Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public
Southold, NY
Students enrolled: 416

2 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Southold Elementary School 1

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
Worthy noting are comments by staff below! The comments are grammatically incorrect and filled with spelling errors. That is life at Southold! These are the people teaching your children. The District is more concerned with what the staff is paid and their never ending benefits. Taxes continue to rise as the student population has declined over the last 10 years. The cost per student is near $30,000! The Board of Education Members are very proud of their mess so there is little hope for a beneficial public education, that is not their priority.

Southold Elementary School 5

Posted August 11, 2011
- a parent
Ecellent teachers and a great principle. All staff members work as a team and there is high parent involvement. Small class sizes makes for more one on one time with the teacher


Southold Elementary School 1

Posted March 18, 2011
- a parent
i fully agree with -n get a great tutor you will need it. The teachers o NOT care about the students! They have no enthusiasm or energy! The principal cares about the teachers but not about the students or their education!

Southold Elementary School 1

Posted January 14, 2011
- a parent
Get a good tutor , you will need it. We came from other school districts and I have never seen such teacher apathy.

Southold Elementary School 1

Posted September 23, 2010
- a parent
I think the fact that the most recent "glowing" reviews were written on the same day speaks volumes - perhaps there was an elitist PTA meeting the night before. Just check out the NY state rankings for this district. 'Nuff said. Also check out the grammar and spelling written by one of the teachers in their review. Terrifying!


Southold Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
This school and the people working in it, care about our kids & it shows! My kids love school and I think that says alot.

Southold Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
Dedicated - compassionate teachers - and administration / open communication / clean / safe. Very nice school!

Southold Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 14, 2010
- a parent
They have teachers who have been making a difference in my children's lives for 19 years! Lots of great experience makes them truly understand what is best for children!


Southold Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
Amazing kids and great teachers...who could ask for more!

Southold Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Southold Elementary has the best school teachers on Long Island! They are so great with all of the kids and the kids love going to school everyday!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southold Elementary School
420 Oaklawn Avenue, Southold, NY  11971
(631) 765-5208
Last modified Southold Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Southold Elementary School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top