Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tuckahoe School 3

Posted January 10, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Tuckahoe School 0
no rating

Posted January 08, 2010
- a parent
Tuckahoe is a nice school, but the need for academic improvement cannot be denied, a fact substantiated by Great Schools' mediocre rating of 6 and the truth that many families left the district prematurely. The writer below can't imagine that the 'one size fits all' approach that works fine for their child does not really fit all. Many parents are excited about the possibilies that a new direction brings, but are not vocal because of the type of nastiness spewed by a handful of parents like the one below, who accused another writer with differing opinions of having personal problems and vendettas (which IS really make believe). Adminisration change is completely normal in all districts. Our great teachers remain, THEY are the ones who our kids deal with daily and touch them the most. It's time to let the anger go so the school can move forward in a positive direction.


Tuckahoe School 5

Posted January 03, 2010
- a parent
Tuckahoe is an awesome environment for students, thanks in part to the tireless efforts of the leadership referred to in the most recent post. The teachers, parents and community are saddened to have a shameful few, very shameful and fortunately very few, make a mockery of our school and community. What the few have done to our school district is a disgrace. The Tuckahoe Community overwhelmingly, yes, overwhelmingly supported the leadership of this school district. The last entry here on this site is obviously a parent who has a personal problem and vendetta. The parents, students and teachers overwhelmingly supported the leadership that was forced to leave due to the shameful few who we all know by name. Fortunately for us Tuckahoe Parents, the shameful few (and we all know who you are) will soon be replaced through new board elections and harmony will again resume for all of us who love Tuckahoe.

Tuckahoe School 5

Posted October 26, 2009
- a parent
Tuckahoe has been tremendous for my children. Thank you to all the parents, teachers and leadershistaff who have helped shape my children's future for the better. Schools like this are hard to find. I feel very fortunate to live here and to know my children are being nurtured and encouraged to become outstanding individuals as well as excellent students.

Tuckahoe School 2

Posted March 19, 2009
- a parent
Tuckahoe tends to teach to the mean and both kids at the top end and low end suffer a lot. There is a low expectation from kids here. It's easy to get high grades because of the lack of challenge. Also many teachers really don't care all that much and aren't driven to help kids learn. They 'instruct' rather than 'teach'. Administration has real problems. I understand that all schools have some problems but the parents at this school that think it's such a wonderful place have blinders on and have drank the koolaid. I for one want better for my kids.


Tuckahoe School 5

Posted January 08, 2009
- a parent
Tuckahoe School is a fabulous school and is unique compared to other public schools. The staff seems welcoming and instruction seems to always be on the cutting edge. It is a Pk-8 school, so middle school students are in the same building as elementary students. Middle school teaching is exceptional and the outdoor educational program is wonderful, thanks to the science team that coordiantes the trips. They also have a very dedicated and energetic superintendent who has been leading the district for a long time now (rather young). The new assistant principal also seems very nice. I can't say enough about how good this school is, despite the demographic challenges the east end is facing. The teachers really helped prepare my child for high school. Thanks to all!

Tuckahoe School 5

Posted September 13, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Tuckahoe School 3

Posted September 09, 2008
- a parent
The reality is that Tuckahoe is not really the first class school that everyone seem to be making it out to be. Tuckahoe has some real problems. Academic challenge is low. Tuckahoe plays to the middle - advanced students are not challenged adequately and there is no gifted and talented program. There are also very strong challenges due to population and demographics. There are also problems with the administration of this school because of the fact that the superintendant also acts as principal. This kills any kind of accountability. On top of that Tuckahoe is a common school district meaning that there are only three school board members which again kills accountability. That being said there are some good things particularly that children get a chance to stay younger longer because they are staying in an elementary environment until going to high school.


Tuckahoe School 5

Posted October 17, 2007
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Tuckahoe School 5

Posted April 02, 2007
- a parent
This is a fabulous school! It's the gem on the east end. The teachers are child-centered, and principal has a real knack for hiring quality.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tuckahoe School
468 Magee St, Southampton, NY  11968
(631) 283-3550
Last modified Tuckahoe School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tuckahoe School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top