Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 3 The Margaret Gioiosa School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 975 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

55 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 1, 2014

I think the rating of this school is unjust. Wonderful and caring teachers. ECC has the best principal we could have hoped for - I did not have much interaction with principal from the main building though. The amount of activities done with kids is great. Have not met a teacher I did not like here. My child is happy here. Learning well. What else can I ask for. Oh an although it is probably the same at all public schools - it really is nice that kids get a free breakfast and hot lunch is available for under $2.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2014

PS3 is not what it seems to be ! Horrible treatment of your kid is quarantined! Anyone who works there can turn around and decide to tell your child what to do and how to do so,how he dressed and if you will try to bring it to the principle attention ,well,it will be all your fault ,because ,everyone who works in ps 3 are Always right ,even if they decided to slap your child or made him feel miserable to tears ,it a all perfectly explainable to the principle of this school! I would never leave my child there ,it's just really upsetting that harm that school is already done !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

The principal at this school just wanted to pass the buck today!! My son doesn't get off at his bus stop ..I go crazy looking for him for nearly an hour and find out that he got off at the main building for latchkey.. He doesn't belong there!!!! According to staff at the annex they thought he was on the earlier bus!! What??!! So he's been missing for what is now 2 hrs. and I'm just being notified? Her answer to me was well he was never actually lost he was here the whole time.. I said well to me he was lost cause no one told me where he was.. When I received the phone call on my cell at 4:00 I was told to call the school (regarding my son) I said to myself, ok I'll call them as soon as I get him off the bus.. No son on the bus!! Her answer to me then was well no one answered the phone .. I said I called u less than a minute later for the next 20 minutes no answer!!! Don't turn this around on me that I didn't answer the phone !!! Then has the nerve to tell me well isn't this the first time this happened? I said yeah .. Well it's only once .. I said yeah once in just 2 wks!! Imagine if I let him do this til the year of the year?! This is the first and last Mrs. Wilson!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

I am sorry that some people have had a horrible experience at PS 3. I have really no complaints. My son is in the Talented and Gifted program and ALL of his teacher were wonderful!!!! My other son has had some issues with his teachers but nothing major. I am happy with the school and I don't understand if you have such issues with a school why would you let your child continue to go there? Maybe some of the problem was you?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

Just to be clear - I DID NOT LET MY CHILD STAY IN PS3, and NO THE PROBLEM WAS NOT ME AND ALL THE OTHER PARENTS WHO HAVE POSTED BAD REVIEWS HERE! Hooray for your child, Im glad he is having a good experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2013

THIS SCHOOL IS FAILING MY CHILDREN! My children have been going to P.S. 3 since kindergarten. They have had a wonderful experience until they entered 5th grade. The 5th grade math teacher should not be allowed around children. All she does is hop around the class, yelling at the children, getting in their faces and telling them they are all going to fail or they are all going to cry when they get their tests back. What kind of teacher does this? Maybe if she taught correctly the failures would not happen. Parents have complained to the principal and assistant principal and they do nothing at all. They tell us she is a good teacher, her grades on the state test are good. I don't think they will be this year. This school, their teachers and principal should get a big old F. PLEASE DON'T SEND YOUR KIDS TO THIS SCHOOL!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

THIS SCHOOL IS AWFUL ! MY child is in a 12:1:1 (special Ed). His teacher is wonderful and so is his Para . But when it comes to Mrs. Wilson And Ms. Pappa you will get a face wash. THey are not fully equipped for special Ed class nor do they care about these children who need the equipment to learn visually and by touch. THe most mind blowing issue is they are housing a child who draws pictures of children/teacher shot by him in blood. I feel this school should get an F. DO not send your child to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2011

It is not only about a learning process. It's about relationships and environment in the school. The main principle of P.S. 3 is "See Something Say Something". The staff including teachers is awful! They teach kids to tell tales about each other; they are totally out of responsibility for kids and all what they do - just complain about each "wrong" step a child did. To show how they care are they blow a tiny and really unimportant thing to "the elephant size" problem. But they are absolutely silent and idleness when the situation demands their attention. In addition to this, some parents from this school follow suit and just spy on other kids from the class during common events, and then spread slander to the class teacher to point to how their own children are great, and how other children are bad. Is it s a normal practice in all TOP public schools? If YES, I wish my child goes back to his private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2011

Really love this school. Both my children have had problems with some more agressive children and the teachers and administration handled the bullying promptly and effectively! I just wish that the academic expectations were made a bit clearer to parents. Otherwise , it really is a great place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2011

P.S.3 used to be the place to be! Sadly, this seems to be no longer true! My sisters children are now attending and she is not happy. The new admististration seems to be unapproachable, and they seem not to have that same lovely, caring attitude that I felt just a few short years age. However, she has stated that the teachers are very nice, but there seems to be a discontect. What is going on?


Posted February 26, 2011

I'm sad to report that this is a school of promises broken. There are a lot of great ideas but no motivation to improve. The Gifted and Talented Program in particular leaves way too much to be desired. It is basically non-existent. The PTA meetings are complaint sessions where the Principal is berated for an hour. The school trips are anything but educational - the movies? C'mon! The children have never been taken to the exquisite cultural center on Staten Island, or to the many many historical sites on The Island. There are virtually no books in the library, and the music program was discontinued. There are two courtyards in the school, a perfect place to plant a garden, both are unused. Lots of potential here, nothing but disappointment. If you have a choice send your child elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2010

I have taught for a long time and worked with other administrations and staff members. This administration and staff are professional; which is not always the case. They deeply care about the children and go above and beyond for them. The other day a first grader came to school with 12-18 month old clothes because his parents couldn't afford clothes and the PTA, other parents, and staff brought in clothes for this child. I am blessed to be a part of this school. The parents and children are amazing adults and children. What a great school!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 12, 2010

I have never met a more devoted Principal in all my life. Mrs. Wilson addresses each individual students needs. Parent coordinator is wonderful. Teachers are very concious about there job, but few can be very disrespectful towards the students; students should be addressed in a more appropiate manner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2010

Why do you love P.S. 3 Margaret Gioiosa?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

P.S. 3 has a great parent teacher relationship. We are a small school with great spirit and teachers who really care about their students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 30, 2010

they do a great job and the children really excell
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

I love P.S.3 because the staff members are so dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

I love P.S. 3 because the teachers are so dedicated!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

The place to be: to learn, to share, to create, to motivate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

99% of the teachers are excellent! The Principal & AVP's are very "hands on". They outreach to the Parents. Website is kept up to date and very informative. School calendar of monthly events is very current. They care for the kids, they outreach, educate and provide opportunity & growth. They also teach the kids the importance of community, helping the community and being part of the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students44%
Female47%
Male40%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander75%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities19%
General population49%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant44%

Math

All Students53%
Female48%
Male59%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander92%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities29%
General population58%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students48%
Female51%
Male44%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities16%
General population55%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant48%

Math

All Students62%
Female63%
Male62%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities14%
General population73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%

Science

All Students94%
Female95%
Male93%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities66%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students49%
Female47%
Male52%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities11%
General population54%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant49%

Math

All Students50%
Female45%
Male55%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities16%
General population54%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 85% 48%
Hispanic 2 9% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 6% 9%
Black 1 1% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 12%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 132%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 5%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 69%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 738 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents67589%
Teachers63100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

80 S Goff Ave
Staten Island, NY 10309
Phone: (718) 984-1021

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ss Joseph & Thomas School
Staten Island, NY



Gateway Academy
Staten Island, NY




Our Lady Star of the Sea
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT