Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
6-8
Public
Springfield Gardens, NY
Students enrolled: 664

3 stars
Based on 32 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


33 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Is 59 Springfield Gardens 4

Posted June 23, 2014
- a community member
This uniformed school with 4 academies offers Math and Science Regents classes in eighth grade, has a record number of students in the Legal Outreach Program, students enrolled in Project Boost, a collaborative program with North Shore LIJ, a free after school and summer program with the YMCA and an in school mentoring program with Our Brothers Guardian, Inc. The adult community has access to free hands on computer workshops/classes at various times throughout the year, other informative workshops and great student performances. The adult male program of Men Stand United is fostering a sense of greater support from Dads and male guardians / mentors within the school. Visitors are encouraged to call to set up a tour and or appointment with the Parent Coordinator for more information.
1 person found this helpful

Is 59 Springfield Gardens 1

Posted April 11, 2014
- a community member
This school is terrible. Its dirty and has old qnd dangerous furniture. The teachers do not help or teach you. The staff curses at you on a daily basis.


Is 59 Springfield Gardens 1

Posted January 30, 2013
- a parent
If you don't care about your child's academic future and have no intention of she/he have college options send them to this school. This as mostly other middle schools in the district are a disappointing failure to the students in preparing them for higher learning in the future. This is a hang out spot to continue the students on the track of underclass, the lazy principal and the teachers can be proud of that. The stats make it seem better than it is. I got a transfer so fast it wasn't funny. My child graduated with honors at a different public school, is ahead with the regents and in a top specialized HS looking at university options. We would not have achieved this if we remained at this school. Every child deserves the same opportunity and training. This has been and still is a flop at the kids' adolescent cross roads.

Is 59 Springfield Gardens 3

Posted April 28, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has received an excellent education . Great teachers and support staff. Good environment for students. Lovely after school programs.

Is 59 Springfield Gardens 1

Posted September 07, 2010
- a parent
From the top to the bottom this school is headed for self destruction. The principal walks around with his gold tooth & fancy suits and obviously shows no concern for the students and the same attitude is felt from the burned out staff. I hope the boys academy puts them out of thier misery and saves the children of this community!


Is 59 Springfield Gardens 1

Posted July 10, 2010
- a community member
This school has about 1 Excellent teacher. The others range from barely satisfactory to extremely unsatisfactory. The leadership in the teachers is extremely weak and it rubs off on the children. The school offers no honors or advanced classes. The school has only one sports team and there are very limited challenging academic rating.

Is 59 Springfield Gardens 4

Posted November 29, 2009
- a student
I attend thisschool. I think it will change a lot in your life even if you have a small amount of distractions

Is 59 Springfield Gardens 1

Posted November 04, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Is 59 Springfield Gardens 1

Posted October 21, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Is 59 Springfield Gardens 1

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Is 59 Springfield Gardens
132-55 Ridgedale St, Springfield Gardens, NY  11413
(718) 527-3501
Last modified Is 59 Springfield Gardens is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Is 59 Springfield Gardens Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top