Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-10
Public charter
Staten Island, NY
Students enrolled: 377
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


John W Lavelle Preparatory Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 09, 2015
- a parent
The Teachers are effective not only because they have special relationships with the students, but also the test results are ok. I personally do not think test results are authentic, and I see the teachers take initiative to grow, learn and make mistakes.

John W Lavelle Preparatory Charter School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 09, 2015
- a parent
I like their philosophy with HW, and most teachers adhere to short HW assignments, so students can develop other areas and have family time. Who wants to work 8 hours and then bring home 2 more hours of work- I dont!


John W Lavelle Preparatory Charter School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted July 09, 2015
- a parent
This is developing. Many students live in areas that there is no respect for community, so it takes time.

John W Lavelle Preparatory Charter School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted July 09, 2015
- a parent
The school develops the students and promotes choice in many areas. If a student is caught doing something they are given a chance to make things right.

John W Lavelle Preparatory Charter School 4

Posted July 09, 2015
- a parent
The teachers here give 100% and often stay late and promote critical thinking. This is a school where the teachers grow and learn with your children. It is a school were problems are addressed and not pushed aside. The students are given choice here and a chance to correct their own behavior. The teacher/student ratio is wonderful. My child attended a different school and said that there is no bullying at this school, and if something starts it is caught and taken care of.


John W Lavelle Preparatory Charter School 1

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is finishing her second year at Levelle Prep. The only good thing in this school is the fact that the kids can't walk out, or cut school and that the school calls if a child is absent. I find it hard to believe that this school is a college prep school. The teachers are nice but most times it takes away from having order and this is why the kids do and act as they please. Homework assignments are rare and if given it doesn't take more than ten minutes to complete. I am very disappointed because i had higher expectations in Lavelle. I am pulling my daughter out to get an education that will challenge her for better rather than just get her through. There are numerous opportunities that other schools have to offer her for a brighter future
3 people found this helpful

John W Lavelle Preparatory Charter School 1

Posted February 12, 2014
- a community member
Dont send your child here they have no control over discipline... The reading scores are horrible and the children lack respect for themselves or authority... A complete waste....
2 people found this helpful

John W Lavelle Preparatory Charter School 1

Posted January 30, 2014
- a parent
Lavelle Prep..This school does nothing for the students and they treat the students like they are nothing. My son has been in this school since the 6th grade and nothing but trouble. I have called the school because my son was being bullied and they did nothing. I had to take matters into my own hands. The teachers are there just for a pay check not to help the student. My son got suspended for tapping on the chair and school told me if I can't pick him I can give verbal permission to let him take the city bus home. Mind you he is only in the 8th grade are you kidding me. No school even high school will let your child leave with a parent. Also the teachers do not reach out to the parents. The staff feels as though they do nothing wrong and your child is the one who is wrong.
3 people found this helpful


John W Lavelle Preparatory Charter School 2

Posted January 10, 2014
- a parent
If your looking for a college prep school with a lot of low average students with lots of special needs, bullying and suspension central, inexperienced teachers, could be better leadership with students who couldnt make it in a general public school come join this alternate like school its 4 u.
2 people found this helpful

John W Lavelle Preparatory Charter School 3

Posted November 04, 2013
- a parent
My son is in eigth grade. He says it's a nice school. I don't like the location the school is in and it only has one city bus. It goes by two other schools and it gets really crowded. The kids act very wild on the city bus. The teachers seem very nice, but some don't stay very long. I think if you're going to be a charter school teacher, you should make it a fun learning and caring enviornment. Usually when you hear about schools in the bronx or Philadelphia, the teachers are outstanding. The kids need afterschool activities and should be involved in their community. There should be volunteer programs. All parents should be informed how to be active in their child's school. If parents and teachers work together, this can be a wonderful school. Other schools have chess, math, and drama clubs. It would be nice if this school had those options too. Parents should be informed how to prepare their child for college. Let's make this a great school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John W Lavelle Preparatory Charter School
1 Teleport Drive, Staten Island, NY  10311
(347) 581-4147
Last modified John W Lavelle Preparatory Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-10. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
John W Lavelle Preparatory Charter School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top