Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Is 34 Tottenville

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 1102 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

97 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 15, 2008

I think this school is awesome! TOnes of nice teachers !!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2008

This school is really good so far. I've made a lot of friends so far and I've also already made a lot of memories. I've been in this school for a month it's really great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2008

Ive had a wonderful experience at this school. Sure, it may not be the most modern school out there, but I've made soo many memories here. I was in the peer leadership program and I've made soo many friends> When I go to highschool, I'm acually going to miss the activites they did with every grade like...6th grade feild trip.....7th grade trip to Philidelphia...8th grade hat day...game show...great adventure trip...I'm also going to miss all the teachers. They were the kind of people I could go to if I had a problem with anything. I give this school two thumbs up!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 30, 2008

I am a student at !.S.34. I do not think that the teachers are hard on the students or the after school programs are not good. I like this school alot and i really like all my teachers. My favorite is Mrs.Russo. I think shes the best reading/science teacher. The main reason is because everytime i had a problem she would always help me and never really yelled at me when i did somthing bad or it took me for ever to get a lesson done. I dont see why all these parents are writeing bad reveiews, i just dont see anything wrong with this school. The foods good, the punishments are equal, teachers are nice and helpfull, therea alot of kids so everyone has a friend and is not alown. I think these parents are not giveing this school ask much credit as it should really have.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2007

I am sorry but all you parents are wrong. THis school is the best school on Staten Island. The programs are excellent and the honors program is amazing. I have been in honors all of my time at I.S.34 and I have been challenged and have learned alot. All of the parents that say that there is no difference between honors and regular classes are wrong. The teachers are extremely dedicated to teaching. They may goof off some times but that is only because the students and teachers have such strong bonds. Now there is a algebra class for the higher level students. I am in this class and we learn highschool level math that the regular honors and other classes are not doing. In conclusion if you say anything negative about this school you are incorrect.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2007

it's my son's first experience in junior high. I have to say that I'm so impressed with the level of commitment from the teachers and the staff. My son comes home happy. That's what we want for our kids while they're in school! The academics are rigorous, but the kids have a blast in school too. Phone calls are returned promptly...if not the same afternoon, then the next morning. Great school..Kudos to the staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2007

I think this scholl is great i love all the teachers or most of them the younger ones have no idea what there geting into but oh well. Most of the teachers that have been there fo a while no how to make it fun to be in school and not tourcher. I love the music and LA program but I feel the math program could be updated.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 21, 2007

I think the teachers and the rest of the staff here at this school are very nasty. What gives them the right to talk to the students the way they do. Everyone has an attitude. No after school programs are available to you unless you pay for them. The school is so old and needs to be brought up to date. It's more like bootcamp. I can't wait for my child to graduate from here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2007

I go to this school its a lovley and funn to be at the food and teachers and evreybody working and going there are nice people!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2006

It is not the same school it used to be. I feel most of the teachers cannot wait for the bell to ring. The technology program is extremely lacking in educating the children or entertaining the children. What after school activities? What student body council? What future leadership training?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2006

i feel that this school is excellent!! The teachers care for their students and try their hardest. The english department is outstanding. The music department is a very giving department and works their hardest to notice each childs given gift. But remember..the music department depends on only 2 teachers, Mr.Blaine and Mr. Barr and trust me...they try their hardest to teach each and everyone of their students the proper music knowledge. The teachers of I.S.34 are very involved with the school and what goes on in it...each and every teacher gets involved with school activities. I give the teachers a big thumbs up for their hard work.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2006

My child is in the top honors program at I.S 34-I am extremely disappointed with this program. He is learning the same material, and at the same speed as all the 6th grade students. What is the purpose of an honor program if the children are not challenged? In addition, after the parent-teacher conference, when some parents complaned about this issue, some teachers started giving the honor students more work- but it was busy work, and they were not going to learn anything from it. Lastly, for one science/math teacher it seems marking assignemnts is a problem- she has about 18 assignments/tests to mark since Sept., and only 5 have been marked. How is this teaching the students anything. If your child is in honors, I would look for a better school, which is what I am doing. The music program is very good, and there is minimal extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

The best school I have ever been involved with. Mr Cannizzaro is wonderful and there were many dedicated teachers there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

I think that this school is going downhill. It is not like it was years ago when my nephews went there. Teachers have a hard job there, but it does not give them the excuse to curse of call students names such as Knuckleheads or curse them or tell them that they blame their parents for not doing a good job with their kids. What gives them the right? If you cannot deal with the children, then you shouldnt be teaching. The principal should also retire because I think he is burnt out. He is all for the teachers and not for the students. He is not a fair principal and I think that the school should be evaluated by the chancellor on a surprise basis. I cant wait until my child is out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2004

I think that this school use to be good way back when. I don't think that some of the teachers take the time to really help the children that need a little extra. Some of the young teachers think that they know it all and try to be tough, and forget that they were once a child too. I cant wait until my child is no longer in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2004

I don't think they fairly evaluate children for the music program. They do not provide an equal opportunity to foster a childs thirst for knowledge. It seems as they want a child to come in and know it all so they do not have to teach.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2004

Great School! Wonderful teacher parent relations.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

391 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

372 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

370 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

374 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students36%
Female40%
Male32%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White37%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities6%
General population45%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant36%

Math

All Students39%
Female34%
Male43%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities14%
General population47%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students45%
Female47%
Male42%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities10%
General population52%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant45%

Math

All Students38%
Female31%
Male44%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities6%
General population46%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students35%
Female36%
Male32%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White34%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Not economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities6%
General population40%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant35%

Math

All Students39%
Female36%
Male41%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities13%
General population45%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant39%

Science

All Students76%
Female74%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities44%
General population83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 88% 48%
Hispanic 1 9% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Black 1 0% 19%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 234%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 8%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 74%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 2218 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents100399%
Students1136100%
Teachers79100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

528 Academy Ave
Staten Island, NY 10307
Phone: (718) 984-0772

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Gateway Academy
Staten Island, NY


Ss Joseph & Thomas School
Staten Island, NY


Is 7 Elias Bernstein
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT