Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

New Dorp High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 2644 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 31, 2014

New Dorp high school is a wonderful high school, my child is getting a wonderful education, has a group of great friends, and is happy, the principle is a caring wonderful lady, who cares for all students. teachers and staff are great, would recommend this high school


Posted January 14, 2014

I'm not sure yet In the process of establishing a new IEP for my Son. I will follow-up when I see some results. As for right now they have not helped him with his issues with possible ADHD and behavorial Problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

Its the most wonderful school in the world.one of the greatest schools with great disiplant the school has. The kids are controlled I would definitely send my child here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

I would reccomend this school for everybody there academics got better I don't care what anybody says I recommend it for you others probably don't know what there saying but. I know this school very well has many clubs as much as the principal very nice and the student will listen
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

I heard this school is great so I took my kid and he loved it the principal is great and the lunchroom is always clean and have a great disiplant in the children I recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2013

I would not recommend this school to anyone. It's so difficult to get in contact with the school. If you are lucky enough to get in contact than they still don't help to inform you on anything that you may have asked about. They are also a very over populated school which causes a lot of choas and destruction within the hallways. Since the school is overpopulated they have many teachers and staff members teaching subjects that they are unfamiliar with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2013

I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS SCHOOL to anybody!!! It is so frustrating to see how things are handled inside this educational complex. My children tried out for so many sports teams and later found out that many coaches are not even familiar with the sports they are coaching!!! The only reason why these "coaches" got the position is because they are friendly with the administration. Can you believe it!!! What a nepotism, and the worse case is that NOBODY CARES to do anything! I even heard that there is a coach who never runs practices, doesn't train the team properly and leaves early. He is just there to get a paycheck. I spoke with other parents, they said they tried to reach the principal and the athletic director without any result. Clearly, the administration supports this type of behavior and work ethic inside New Dorp High School. Maybe, that's the way the run the school and that's why the school is going down the drain in the past year. My children came from catholic schools and unfortunately they landed at New Dorp. I hope next year we are able to transfer them to Tottenville HS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

I really admires the merits and the excellent job the school have for parents although am not a parent in the school but opt to my hearing from other comment from people. Keep up your hard working.


Posted January 25, 2013

I highly recommend New Dorp High School. This school is a wonderful school to be apart of. My daughter is in her fourth year attending this school and loves going to school everyday. She has taken many challenging courses as well as college course to prepare her for college and for her future. Throughout her four years she has admired and looked up to her teachers who have helped her grow and learn so much. As a parent who is very involved in this school, I have seen how New Dorp is run inside and out and I am extremely impressed with how Ms. DeAngelis runs this school with a firm hand but in a loving way her staff and students. I have never had a problem reaching out to a teacher or staff with any concern or issue I encountered. My only wish is that teachers would attend the PTA meetings and there were more parent involvement. Parent involvement in a childs schooling benefits the child and the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2012

New Dorp is a great school. This is my second child attending in the Corporate Center For Business & Technology Institute. A sophomore this year and loves it here. My oldest child graduated from ND with honors (Math and Science Institute) the staff is Super &The Principal is AWESOME!!!! We love you Ms. D, keep up the GREAT work with the Green, Gold & White!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2012

I see the kids come out of that establishment every day and cannot fathom what it must be like for the quiet children who for whatever reasons end up going there. There is clearly no discipline, teachings of respect or control period. The kids have filthy mouths and the conversations are always about "jumping" someone tomorrow. I don't understand how it is even possible to get an education in a place like that.


Posted May 21, 2011

Originally I was very nervous about sending my daughter to New Dorp. This was the only school that she wanted to attend, even though she made ever catholic school that she applied for. After careful consideration, my husband and I decided to allow her to go to the school that she wanted to go to but we told her that we would pull her out and put her in catholic school if we felt it was not up to par. She is finishing sophmore year in the Math and Science Institute and is a 90's student. The program is extremely challenging but there is guidance every step of the way. The teachers are always there to help (free 9th period tutoring and free regents prep). I feel that a public education far surpasses a private one in every way. The principal, while friendly, is extremely capable of controlling and disciplining this extremely large school. She will get down and dougie with the students one minute but insists on being respected and is definitely looked up to as the principal. I am extremely happy with ND and recommend it to everyone. I would also say don't have doubts about it-sending your child to this school will be the best decision that you will make for their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2011

I'm just got into New Dorp High School's Forensics Program, and I hear that it's an excellent program


Posted March 13, 2010

my son is in the math and science institute this is an excellent program. He has great teachers Dr, spindler is the best. I highly recommend the program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2010

The math and science institute is the best and so is Dr. spindler and Mr.. hubbs. They are very dedicated teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2009

This school is an amazing school. The teachers and the principal are very dedicated and hardworking. They are also very friendly. Before attending this school, i was very scared of the school environment and i thought that the teachers didn't know how to teach. I really thought that it's horrible school, but then when i went to this school i realized that it was a wonderful school. The teachers are very sincere, they care about our grades and they are always on contact with our parents. The school environment is also very safe, and there is security everywhere making sure that the students are where they are supposed to be. People are relying on New Dorp's old reputation that was made almost 20 years ago. New dorp really changed now, now its an amazing school that really enriches its students with the power of education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2009

Nice teachers and awesome food :D
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2009

This school is great. I came from a spanish country without speak English and in 4 months I learned how to communicate in English almost prefect. Teachers are great and very helpful.The school is safety, I never had a problem with anybody, of course there are conflicts between students but that happen in every school and every where, so if you dont want your kids to know how to face some kind of problems yo should live them at home, because this is real life. I come every day from the Bronx to Staten Island because for me this is the best school if you want to LEARN. I love this school!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2008

I'm in the Math and Science Institute, and I've taken all the AP and college level courses and I've always been content with the teachers and the course work offered to me. It's a very rigorous program.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 20, 2008

The teacher are ridiculous, some of them don't even speak English very well. The students control the classroom and not in a good way. The security and safety is just cops patrolling the halls and bars on the windows, even that doesn't prevent students from ditching school. There are fights. The food served is awful. And bullying goes unregulated. This is not a school you want your children to attend. -Former student that has thankfully moved to a better school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
49%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
49%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

485 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
38%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

884 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
88%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

632 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

873 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
65%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

879 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
62%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

57 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

792 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
70%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
68%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

169 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

679 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students41%
Female40%
Male43%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander66%
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population41%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English41%
Non-migrant41%

Chemistry

All Students59%
Female56%
Male64%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander65%
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population58%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant59%

Earth Science

All Students34%
Female25%
Male41%
African American16%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities27%
General population35%
English language learners38%
Proficient in English33%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant34%

English

All Students65%
Female69%
Male61%
African American50%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities39%
General population72%
English language learners22%
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant65%

Geometry

All Students53%
Female53%
Male52%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander78%
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities39%
General population54%
English language learners63%
Proficient in English52%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant53%

Global History and Geography

All Students65%
Female63%
Male65%
African American48%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities34%
General population72%
English language learners41%
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant65%

Integrated Algebra

All Students61%
Female64%
Male57%
African American51%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities34%
General population69%
English language learners47%
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant61%

Living Environment

All Students68%
Female69%
Male68%
African American59%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities40%
General population76%
English language learners55%
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%

Physics

All Students72%
Female62%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Non-migrant72%

U.S. History and Government

All Students69%
Female68%
Male71%
African American50%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities36%
General population76%
English language learners48%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant69%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the high school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 53% 48%
Hispanic 1 27% 23%
Black 2 12% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 7% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 6%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 255%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 12%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 62%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 1%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Medical
  • Science
  • Technology

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Performing arts
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Drama/academic focus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Medical

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
School leaders can update this information here.
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 3108 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.1
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents71530%
Students224086%
Teachers15399%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. DEIRDRE DEANGELIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Business
  • Mathematics
  • Medical
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Social justice
  • Technology
Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Busses - S57, S74, S76, S78, S79-SBS. Subways - SIR to New Dorp
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Sofbtall
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Drama/academic focus
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

465 New Dorp Ln
Staten Island, NY 10306
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 667-8686

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Msgr Farrell High School
Staten Island, NY


Staten Island Academy
Staten Island, NY


Susan E Wagner High School
Staten Island, NY


Yeshiva Mesivta Menachem
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT