Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Is 72 Rocco Laurie

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 1483 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 6, 2013

I'm a former student at this school, i loved the teachers and all my best friends went to this school, i lovethe arista program and the trips we went on, i had a lot of fun at this school, my sister now goes here in class 622. I love this school that's all i have


Posted July 23, 2013

GREAT SCHOOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS IS THE RIGHT PLACE FOR YOUR CHILD ALOT OF PARENTS SAY IT IS A BAD SCHOOL BUT MY DAUGHTER HAD A GREAT EXPERIENCE IN IT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2013

My son graduated from IS72 this past june. We have not one negative comment or complaint. Mr Macellari is a wonderful principal and has the respect from just about all his students. He has a great staff and a large school to run and we think he does an AWESOME job! In the areas of academics and socializing my son benefited from the wonderful teachers he had each year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2012

Of course it's the schools fault. Of course all of the teachers are making your child miserable. Makes total sence...oh wait....maybe just maybe it's the KID!! And perhaps just by chance a severe lack of parenting...or knowledge of your own kid. Gotta love " not my kid" approach...sigh. And Bloomberg blames the teachers...that's funny!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

I have to say, when the teachers in this school have a certain student they like to assume is wrong in every way whether they are or NOT, and all the time, they do not let up on that child for nothing! They become constantly petty, ridiculous and annoying and right away accuse that child for doing something wrong, instead of listening and fixing the problem in a rational way themselves. They are all on power trips and insulting kids bringing down their self esteem, and they make parents like me count the days for it to finally be over! Another thing is the air conditioning issue; there is no air on any other floor but the 1st, which is completely unfair, especially since heat rises, and completely unhealthy. Kids are literally getting sick and sent home. Is this better than actually doing something about getting air conditioning installed on all other floors? I don't think so! I heard this has been an on-going issue for a long time but still nothing has been done about it. Once again, ridiculous. IS72 should really make some important changes and maybe the school rating will finally go up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2012

I am a seventh grader on the first floor and in a SP class. This school is absolutely fantastic! All the teachers are so nice, and they are extremely good at what they do. They are supportive of us students, and they make our lessons fun. The principal is also great! He knows most of the children in the school by name. Yes, the school has over 1,000 children, but there is power in numbers. When there are fights, they are broken up quickly and no one ever gets hurt. We students have great subjects/topics to learn such as: Math, Science, Social Studies, English, Italian/Spanish, Health, Computers, Journalism, Band, Music History, and Law Study. We students also go on a lot of great trips. The school is organized, and there are great programs such as ARISTA (The National Junior Honors Society). The 7th and 8th grade students in the SP classes receive the chance to take their freshman year of high school science, social studies, math regents and foreign language proficiency, enabling them to not have to take these classes and tests in high school if they pass. how great is that!! All in all, fabulous school. I'm actually kind of sad that I am leaving in a year! :'(


Posted April 18, 2012

I'm a student in the 6th grade SP of the school's 3rd floor. I must say, they should change the GreatSchools rating to a million, because this school is amazing. The teachers are amazing, and although there are fights they are broken up quickly. The amount of extracurricular activity makes this school stand out. The teachers teach correctly and have excellent methods that flex with students. I just love this school because of the new challenges and adventures we have everyday!


Posted April 2, 2012

I am a student in 6th grade SP on the first floor. This school is really good even though there may be some fights it is resolved very quickly. Im sure there are fights in most other schools also. All the teachers are very nice. Also, there are so many extracurricular activities. Another thing i like about this school is if you get an overall average of 90 or above, and have good behavior you get i to Arista. In Arista you get to go on alot of trips.


Posted December 1, 2011

I'am very pleased with this school. I'am a student there and I think that this school is very helpful. Although there are fights, they always know how to end it. There are police officers roaming around the building, so you always know not to get in trouble. So far, with my grades I'am very happy. The teachers are very nice and I can tell they care for all their students. I also like how they give you rewards for the good work that you have paid off. I'am in the 2nd floor SP and 6th grade. They really encourage you to work harder all the time.


Posted May 19, 2010

These people probably force the children to submit the votes for the Maximum Ride contest...


Posted May 5, 2010

they're looking to find ways to get more programs into the school - that's a school that cares
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

i feel the school has great teaching techniques.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

IS 72 (Officer Rocco Laurie) Is a very good school - I have a 7th grader and he has so come to his own- The school makes sure that the children know what is expected of them so there are no surprises. The school is run perfectly - I couldn't be happier. Principal cares for every child and his school and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

My daughter is in 8th grade SP on the 2nd floor and my son is in the 6th grade SP on the 4th floor. I am please with their education thus far and their teachers are wonderful. Yes-the school is overcrowded and there are fights - but this is JHS and kids are at very tough ages. If children want to learn and behave... they will. There are 'animals' everywhere. I am very happy with IS 72! Great teachers and a wonderful principal!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

While I understand the IS 72 is now on the list of failing schools. I have to say that my child has been doing well. He loves going to school. He loves most of his teachers and friends. In my opinion, IS 72 is a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

Ii feel teachers should call parents when a 8th grader is failing a class last period before its to late to do anything about .Some teachers should stop sitting on thier hands and help the child who are not going to graduation because of thier 1 class . Parents should not be notified 2 weeks before graduation that their child is not going .Dont misunderstand me my is responsiable for failing be any chance kids think they are getting away with something they are going to take . I just wish the school notied me. Sincerly, a very disappointed family mr. &Mrs vargas
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2009

When I moved to Staten Island three years ago I was very concerned about the school system. My mother in law and most of my husbands family were Staten Island school teachers for many years and all had the same opinion. The schools in SI were all terrible. I was concerned about I.S 72 even after researching the school ....... My daughter attended I.S 72 for two years and graduated without a problem. My son graduates from I.S 72 soon and I look forward to my youngest child going there too. I must say this year I hear about many more fights but they are quickly diffused by school authorities but academically its a joy. My only pet peeve is that they begin at 7am and the rest of my kids are in 8am schools. Overall I give it 4 stars!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2009

The school would be a four because of all the extracurricular but their are just to many in school fights.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2008

The teachers are delightful. I would love to say thank you to Mrs. luardi, Ms. Rogers, and Mr. Friedman for being such great teachers. The environment might not be so great, but the teachers are amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2008

I want add my words of appreciation for some of the teachers at this school.Mr. Sweeney is such a wonderful teacher, He makes his class interesting and the kids love learning. My son loves this class, I get what I call 'the sweeney report' each day. My son comes home excited about something they talked about in class and tells me all about it. In 6th grade I used to get 'The Sestan Report' for the same reasons. Ms. Gleavy, Ms. Armenia, Mr. Savich are great teachers and he was lucky to have had them. The school I would say is average but some of the teachers are above average.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

388 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

395 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

408 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

413 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

439 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

445 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

305 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 39% 48%
Hispanic 1 26% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 19% 9%
Black 2 16% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 25%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 267%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 4%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 77%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 2242 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.5
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents92078%
Students122895%
Teachers9496%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. PETER MACELLARI

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Kickball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

33 Ferndale Ave
Staten Island, NY 10314
Phone: (718) 698-5757

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Rabbi Jacob Joseph School
Staten Island, NY


Jewish Foundation School
Staten Island, NY


St. Rita School
Staten Island, NY


St. Patrick''s School
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT