Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Staten Island, NY

4 stars
Based on 60 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


109 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Is 34 Tottenville 3

Posted July 24, 2014
- a community member
the school has high academics and have great teachers, but the rest of the staff isn't all so great. Especially Leone who has made it clear that he can do whatever and even if you tell your parents "they cant do anything".Its almost as if this grown man has joy tormenting middle school. This school would be normal if Leone was out

Is 34 Tottenville 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
IS34 is AWESOME!! :) My daughter is in the 7th Grade and she loves her school her teachers and her classmates.


Is 34 Tottenville 3

Posted December 16, 2013
- a community member
my school is average. the teachers are nice but the deans are out of control. they throw things around and yell at the students like they want to intimidate them.

Is 34 Tottenville 3

Posted January 25, 2013
- a community member
Basically the school itself is very good. The teachers are involved and interesting, the programs are helpful, the school is safe, etc. However, it is run terribly. Ever since the previous principle left, Mr. Boyle has given the school even more dictatorship qualities than before. The dress code is borderline psychotic, where a jean rip above the knee results in incessant repremanding. One in three lunches are silent because the deans, specifically Leone, have a standard where if not all 300 kids are silent in .5 seconds after he blows the whistle, we might as well have committed a vital sin and we are forced to hear his ridiculous, unintelligible ramblings that mean nothing to any student. Those with power in the school have made it an unenjoyable place and I believe that we should have an opposition to the inane rules.

Is 34 Tottenville 4

Posted August 13, 2012
- a parent
I WILL RATE IT AT ANOTHER TIME. AT PRESENT I JUST WANT TO BE INFORMED ABOUT ALL ASPECTS OF THIS SCHOOL.


Is 34 Tottenville 5

Posted June 01, 2012
- a parent
My twin are graduating this month from 34. This is like the best JHS in Staten Island. They have done so well here. Mr. Boyle is always available to speak to a parent about any concerns we might have. The dress code is strict but my kids had the best time of their lives these past 3 years. They are sad to be leaving.

Is 34 Tottenville 5

Posted May 31, 2012
- a community member
im a 7th grader in this school & its almost over. sometimes i say i hate this school because i cant stand the dress code or the rules in the lunchroom but i am going to miss it when i leave. 8th grade is almost here for the class of 2013 i made such great friends & i wish i can stay with all these people when its time to go to high school. i hate how the best school (34) is the shortest amount of time, 3 years isnt enough :( i cannot believe how fast time is going these were the fastest 2 yrs of my life that i wish i can redo i wish i can go back to the first day of 6th grade and start over :( before ik it i'll be in 8th grade and i'll be at graduation.. 8th grade is the best year ever but i just dnt wanna go yet time needs to slow down. the only reason y i look fwd to the 1st day of 8th grade is because i find out whos in my class cause now we dont find out on the last day of school which isnt fair but i love surprises so.. we'll seeee :)

Is 34 Tottenville 5

Posted August 27, 2011
- a parent
Thank you Mr Preston. My son is at THS and is succeeding !! You did put PAL in Principal! Good luck in the future.


Is 34 Tottenville 2

Posted July 01, 2011
- a community member
OMG SERIOUSLY..... THIS SCHOOL IS SO STRICT IT SHOULD BE A PRIVATE SCHOOL!!! IF YOUR GOING TO MAKE THIS A PUBLIC SCHOOL MAKE IT WITH LIKE REAL RULES...... NOBODY ELSE READS DURING LUNCH WHEN THERES A BAD "RESPONSE".... DRESS CODE IS RIDICULOUS...... CANT WAIT TO TRANSFER!!

Is 34 Tottenville 5

Posted June 01, 2011
- a parent
this school was very safe compared to other schools my daughter is now in highschool and never seen a real fight in school and she said mom it was scary i miss is34. she loved this school and learned alot especially from mrburo

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Is 34 Tottenville
528 Academy Avenue, Staten Island, NY  10307
(718) 477-4500
Last modified Is 34 Tottenville is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Is 34 Tottenville Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 109 reviews. Top