Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

P.S. 65 the Academy of Innovative Learning

Public | PK-5 | 325 students

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2014

Every child should have the good fortune of an education from PS65 I have found the leadership team of Scamardella, Rodriguez and Reilly, vigilant and address every issue and concern that came up......right away. Like it was their own child. My daughter has been going to this school since kindergarten. She was shy and struggled academically. I have watched her blossom and progress in many ways, socially and academically. And since the first day I walked into this school, I felt like I was walking into their home. It may sound hard to believe, but now that I am researching middle schools, I am just so grateful for the time I had here and for the hard work and expertise of this team and their staff. I see the results in my daughter every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2013

This school is not at all what these positive reviews perk up to be unless the reviews are from the teachers or staff themselves. I can't wait to put my kids in another school after this school year. Principal nevers sees two sides to a story. She is all for the teacher rather than the parent. She hugs one parent and ignores another with no shame. The supposed Counselor of the school hasn't helped my family in any way and is very impersonal. There is no more Spanish as a class so the kids are lacking the secondary language in America. And it is true about the teacher's who's kids go to the school and they do always get awards. It's pretty funny. I don't care if a council woman supports this school, she is not there every day to know the deal, my kids, my wife and i are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

We're very happy we have such a great public school on the Staten Island north shore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

this school needs to work on equality, which it lacks. i am hoping for a good school year for my children and self. i dont think teachers should have their kids in the same school ( which this school supports), only because the teachers children constantly receive awards every darn month which i find disgusting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

Both of my chidren attend this school, I couln't be more happy with a school. The Principle is amazing, Ms. Rodriguez and the entire staff are amazing. I'm so pleased that my children are apart of such an amazing experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

great principal and teachers....also my children loves this school. but iam so concern because the have no middle school.. so iam happy if they have everything convieneon..we are so lucky to got that school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2012

Best elementary school on Staten Island. Teachers and staff treat my child with respect and care. PTA is active and inviting. There was a past PTA president that recently lost re-election and I feel that has been the basis for some of the negative reviews found on this site. This is sad. Nevertheless there is a reason why there is a waiting list to get in and Debbie Rose earmarked over a million dollars to build an auditorium. Also the concrete back yard is being transformed this summer into a performing arts and play area including an outdoor stage. Sending my child to Ps 65 has been decision for my child's learning and social development. PS 65 Rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2012

Not happy with this school, staff, and approach. Very fake to me and not sincere.


Posted June 3, 2012

I placed a response back in 2010, my mindset has changed about this school since then. To give a more constructive approach, this school has heart, however I do personally feel that the school needs more guidance for their employees. Also, as with many schools, it can be political; If a parent is active in the school, their child is praised, while the busy parents children are less noticed during events as opposed to the students "personal self and character" rather than the parent's. The PTA is downhill and surely unorganized. Some of the veteran teachers are more comfortable to be less professional. When my munchkin started the school, I was very active and felt welcomed, many smiles and everything was gravy.The turn around was as if night vs day once I started working double shifts and was less active. Try and be as active as you can, and the more you donate and raise for the school the better for your kid. No school is perfect, this school is okay. I think the approved schools on this particular site actually receive an accredited seal next to it's link.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

The principal and the guidance counselor along with the teacher are all great. Everyone is easy to talk to and it feels like a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

Because my granddaughters attend this school and my daughter tells me its a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

My nieces have shown so much growth since they have attended this school. I look forward to their continued success as well as the schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

I love P.S. 65 because it provide a warm, safe, comfortable, and innovative environment for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2010

PS65 is a small school with a big heart. They are academically challenging for my daughter, and also offer a variety of subjects that are important for her growth and development--art, gym, Spanish and Science
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2010

P.S. 65 is a family. The principal stands outside in the morning to give hugs, high fives, praise, and so much more. The parents are involved, and want their children to believe that anything is possible when you're a "dolphin" (the school's mascot). The teachers are dedicated, creative and love the students. At the monthly PTA meeting, students are praised for not only their school work, but their character as well. Awards are distributed to students who demonstrate dolphin-like behavior (respect, honesty, kindness, etc...) P.S. 65 goes above and beyond to create life-long learners. I am proud to call P.S. 65 my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

I love this school because parents and teachers work together to make it a great place for children to grow and learn.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 13, 2010

PS 65 is a great school. The school environment is that of a big family. The staff from the principal, teachers and school safety are always available for you and your children. My children love going to school and they continue to grow every day. I'm proud to say that my children attend PS 65.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Most parents are highly involved in all activities ran by this school. The teachers and staff are very enthusiastic about education and the way of teaching really gets kids interested in the curriculum. There are plenty of opportunities to be involved and know what your child is learning. The staff of this school not only promotes academic achievement but values of respect, teamwork, and generosity. Great school, love it!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

Awesome students and staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2010

P.S. 65 Is a fantastic envoiroment for children to learn and grow. It is has arts infused education along with the foundations of education. The school is staffed by knowledgeable and energetic teachers who are determined to provide the best education foundation all young minds deserve. All of this is set within an environment that encourages kindness, teamwork, and an enthusiasm to learn. But most importantly to me is that, my boys look forward to going to school in the morning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

53 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

This school was not given a Progress Report Grade by the NYC Department of Education for the 2009-2010 school year.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 33% 19%
White 1 33% 48%
Hispanic 2 27% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 4% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 2% 1%
Two or more races 2 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 3%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 40%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Chinese, Italian
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Visual arts
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese, Italian
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 216 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
9.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.2
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
9.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents19467%
Teachers2292%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:35 am
School end time
  • 2:55 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • MS. SOPHIE SCAMARDELLA
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (718) 981-6109

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese, Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
More from this school
  • PS 65 is a school where students come eager and ready to develop their minds and their character and improve student achievement through inusion of the arts into the core curriculum. For our students, the arts provoke thought, increase awareness, ignite passion, allow explorations and express emotion. The Academy of Innovative Learning offers all students an atmosphere that is conductive to learning and a curriculum that is rigorous, consistent, sequential and individualized to meet the needs and learning styles of each student with a focus on each student's intellecutual, personal, social and physical development.
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

98 Grant St
Staten Island, NY 10301
Phone: (718) 981-5034

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Miraj Islamic School
Staten Island, NY



Ps 16 John J Driscoll
Staten Island, NY


Our Lady Of Good Counsel
Staten Island, NY


Ps 31 William T Davis
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT