Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Somers Middle School 5

Posted March 22, 2011
- a parent
This school has excellent teachers who care about students. The extra-curricular activities are great, and are enthusiastically attended and administered. The kids are lovely, I never hear of any bullying or nasty behavior. The school has a new principal this year, so it remains to be seen how she is performing, but for the last 18 months, things have been excellent. I do think there is too much homework. Not a problem in itself, but some of it seems a bit pointless to me. All in all though, a great school.

Somers Middle School 0
no rating

Posted March 19, 2010
- a parent
All three of my children have gone through or are going through SMS. For your average student it is a wonderful school. It is the gifted children who are left behind. Whether it is the no-child left behind act, or the general state of education, as long as a student is going well grade wise - no steps for enrichment are taken. As a member of AGATE - I have met many other parents who are equally disappointed with the fact that other school districts have created programs for the advanced student that do more than feed them the next grade level. Enrichment instead of acceleration should be mandatory. Somers is by no means a poor school district. Perhaps instead of new football fields, more money should be directed toward the gifted student.


Somers Middle School 5

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Somers Middle School 1

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Somers Middle School 5

Posted July 05, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Somers Middle School 5

Posted March 28, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Somers Middle School 4

Posted March 25, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Somers Middle School 4

Posted March 18, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Somers Middle School 1

Posted December 03, 2008
- a community member
SMS held me back in so many ways. During my time spent there I was just making honor roll, yet the year after that, at my current school, I flew through like a breeze. Now, I am taking all AP/honors classes and I'm a high honors student. I doubt this would have happened at Somers. The teachers & administrative staff all had clear favorites, and refused to do anything about bullying problems. I feel as if I have wasted my time at SMS, and I am so thankful I managed to move away...

Somers Middle School 3

Posted October 06, 2008
- a student
This school is great. Class sizes can be relatively small, and the exploratory classes provide additional excitement for students. The only drawback- which I don't personally hold against the school- is that there are hardly any classes that do anything more than speed up the pace, 'accelerated' classes. The school needs to institute more honors and high school level classes, a studnet may possibly receive about 3 high school credits at this school, and many enter with less than that. But that I blame on the No Child Left Behind Act, which makes schools neglect gifted students and puts all priority on special education, so I give it 3 stars.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Somers Middle School
250 U.S. 202, Somers, NY  10589
(914) 277-3399
Last modified Somers Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Somers Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top