Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Is 51 Edwin Markham

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 900 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

I love the staff at IS 51. Everyone including school safety, parent coordinator, School Assessment Team, principal, deans, teachers, paras, and PTA is always available, and willing to do their part in helping the students and school succeed. My son is very excited about the work he does in digital art. They have great academies that hold student interests and expectations of attendance and academics is a top priority. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2013

so glad to see this school was brought up to a "B" on the nyc progress reports..I've never seen a more dedicated principal and staff, offering a multitude of programs for these children! I'm so glad I decided to send my child here..she loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Mr.Mele is involved in basically every aspect of the school. He is passionate about preparing the children for high school as evidenced by the change in academies and the addition of enrichment classes. The teachers are motivating and knowledgeable. My husband and I are confident that we have chosen the right middle school for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2013

love school time ever school is amzing such as all the teacher like 6 grade art teacher and science teacher erin olsen


Posted September 2, 2013

I am willing to send my children to this zoned school. I heard and saw Mr Mele ( very approachable and motivated to have a great school) and admin deals well keeping the school safe. The admin is direct unlike typical admins from other schools. He brought in excellent academies, enrichment and programs. Due to this I am willing to send my honors children here. I hope with the new zoning the kids who are not zoned for this school that live in the projects or that side of the harbor and port Richmond should not get in this school. The students who like to come in late and make trouble home addresses should be verified and turned away have police check the residency if they are trying to get into a school they dont belong in, make this school more academic and more safe. Can have admin teachthe D students who misbehave in a inhouse classroom or recommend online academics for the students who only want to raise hell and not study. I hope if they deserve to be suspended and break regulations they are and thrown out not kept around thats key There are more good studentsand family who go here to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

I am updating another comment on this shool. My son is safe in this school. The park is excellent too. It is safe alng with the school it self. Some people beg to differ. They say "what about the mexicans? What could happen to our children?" Mr. Mele is handeling it. And, there after schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2013

This school is certainly is a tough one to bare, the students are mostly made up of no more than lowlife D average students who always focus on their "swag" rather than academics, they can often be distracting and trouble making. Teachers affect the school too, but in mostly good ways, after the evil DOE giving out the newly introduced Common Core State tests, they started to really work hard to get me into highschool, (I'm currently an 8th grader)the only problem with the teachers is that other students can often give a bad impression and the teachers might treat you like those bad impressions, but with hard work, and attention, you can accomplish pre-graduation. The way they teach, however, should be more.....strict..... they barely give us homework, which can affect our memories and practice skills, I got about 1 or 2 homeworks a day, or no homework assignments at all. They don't try hard enough when not in the vicinity of the "big test", mostly because of the often dissapointing students reflecting an impression (keep in mind even with many test fails, missing work, absense, etc. they still managed to pass, what?!). The Schedules need work, as well, but I don't have space left.


Posted February 7, 2013

I have worked at this school for 12 years. Mr. Mele has truly turned this school around. I hope anyone who is zoned for this school will come to one of the many walk throughs to see all the changes. We are all working very hard to ensure that every child (general ed, special ed, ICT, SETSS, etc.) receives the best educational experience!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 9, 2012

I am a student at I.S.51 and the new principal is really making a difference. I've been here for three years and the first year was not good. The principal was not involved at all. When she was going to retire it didn't make a difference. The new principal is very involved and their are just about no fights anymore. I do recommend this school.


Posted June 19, 2012

This is a fantastic school that has definitely turned itself around in the past year or so since the new principle started. The school is very diverse and is one of the few schools that clearly supports the arts. There are so many things that my son is learning and I am very happy to send my son here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2011

great school with great teachers and great disiple .i could not ask for a better school to let my children go to .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

I just transferred my daughter out of this school. Fighting, bullying, and threats seems to be the focus of the day. Staff does little or nothing to control this. I feel bad for the kids who are there to learn. High grades are given out with no effort at all. Just remember, the state tests prove what they have learned. Don;t make the same mistake I did. This school is more like a Zoo.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2010

One of the most horrible schools on staten island. Principal has her head in the clouds and no clue teachers lie and to get in touch with someone nearly impossible and there is consatnt fighting of the children not control in this school at all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

Well, let me be the first to vote!!!! IS 51 has a diverse population with strong leadership. The PTA leaders are extremely willing to help in anyway possible, for the benefit of the school and it's students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

this is a school that has a lot of bullies so please do not put your child in this school please!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

this is the worst school ever I'm in my 3rd year at 51 and every year got worse and worse bullying is a huge problem unless your friends with popular kids the teachers don't do anything when the class is acting up they just keep going on and on on how their going to fail the kids bu some of the worst kids in my class are passing with 90's and they don't do anything but text on their phones and talk
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2010

The staff and administration try so hard to reach each child and give them not just what they need educationally but emotionally and psychologically as well. Many children at this school carry a lot of emotional baggage but at this school they can feel safe & cared for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2010

This is such a horrible school. The teachers could care less about what goes on. I'm in my second year in this school and it's getting worse. I'm honestly glad my parents agreed on transferring me to a better school. If you have a choice between two schools, I strongly suggest you pick the other school. There is only a handful of good teachers here. I don't even think the principal is qualified, to be honest. In my opinion she does a terrible job of managing the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2010

too much fights and less education
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2009

the school is great every teacher is nice and they try to give you the highest grade that you earned and bullying is not a big problem just be nice and dont pick on people
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

284 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

322 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

315 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students17%
Female18%
Male15%
African American4%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic11%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White41%
Economically disadvantaged9%
Not economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities1%
General population22%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English18%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant17%

Math

All Students12%
Female12%
Male12%
African American3%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic7%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White25%
Economically disadvantaged8%
Not economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities2%
General population16%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English13%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant12%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students22%
Female28%
Male17%
African American16%
Asian/Pacific Islander39%
Hispanic18%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White30%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities0%
General population28%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English24%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant22%

Math

All Students11%
Female9%
Male14%
African American8%
Asian/Pacific Islander24%
Hispanic5%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White21%
Economically disadvantaged7%
Not economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities0%
General population15%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English12%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant11%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students23%
Female26%
Male20%
African American14%
Asian/Pacific Islander41%
Hispanic17%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White37%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities0%
General population29%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English25%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant23%

Math

All Students10%
Female12%
Male9%
African American3%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic6%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White17%
Economically disadvantaged8%
Not economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities0%
General population13%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English11%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant10%

Science

All Students62%
Female60%
Male64%
African American50%
Asian/Pacific Islander78%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities25%
General population72%
English language learners22%
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 44% 23%
White 1 24% 48%
Black 1 23% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 8% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 27%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 278%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 75%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1318 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.5
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents32537%
Students93095%
Teachers6388%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. NICHOLAS MELE

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20 Houston St
Staten Island, NY 10302
Phone: (718) 981-0502

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Adalbert School
Staten Island, NY


Jewish Foundation School
Staten Island, NY


Rabbi Jacob Joseph School
Staten Island, NY




Blessed Sacrament School
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT