Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
47 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 82 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 3 The Margaret Gioiosa School 3

Posted July 18, 2016
- a parent
The issue I have with this school is that my son did not get the help or attention he needed. I asked in January to have my son see a counselor because he was having issues in school. I was told they were very busy. He graduated without ever talking to a soul. Also, if your child is not popular do not expect to see them in any video, picture, etc. They asked parents to send in pictures, but I work. I was not allowed to go to the dance because I am not PTA, so how was I suppose to get pictures? I am glad that my time there is done. I have to say, I had a great experience when my older son went to the school, sad I can't say that is how we left.

Ps 3 The Margaret Gioiosa School 5

Posted June 16, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are very involved with their students and show genuine concern. The staff and principal are great as well.


Ps 3 The Margaret Gioiosa School 5

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
The staff is outstanding they go above and beyond and the new principal is great!

Ps 3 The Margaret Gioiosa School 1

Posted January 14, 2016
- a parent
The communication between teacher and parent is really disappointing. You cant speak to your child's teacher directly , you have to go through a horrible web site called Pupil Path. Maybe they get back you, maybe they don't, but always via the website. Very disorganized, no one ever seems to know whats going on, and you can never get anyone on the phone, it's very frustrating to say the least.

Ps 3 The Margaret Gioiosa School 1

Posted March 25, 2015
- a parent
I am highly disappointed by the school . We moved this year to the south thinking that it is one of the best schools , but I am shocked with the poor quality of that school . I have to say that I am lucky with two good teachers , Mrs. Insalaco and Mrs. DelFino. If it wasn't for them , I would have homeschooled my children . The school principal and administration are in their own bubbles. They NEVER return any messages ;Except for Ms. A , assistant principals at the ECC . The school doesn't have any programs or clubs or any sort of activities that would enrich students learning experience. My older child is going to middle school soon , but I would try to move my first grader from that school . If you are a parent who is looking for a strong overall learning experience for your child , try to avoid that school .


Ps 3 The Margaret Gioiosa School 4

Posted February 06, 2015
- a parent
I went to this school and now my kids attend it and it has great potential to be as wonderful as it used to be. Principal Wilson is a wretch of a woman but her staff and PTA are fantastic. Especially the aides at their Annex. Such loving caring women who genuinely care about the kids.

Ps 3 The Margaret Gioiosa School 1

Posted February 06, 2015
- a parent
Mrs.Wilson (principal) by far lacks leadership and a big sense of urgency. When issues have been surfaced and you can finally get in contact with her, she seems to be interested but constantly denies that the issue can be happening or states that the issues is being magnified by the students. She is constantly defending the issues and changing her story. She is always get caught up with her lies. She should have been a politician. Then she will single out your child and make it a point to pass remarks to your child so any issue that has been addressed and she an justify that the parent might be incorrect at a point in time, she will tell the student go back and tell your parent... (Example: student were consistently been punished for taking during lunch and having to sit quietly in the auditorium afterwards. So if they didn't have to sit quietly she would tell that student to tell their parent when they got home that they didn't get punished today). it appears that her staff doesn't agree with a lot of her actions but live in fear.

Ps 3 The Margaret Gioiosa School 3

Posted January 11, 2015
- a parent
This school has such great potential. The teachers are very caring, but are scared of the principal. The principal is unapproachable and always right, even if she is wrong. Her vice principal will tell you what you want to hear then tell the next parent what they want to hear. The principal has a closed door policy. When at the annex, kids had fun learning, now that we are at the main, it is miserable. What is the point of a great education if the leaders don't follow suit?


Ps 3 The Margaret Gioiosa School 5

Posted September 28, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has attended PS3 since kindergarten, she is now in the 3rd grade. I am very happy with her academic performance. My experience was great with the Principal she gave me personal time and was very aware of my child's situation. My daughter loved all of her teachers, including her Para's. The staff has always understood and been very helpful in accommodating my daughter's severe medical condition. No complaints.

Ps 3 The Margaret Gioiosa School 2

Posted September 16, 2014
- a parent
PS 3 is NOT the place to be. The teachers are wonderful and are the only saving grace about this school. The administration is horrible. They never return calls. You have to ambush them by surprise in person during the school day to get any kind of answers. They never have PTA meetings at night so working parents can't attend. When you do bring up an issue at a PTA meeting Ms. Wilson shuts you down and says she'll talk to you in private but disappears. On the surface it seems like a good school with good programs. However it is overcrowded and you feel like you constantly have to fight to get basic things for your child. If Ms. Wilson and Ms. Papa were no longer there the place would be great. Until then the school is going down the tubes.

Nearby schools

Ps 3 The Margaret Gioiosa School
80 South Goff Avenue, Staten Island, NY  10309
(718) 984-1021
Last modified Ps 3 The Margaret Gioiosa School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top