Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 108 Capt Vincent G Fowler

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 1408 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 9, 2013

The teaching staff is top-notch. The principal has very high expectations of teachers, parents and students alike and that translates into an academically challenging environment that values order while encouraging creative expression. The leadership team is highly reponsive to parent requests and inquiries. I feel blessed to have found this school and my children feel the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2012

I would just like to say that I am very proud to have my brother's name attached to this school. Captain Fowler, my big brother, would be and I am sure is very proud of this school. I am once again looking forward to P.S. 108, Captain Vincent Fowler school's celebration on the 23rd of this month. I can't wait to see all the wonderful activities and learning that is going on. Sincerely with love, Ellen Fowler Ryan Middle School Special Education Teacher Chatham, New York


Posted May 8, 2012

It is a great school. I read some of the negative comments here on the link and I'm sure they are comming from disgruntal parents who do not involve themselves in the quality education of their child except to complain, tear down and mumble simply because this is what they have and know to offer. When something is working well and can only do better, apply your selves with meaningful intentions and contributions or stay out. All it takes is one non-contributor to spread chaos, doubt and to stump what progress there are. Apply yourselves to this great school or take your child and leave. The student and teachers will miss the child but be happy to see you off. I am a parent, a volunteer and a contributor. I am black and my son, no matter how challenging the work may be understands the purpose and need to apply himself, to become well rounded and the smarts to contribute productively, how about you? MF
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2012

This school is very suspicious. I think they control the ratings of the school in order to stay on top. My son attends this school and the administrative staff needs to checked up on. This is public school not booth camp. Also they gave out surveys that would supposedly get to the BOE but a saw a parent get repremanded because she told the admin staff that she would do the survey online. she was told that she could not leave with the survey and that she had to give it back even if it was blank. I went online to do the survey but i am not able to because i need the code off the letter that the wouldn't allow the other parent to leave with. My take on this is unless the admin staff had some interest in context of the survey parents should have been able to do the survey any which way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2012

This is a great school that promotes learing & leadership. Had 2 boys graduated from here and did excellent from K to 5th grade. My oldest is now a student @ Stuyvesant H.S. It takes parent involvement as well to make sure the child excels in school. I have never had an issue & hopefully I can also send another child to be part of the great learning environment here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2011

I'm a graduate of year 1996. P.S 108 have left a place in my heart throughout my education days. Mrs. Petito was a fantastic principal and the teachers and staff I remembered to being very loving, caring and helpful. Because of my experience there it has inspired me to become a teacher. I wish you all luck and hope this is still one of the best public schools.


Posted October 27, 2010

My daughter has been to three different schools and she is only in the first grade, and this is because I was not satisfied with the other two schools (private schools). I felt that they did not challenge her enough. When I switch my daughter to this school last year I was greatly please from the first day she came home. I love how they put their student s brains to work. This is what I have been searching for. Excellent school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2009

Wonderful teachers and staff. This school only shoots for the best
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

capt.vincent G fowler is agreat school perfcet teachers and staff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2008

I love this school, the discipline, organization and the caring staff I just love it all three of my boys attend One is graduating this year I wish he wasn't I wish the school would go up to 8th grade at least a few classes maybe 2 6th grade 2 7th and 3 8th in stead of having pre k it should be from K - 8 like other schools are doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2008

I love this school, discipline, organization, I just love it. My son being there for 2 years and he doesn't want to go this is his last year and we going to miss it a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

P.S 108 was once a school of class and moral ethics a school where the former principal Ms Petito & her entire staff cared for the children and their education as well as saftey alond with a strict code of discipline. Today this has all hammered down to once a parent gets involved in their child education which they are entitled to a red flag goes up and you are treated with retalliation and remorse. No good the system is pitiful and teachers are asked to hold in their feelings and teach booth camp. My first daughter had a woderful early school years. My secod daughter is having a more difficult time, no thanks to the system in the school there is not a guidance counselling class or exra aactivities or prper coodination. all this I know because I am a very involved parent in my daughter's well being.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2007

I am a former dtudent of this school this is the best school you can send someone to! They offer very good programs, the teacher care very much for there students, the principal is like a role model to the students , the parents are very involved the school is very very large and thanks to this school everyone in my family has graduated college with a Scholarship ! and it is all thanks to the Captain Vincent G Fowler public school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 6, 2007

I was once I student at this school and going to this school really helped me through my middle school and high school experience. The teachers are nice and really helpful and when it comes to learning they are there to help you. This is a school that you can say it was worth sending your child there.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 22, 2005

My experience with P. S. 108 Vincent G. Fowler has been a great one. My child is now going to second grade and his first grade teacher made such a positive inpact in his life. This school offers amaizing programs that help children in their development such as reading, father and me literature night where the father is invited to participate in a reading session with their child/ren. I personally am not as involved as I would like to be in the PTA because of my job, however, this school has a room (named the Parent lounge) established just for parents where they welcome parents to participate in most, if not all, of the activities in the school. They encourage parents to be active in the learning process of their child/ren. That is why I believe that this is one of the greatest public schools around and goes highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

214 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

217 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

220 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

216 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

210 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

211 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 61% 9%
Hispanic 1 28% 23%
Black 2 7% 19%
White 2 4% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 25%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 186%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 56%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1089 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents100391%
Teachers86100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARIE BIONDOLLILO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

108-10 109th Ave
South Ozone Park, NY 11420
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 641-4956

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 100 Glen Morris
South Ozone Park, NY




Ps 63 Old South
Ozone Park, NY


Ps 62 Chester Park
South Richmond Hill, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT