Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Is 51 Edwin Markham

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 900 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 26, 2009

the school is great every teacher is nice and they try to give you the highest grade that you earned and bullying is not a big problem just be nice and dont pick on people
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 7, 2009

Its a great school with good math techers and it may need a lil hellp with bullying
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2009

this scholl is relly fun they care about u and u make friends very eaisly ALL the teachers do their job great and they are very nice !!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 24, 2008

I am a honor student and I love I.S.51. A few years ago it wasnt the greatest place to be. It has gone through alot of changes since then. Alot of the teachers are relatable and easy to talk to. The school doesnt have a great reputation though, (for reasons i do not understand). The school is divided into 3 acadamys and i can honestly say i know almost everyone in my acadamy. I.S.51 is an amazing school and i wouldnt go anywhere eles if i had the choice
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2008

Worse of the worse. My child went there. Terrible leadership, terrible teachers(just a few good ones). Principal has to go along with some asst principals. Always the parents that care get called, never the parents that dont care. If your child is a good kid, child will always be in trouble and parents called. If ur child is bad or disrespectful, parent will not be called
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

This is the best school ever. The teachers are very caring. My gym teacher is great!she always helps us and we play fun games. We are very active in gym. Just what I love. Everyone participates because everyone loves mrs. Morales.She truly cares about her students and treats them like her own kids!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2008

If kids like to lern and like to suceed their future they have lot of chance to suceed it. 6th & 7th grade teachers are very good. Only thing, after I finish 8th grade and entered to high school, other schools [had] finish[ed] math regents and enviornment science regents. Other than that, one of the great school. I think we can fix that problem too in the future. Parents also need to work with children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2007

This school is one of the worst schools, my child has ever been to. This is her third month in school, and she has never even seen her principal. Teachers could careless(there is a cuple of good teachers) and students have mouths like saliors. Don't make the same mistake I did, do not put your child in this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2007

This school is great. All the teachers are really nice, and the security is getting better because they installed cameras in the hallways. The digital arts class is the best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2007

This school is amazing.I am a student in the 7th grade and all of my teachers are amazing. They really relate to kids and understand. The extracuriculars aren't great. The school holds 2 concerts every year with the music program and they offer 4 different kinds of art classes. Going here school is always different and more exciting each day.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 10, 2007

It's a great fun learning school
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 8, 2007

This school is an above average school, based on its population. I'm a parent of two children currently attending the school For the most part, the teachers are phenomenal! They are up to date with the standards and incorporating the reading that is so essential in today's test taking skills. Unfortunately, it is a jr. high. As my girls tell me often, the hallways are crowded, but there are often security guards & teachers on hand to keep the crowds moving. So far, I haven't heard of any fights, but there are many kids looking for attention, and I'm sure that there are fights. My girls are involved in many of the charities that the school holds: March of Dimes, Project Homefront, Food Drives, Penny Harvests, Chorus Trips, various educational trips, etc. I am glad that I ignored the negative reports and chose to take the advice of other parents!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

i think this school has a great education for all students. it has an excellent principal and awesome teachers. There are plenty of classes that are not over crowded. there are no fights that can be caused because of security gaurds. its never crowded in the hallway. i love this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 20, 2007

I had 2 children in this school one in 2000 and one 2006.since the new principal came to the school, the school went from one of the better HS to a charter one school. the security was ok.the one great thing the assistant principals were great and fair
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

No matter what they have said in the past this school is a great school. They are getting involved in a lot of charity work everyday. everyday my child brings home a charity flyer( March of Dimes, Coat Drive, Hurrican Katrina Fund, and much much more. The only flaw they have is that they don't offer that much of extra activites after school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2007

The first priority should be the security and safety of the children, It will bring inspiration and courage to study and perform good it they feel safe and comfortable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2006

Safety in this school is horrible. Principle has to get tougher on both teachers and students. Test scores seem to have dropped dramatically in the past 4 years. If ur child has to go to this school, parents get a second and/or a third job and send ur child to private
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

421 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

425 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

383 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

386 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

302 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
33%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

244 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
3%

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

315 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 44% 23%
White 2 24% 48%
Black 1 23% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 8% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 278%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 75%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1318 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.5
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents32537%
Students93095%
Teachers6388%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. NICHOLAS MELE

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20 Houston St
Staten Island, NY 10302
Phone: (718) 981-0502

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Adalbert School
Staten Island, NY


Jewish Foundation School
Staten Island, NY


Rabbi Jacob Joseph School
Staten Island, NY




Blessed Sacrament School
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT