Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Staten Island Montessori School

Private | PK-8 | 24 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Staten Island

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $475,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,450.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2014

school has camera system in all classes but will not allow parents to view even if its compromising their children's safety. I told them i would remove my child from the school and they said that would be fine with them ..they would not allow me to view the video. very disrespectful director . beware!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2013

How much is the tuition for preshoolers (age 2)? Thank you................... This thing wants me to post more than 15 words when all I had was one question. :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

My three and half year old son loves going to this school. However there are pros and cons: Pros: Great quality top notch approach to each child, academic and social skills being learned, light physical exercise, no naps in PM. Cons: Expensive, many school breaks (to my knowledge winter in Dec, mid-winter in Feb, spring in Mar/Apr and schoold year ends third week in Jun when classes run only half day). Overall, I am still choosing this school because of it's uniquness and outstanding quality for child's development. I wish they had classes in summer as a "summer camps".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

What a wonderful place. The teachers are so kind and dedicated. I feel very lucky to have my children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

I never saw children cry because it was the last day of school until S.I. Montessori! My children love going to school every day. I am so thankful for the excellent education they are receiving and for the love of learning that has been instilled in them by their wonderful teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Staten Island Montessori is a great place for your child to learn. The teachers are top notch and make learning an enjoyable experience. My husband and I get many compliments on our sons' good behavior and their articulation. When people ask us what school they attend, we say Staten Island Montessori.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

I like the structure and organization. The teachers are simply the best! Great education and atmosphere.!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

This school is a special place were learning is united!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

My nephews enjoy going to school and have good teachers and friends.


Posted April 29, 2010

Great teachers, my daughter really likes going to school because of the great environment and supportive atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Staten Island Montessori School has a wonderful director, fabulous staff, and amazing teachers that care about the development of each child individually. They work hard to make each child and parent feel welcomed at the school and strive for a family environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

It is a great facility to learn and grow, special and individualized for all types of children


Posted April 29, 2010

the teachers really care about the students and their philosphies on education are implemented beautifully in the classroom. My son is doing well and has learned so many new things. I genuinely feel that the staff cares about him, his needs, and our needs as a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Every day my child is learning something new and is able to reflect on the new material and demonstrate eagerness to return to school the next day - it's such a gift for me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

My granddaughter is enrolled in Montessori and is very happy there and learning a great deal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

S.I. Montessori has the most caring, dedicated collection of teachers I have ever encountered. My children get plenty of individualized attention and encouragement, ensuring they've really mastered material and preparing them for the next challenge. Strong academics in a family atmosphere, Staten Island Montessori is a school that feels like home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

The Montessori method of teaching coupled with the exemplary teaching staff make for a wonderful learing environment! My children are excellent students and thinkers thanks to this school and its teachers. Equally as important as the academics, are the social skills they have learned here. They have been taught to be kind, compassionate and well-mannered. This place is the best-kept secret on SI!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2009

I wish I was a child again and could attend this wonderful school. The stuff is absolutely the best in the world! My children love it and it makes me the happiest person. Thank you Montessori School!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 52%
Black 8% 21%
Hispanic 2% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Asian 0% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Constance E. Costa
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

500 Butler Boulevard
Staten Island, NY 10309
Phone: (718) 356-7833

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



I.S. 34 Tottenville
Staten Island, NY



P.S. 1 Tottenville
Staten Island, NY


Gateway Academy
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT