Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 132 Ralph Bunche

Public | PK-5 | 394 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

I think PS132 is a great school. The teachers here puts a lot of effort in to the students. They want what's best for the child and their parents. The area is safe, when it comes to the students safety they are on point someone is always at the front desk signing you in and checking I'd. I will recommend this school to other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2012

I am a parent with a son who attends this school right now. I am desperately trying to get him out of this placement. The neighborhood is unsafe. No decent in-school or after-school activities. There is no longer a "strong" reading program as BOTH "Reading Specialist" were placed in the classroom as homeroom teachers by the new principal. My son has one such "reading specializing" teacher now in 1st grade--I am not impressed. Honestly, I would have to say the "bullying" is probably the biggest problem at the school. The Principal is not addressing it AT ALL--as a matter of fact even letters to her office go UNATTENDED to! My son has come home numerous time with "accidents" that I was neither contacted about or had my questions answered about. Also, there is some kind of weird picking order as well. . . Parents who are known trouble makers are the ones whose badly behaved children are allowed to run rampant over the quieter more well-behaved students. I really DO NOT recommend this school! If you are zoned for it FIND A WAY OUT! Move if you have too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2010

This is school is just great.They really care for the kids. Discipline is right on to what your child recieves at home.the children here are well behaved and happy. The preK program is great and the children really learn not just play all day!Nice clean parent friendly school staff. The administration here is second to none great job I can see this school on a steady rise to the top!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I appreciate the teacher-parent/teacher-student relationships that have developed over my 5+ years at the Ralph Bunche School. There is a genuine concern for the academic and social growth of each student. I am pleased with the end results of a grueling year. I also give homage to the administrative staff. Their leadership has created an environment which is safe for the wealth of knowledge and esteem that is taught; and will exhume from each child long after graduation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

I love PS 132 because they care about the kids that attend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2008

Ps.132 is a great school. The teachers are great. They are like family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2007

Ps132 q is a great school to be in.I have expeirienced alot in that schoool and I am proud of it.My name is Victor Daniels,I am a student of the school.And I am currently in Mrs.Cunny's class.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2007

There aren't enough words to express our concern as parents with children who attend The Ralph Bunche School. From the very first day of school right through to the last day of the school teachers and administrators provide the quality of care and concern that is needed for a child's educational impartation. The foundation for educational values that begins at PS 132Q are instilled in the children so that they learn to live by the schools motto, 'Success is the Only Option.' There is great parent participation. Extracurricular activities could be increased. Overall, it's a wonderful school with wonderful teachers and administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2005

Overall I am happy with the school. But the school doesn't have enough activities for the students. They cut out the music and art programs and those children are left with only sports. A big 'Thank you' to the teachers that took time to organize trips for the children. For the after school program, it should be offered to all students. Our children need more healthy and better quality lunch. For safety and discipline, the teachers and the guards are doing a wonderful job. Parents should get involve by not double park to pick up the children. We are putting our own children in danger. We (parents) need to work with the school to improve the quality of it. If we all put together, we can save our children. They are our future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2005

The School is a very good school, the teachers are very dedicated and patient. Academically is excellent starting from the K-Class. The lunch room is good, is small, a lot of school aids, a lot of discipline. The security guard is at the main entrance of the school, he makes sure to ask for ID, than is very important for the safety of the school and our children. Is good all together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

Academically, PS132 is a very good school. The teachers, administration and leadership are committed to maintaining a positive and productive learning environment for their children. However, many parents need to step up and become more involved in their children's educational experience both inside and outside the classroom. The teachers and staff cannot do it by themselves. More attention needs to be placed on afterschool programs and other extracurricular activities. Our children need to be challenged and kept busy with positive and productive experiences to prevent them from indulging in negative and counterproductive activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

45 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

40 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

41 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
50%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

51 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

52 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 92% 19%
Hispanic 2 6% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 2% 1%
White 1 1% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 0% 9%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 21%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 173%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 4%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 52%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 4%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 190 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents16857%
Teachers2292%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ALICIA DAVIS

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

132-15 218th St
Springfield Gardens, NY 11413
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 528-5734

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 15 Jackie Robinson
Springfield Gardens, NY


Eagle Academy for Young Men III
Springfield Gardens, NY



Tracy's Day Care Center
Springfield Gardens, NY



Ps 156 Laurelton
Springfield Gardens, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT