Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
61 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 117 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Is 34 Tottenville 4

Posted July 10, 2016
- a parent
IS34 is Good School. My daughter just graduated with multiple Achievement awards while attending all three years in Honor program. My only complaint is they dont have air conditioning in most of the rooms.

Is 34 Tottenville 3

Posted July 24, 2014
- a community member
the school has high academics and have great teachers, but the rest of the staff isn't all so great. Especially Leone who has made it clear that he can do whatever and even if you tell your parents "they cant do anything".Its almost as if this grown man has joy tormenting middle school. This school would be normal if Leone was out


Is 34 Tottenville 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
IS34 is AWESOME!! :) My daughter is in the 7th Grade and she loves her school her teachers and her classmates.

Is 34 Tottenville 3

Posted December 16, 2013
- a community member
my school is average. the teachers are nice but the deans are out of control. they throw things around and yell at the students like they want to intimidate them.

Is 34 Tottenville 3

Posted January 25, 2013
- a community member
Basically the school itself is very good. The teachers are involved and interesting, the programs are helpful, the school is safe, etc. However, it is run terribly. Ever since the previous principle left, Mr. Boyle has given the school even more dictatorship qualities than before. The dress code is borderline psychotic, where a jean rip above the knee results in incessant repremanding. One in three lunches are silent because the deans, specifically Leone, have a standard where if not all 300 kids are silent in .5 seconds after he blows the whistle, we might as well have committed a vital sin and we are forced to hear his ridiculous, unintelligible ramblings that mean nothing to any student. Those with power in the school have made it an unenjoyable place and I believe that we should have an opposition to the inane rules.


Is 34 Tottenville 4

Posted August 13, 2012
- a parent
I WILL RATE IT AT ANOTHER TIME. AT PRESENT I JUST WANT TO BE INFORMED ABOUT ALL ASPECTS OF THIS SCHOOL.

Is 34 Tottenville 5

Posted June 01, 2012
- a parent
My twin are graduating this month from 34. This is like the best JHS in Staten Island. They have done so well here. Mr. Boyle is always available to speak to a parent about any concerns we might have. The dress code is strict but my kids had the best time of their lives these past 3 years. They are sad to be leaving.

Is 34 Tottenville 5

Posted May 31, 2012
- a community member
im a 7th grader in this school & its almost over. sometimes i say i hate this school because i cant stand the dress code or the rules in the lunchroom but i am going to miss it when i leave. 8th grade is almost here for the class of 2013 i made such great friends & i wish i can stay with all these people when its time to go to high school. i hate how the best school (34) is the shortest amount of time, 3 years isnt enough :( i cannot believe how fast time is going these were the fastest 2 yrs of my life that i wish i can redo i wish i can go back to the first day of 6th grade and start over :( before ik it i'll be in 8th grade and i'll be at graduation.. 8th grade is the best year ever but i just dnt wanna go yet time needs to slow down. the only reason y i look fwd to the 1st day of 8th grade is because i find out whos in my class cause now we dont find out on the last day of school which isnt fair but i love surprises so.. we'll seeee :)


Is 34 Tottenville 5

Posted August 27, 2011
- a parent
Thank you Mr Preston. My son is at THS and is succeeding !! You did put PAL in Principal! Good luck in the future.

Is 34 Tottenville 2

Posted July 01, 2011
- a community member
OMG SERIOUSLY..... THIS SCHOOL IS SO STRICT IT SHOULD BE A PRIVATE SCHOOL!!! IF YOUR GOING TO MAKE THIS A PUBLIC SCHOOL MAKE IT WITH LIKE REAL RULES...... NOBODY ELSE READS DURING LUNCH WHEN THERES A BAD "RESPONSE".... DRESS CODE IS RIDICULOUS...... CANT WAIT TO TRANSFER!!

Nearby schools

Is 34 Tottenville
528 Academy Avenue, Staten Island, NY  10307
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 117 reviews. (718) 477-4500
Last modified Is 34 Tottenville is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top