individual atttention he received within the small class size was immeasurable. Since he enjoys exploring and sharing his personal antecdotes, the Park environment encouraged this which helped to develop his confidence at an early age. Now as a middle schooler, his leadership skills truly shine. Thanks to those early years at Park, my sons confidence to share knowledge and contribute to classroom discussions has grown tremendously. Choosing the Park School was the best gift I have ever given to my son!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2012

This was a progressive school with a caring community at one time. It has gone down hill year after year with constant administrative changes. It still has a great lower school environment with great teachers but things fall apart in the High School. There are no discipline measures put into practice even though they are clearly outlined in their handbook. Students speak out of turn in the classroom and harass other students while the teachers ignore what is going on. I think the teachers are afraid of the students themselves. If you are thinking of sending your high schooler here, spend the day on campus. You will be shocked by what you see and hear. Save your money (it's expensive!) and send your student to a public high school because it's the same kind of environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2010

One thing's for sure -- Park School lives up to its reputation: It's an unabashedly left wing, progressive school. They have a great art program, terrific strings program, nice campus, warm community traditions -- and it really is a progressive, experiential education (with lots of social activism and political correctness along the way) . The culture is not one that fosters high achievement -- the freedom to fail is exercised pretty regularly amongst the student body. The facilities and campus need money badly, but it's pretty clear that there's not much of that to go around. Our kids had some wonderful teachers though -- teachers that truly cared, and taught them so much through real, hands-on education. We aren't there any more, but we were happy with the education they got, especially in the lower school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2009

Park is appropriate for a certain kind of student. The naturally competetive student, for whom intellectual challenge and rigor are necessary components of a healthy academic setting, might be happier at Nichols or Buffalo Seminary, at least for Upper School. Its size, financial troubles, and 'weird' progressive reputation are significantly hindering, and damage students' sense of pride in their school. Park is, however, the best coeducational day school in the Buffalo area for the student who needs a supportive community to excell. You can be successful at Park, but to do so you need to pave your own road.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 14, 2009

My 3 year old is at Park and we find the attention on him and his education wonderful. Its a beautiful campus and we feel very fortunate that he is there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

Park School has been an amazing place for my children and my family. Our children love going to school and are being taught with care and compassion that public school lack. The project-based learning has given them a wider perspective on all subjects. At the open house we attended we were very pleased with the students we met and realized that when children are given the chance to be who they are without criticism they open their minds! The teaching staff is professional, loving and show real care in the individual child. The campus is beautiful and is is fully used in their education. Proof of the inportance of developing the character of the whole child is evident in every play, sporting game and assembly. Park kids are more social, educated and prepared for adulthood. We are extremely pleased with our choice of Park School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I've sent two sons to the only progressive school in Western New York--they were both well-served by this wonderful school. My older son was inspired to go into teaching after graduating from Park. He went on to get a master's degree in early childhood education, and now is head teacher for 3 and 4-year-olds at a preschool in Brooklyn. My younger son is a senior at Park, president of student government, full of ideas and strongly motivated to go on to college next year. By the way, my husband, a successful attorney with his own office, is a proud graduate of The Park School. We always say we wish every child could go to a school like Park, where the teachers really get to know students as individuals, challenging, encouraging and supporting them at every turn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Park School is a place where students are engaged in active learning. My children enjoy going to school each day. The learning is fun, they are required to think and be creative, and the community is a happy and accepting place. As a result, my children are enthusiastic about learning and feel confident in who they are. There is no pressure for kids to conform, so they can march to the beat of their own drummer. Park School does not participate in the battery of NYS tests, so learning does not grind to a halt for test preparation. My kids write a lot, and I am glad that the school emphasizes this skill. The campus is beautiful, the faculty are appropriately demanding, and the students are down-to-earth. I can't imagine sending my kids anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Excellent school. Great Park Community. Creative, fun learning. Great for college prep. I love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Check out the Park difference for yourself- you won't be disappointed. Park is the only progressive school in the area where student support and active learning trumps all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

The individualized attention my children have received at Park has made a difference in their lives. They are excited about going to school and look forward to the thoughtful discussions in class. The college process has been relatively painless with the college counselor holding my hand since 9th grade on the road to finding the right fit college for my eldest child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

The Park School exemplifies the essence of a progressive education, particularly in the lower school. The emphasis on 'outdoor' education presents students with a broader perspective on how knowledge is acquired. This experience sets the foundation in developing a love of 'life long learning.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Very attentive faculty. Love the green and spacious campus. Park even has a pond and marsh and a greenhouse. My family has had kids at Park since 2002 and we're extremely happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

Park is more than just a school: it's a central institution in our family and plays a bigger role in our lives than our church, employer, and any other organization. I feel that Park has helped form exceptionally caring and distinct characters in my children, and I really admire them. I believe all parents invest time and energy into developing their kids, but I am convinced that the academic confidence, respect, mutual admiration and support I see among my children with each other and their friends is a result of their experience with Park.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2006

This is our first year at Park School. We have mixed reviews. Classes are small, which seems to be effective at lower levels but hindering at the upper school when it comes to social activities and sports. Personal attention and teacher quality is high from our perspective, but safety and the quality of facilities are lacking. A new head of school is working hard to make improvements, but funding seems to be an issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2005

Strong academics with a lot of individual attention. Students attend 'specials' from pre-k on, which includes music, art, PE, and from K on includes foreign language and computers, with full-time specials teachers. Strings ensemble from 1st and 2nd grade, with private lessons during the school day are wonderful. Very strong music program. Parent involvement is very high and encouraged. Teachers communicate with students through the internal email system, phone and in person. Teachers are readily available to students and parents. Soccer is the big sport for the younger grades, beginning in 2nd grade. Upper school is also strong in academics, music, art and others. Reasonable number of sports offered for the size of the school. Warm, nurturing community atmosphere. Upper school students take the lower school students to the zoo once a year, and the younger students host an ice-cream social for the older students in return. Many school-wide activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 52%
Black 14% 21%
Asian 8% N/A
Two or more races 7% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 21%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Bard
Wesleyan
Berkely
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Japanese
Russian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Woodshop
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • ESL
  • French
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Girls on the run
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • Forensics club
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Christopher Lauricella
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (716) 839-2014

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Outdoor / Farm-based
  • Progressive Education
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Global
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • ESL
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Bus by home district per rules
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Earth Spirit
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Bowling
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Sailing
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Bowling
  • Cross country
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Forensics club
  • Gardening
  • Girls on the run
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Math club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
  • Woodshop
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Park provides a rigorous academic program in an educational climate that emphasizes empathy, compassion, social awareness, and a sense of belonging to a tightly- knit, multi-age community.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bard
Wesleyan
Berkely
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4625 Harlem Rd
Snyder, NY 14226
Website: Click here
Phone: (716) 839-1242

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT