Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Gow School

Private | 7-12 | 132 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in South Wales

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $159,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 12, 2014

I am one of the parents who posted a review of The Gow School in 2010. My son just graduated this year and has already started Summer classes at a well known university. Before Gow, I remember thinking how I would tell my son that he could be anything he wanted to be only to realize that may not be the case in his life. What Gow offers is not just specialized education but the ability to live out the dreams of our children. How many schools can boast that 100% of their graduates go on to higher learning...and deliver! I gave Gow a boy unsure of his future and saw, on stage at graduation, a confident, dedicated, outgoing, young man of good character. Sending your child to The Gow School is worth every sacrifice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2011

Our son Brandon has just been enrolled to the Gow School 9-2-11 it is pain full to leave your child. Our feeling is the local school system is letting him fail and playing the blame game. It is a sacrifice but with the changing word economy he will need every advanatage. We left the school with a good feeling we are doing the right thing for our son the staff at the GOW seem truely caring. i will update his progress. Ted Brois
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

The Gow School has given my son the chance for the future he deserves. Sending him away from home at such a young age was a very difficult decision for all of us. But he has grown from a child who probably would never have finished high school, to a strong, confident young man with ambitious goals for his future. And I know that Gow is providing him with both the academic skills and the life skills necessary to achieve those goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2010

"The Gow School saved my life, thank you , these were my son s words upon graduation after five years. He became more verbally expressive and confident academically through the extraordinary tutelage by the faculty at Gow. The strong RL (Reconstructive Language) aspect of the school s program is a key ingredient to the students education. Extracurricular activities and facilities have expanded for the boys to be constructively engaged during their stay at the school. There is also an excellent coed summer program for children. This is a male college preparatory school that is operated responsibly, with great thoughtfulness and deliberation. The faculty and staff are highly invested and committed to providing the highest level of education. The goal is to develop well educated, capable, responsible, respectful students who live with a strong moral code of ethics on a daily basis. Leadership in the form of a head master and board of trustees is strong, disciplined and dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2010

This is my son's first year at Gow, repeating 10th grade so that he can catch up his grade level, strengthen his deficiencies from the gap that grew over the years and even have the opportunity to consider college. From the get go we knew he needed the structure and assistance he needs. Gow has a grounded, dedicated faculty always looking to work with students to reach their goals and achieve the success not experienced at previous schools. The school's faculty and staff have so greatly impressed me. The headmaster, Mr. Rogers, is dynamic, energetic and optimistic which carries across the school. Expectations are high for students. Students develop a sense of brotherhood, respect for self and others...this is evident when you meet and speak with students firsthand. The students are open, honest and so respectful and considerate. At Gow they know what they are doing. Continually at the fore front for Dyslexia and similar LD issues. I know that my son is receiving the best support available, growing his independence, self-confidence and esteem into becoming a young man who know talks about what he might like to be and do in college and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2010

Our son is an intelligent person, but by 9th grade I feared he would not graduate from high school. He had struggled in school since first grade due to his dyslexia and was miserable and without confidence. He enrolled at The Gow School in the 9th grade and graduated a totally different person. The first year, he learned that he could learn and he never looked back. He is in college in a 3-2 program now. He spent his first 3 years of college at a selective small liberal arts school, double majoring in pre-engineering and physics. He is in the second of his last two years at an Ivy Engineering School. After he finishes his two years of engineering school, he will receive a Bachelors degree from each institution. Gow changed his life, and gave us, his parents the knowledge that he could succeed in life. Before he went to Gow, my motto for him was "a mind is a terrible thing to waste." His mind is no longer being wasted, thanks to Gow and his hard work. We are very grateful for the life the Gow school gave back to our son, through the good work of the faculty and staff there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

The teachers, administration, and staff are committed to ensure that each student is taught solid strategies which enable academic success. Positive roll models are the norm. The Gow School-Building great men by example.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2006

The Gow School works miracles for so many students. They treat us with respect despite are disabilities, and they teach us how to succeed. 100% of graduates go on to college. This shows what wonderful people work here. I would say its the best school in the nation for Dyslexia and when you read the accomplishments of the alumni you know that whether their a college grad., a manager, a teacher, or any other position they have succeeded because of Gow. Some students have even come back and become teachers. I graduated in 2001 and know Gow has worked miracles for me as well. Michael Fannon 01
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 22, 2006

The Gow School is one of the finest schools for students with learning challenges in the world. Before attending, testing revealed that our son had profound learnind disabilities. Local school officials said he was too brain damaged to learn to read, much less ever graduate from high school. Our son went to Gow in 7th grade. In 2 1/2 years, he went from 1st grade reading level to 12th and skipped a grade. He returned to regular public school of 2300 students his Junior year. He took Honors English, Honors Physics & Honors Alg. 2. He was not in any special ed classes. He graduated with a college scholarship and has since finished a year in college. Our son's only disappointment was he wasn't able to graduate from Gow. We just couldn' afford it. However, Gow changed our son's life. I recommend it without reservation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2005

My son participated in GOW's summer program. He found the teachers to be respectful of the students and very knowledgable and helpful. The weekend trips were well planned and a lot of fun for the students. The staff demanded respect of one another and for all rules to be followed at all times. This program helped my son to realize with a little better organization and teachers with skills and patients he is able to accomplish better grades. Because this was a summer program with students from all over the world it was not possible for a lot of parent involvment but the school did have very good communication with the parents on how the students were doing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2003

Gow gave me the skills and tools to go to collage.Any student with a reading/learning problem should look at GOW for help.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2003

This school has been wonderful for my son. Reconstructive Language has taught him so much. He is learning well in all the areas. Discipline and expectations of the boys are high. My son has been able to reach his goals there. I am very glad our son attends The Gow School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 52%
Black 7% 21%
Asian 6% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 1%
Hispanic 3% 21%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • M Bradley Rogers Jr
Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • ABS
  • NAIS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 85
South Wales, NY 14139
Phone: (716) 652-3450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Aurora Waldorf School
West Falls, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT