Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

P.S. 8 Shirlee Solomon

Public | PK-5 | 420 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

37 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 25, 2008

I am not happy with PS8 at all. I have yet to come by a great teacher. Most of the teachers are screamers. The school is small and the state tests should be ski high, but they are not. I don't feel welcomed at this school. The principal is not a big fan of parents. St. Clares or PS 32 is a much better choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

As an update for anyone who may be reading this, PS8 has recently (maybe about 2 months ago) implemented extra classes for 3rd, 4th, and 5th grade students. These classes include a Reading First Program, A Culinary Class, Robotics (5th grade only) and some others. I unfortunately don't have the list here to name them all. They incorporate essential skills into these fun classes for the kids, and I haven't heard a kid say they didn't like it yet! I believe the classes are all held on Tuesday's from 3:15pm - 4:30pm. It was nice to see my children's excitement in wanting to participate in these classes. Maybe next year they'll be able to offer classes for first and second grades as well. ( Please, do correct me if I am wrong! - I don't think it is currently available for the first & second grade.)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

As far as the after school program that a parent previously posted about, it is run by the UAU and is targeted for working parents. The cost is $125.00 per month for each child whether they attend one day or the entire month. The program, although run VERY efficently by our AP, is a far cry from what the school itself should offer our children. Other than paying for the UAU for homework help, and some play time after homework is completed, what is it that P.S. 8 offers our children after hours?? The boy and girl scout troupes are limited to previously enrolled children. Any and all other students wanting to get involved thereafter is based on the slight chance that a spot is open. School is also about forming a family community for our youngsters. Sorry, but, P.S. 8 most certainly lacks in these areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2007

Education is the most important part of any school. Our teachers are the best, our principal is there to lead and guide the teachers and staff, and that is what she is doing. As for being friendly, have you ever said hello? If you have, you will notice that she will say hello and ask how your'e doing. As for the extra curricular activities..there is an afterschool program that helps those parents who are at work. These children are guided through doing their homework, and then have plenty of activities. The school often offers programs after school when they get the funding. The days when schools are given money to have sports programs are far gone. As for the girl scouts and boy scouts we are lucky that we are able to have these programs (girl scouts) in our building. The more volunteers they get will allow extra registrations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2007

I think PS 8 is a wonderful school. I have 2 children in the school and I couldn't be happier. As far as the PTA -it is very welcoming and has both day and night time meetings. The attendance at both meetings is extremely poor which is due to the lack of their involvement and not the lack of the PTA trying!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

I think this school is excellent. They first recognized my child had a learning disability in the very beginning and gave her all the help she needed without me having to pay for outside help. They were very caring and understanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

Both of my boys are doing very well in PS8. The Principal, AP, teachers, and all other staff including security are great with the kids, and only have every students best interest in mind. They address any issues and concerns immediately. Granted, they don't have much to offer with extracurricular activities, but consider the after school program... they have alot to offer our children there, and the kids love it! - My one and only gripe is the PTA meetings, they should consider working parents, and hold all of the meetings in the evening, then maybe more parents would be involved. Speaking for myself, I find the PTA is not very welcoming to parents who are not as involved / available as they are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

Unfortunately, I must agree to the general consent of this school. Yes, it is a very small school, but the administration does limit parent involvement. I think the Principle does really care about the school and the children but is determined to run the school in her own way without input from the parents. However class sizes seem to be kept small.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2007

I can not disagree more with some of these statements. Great school- everyone there is willing to help. The teacher's have been phenomenal!The problem is that the parents don't want to get involved. Attendance at a PTA meeting is horrible! The principal has every student's best interest at heart and is willing to talk to you and help your child in any way that she can. I have had children in this school for many years now and have been satisfied with it from day one. They have a wonderful art teacher, and band is available for the 4th and 5th grade students. They have book fairs and cake sales. The children's art work is displayed everywhere- this school is all about the children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2007

It is a shame that a great school like PS8 is being destroyed by horrible administration. The principal has no focus or mission. The teachers have no direction. As a result the children are suffereing. Maybe when she is out the school will regain the great reputation that it lost!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2006

Parents ought to think twice before sending their child to this school. The administration is a nightmare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2006

This school is very small, the staffing i think is really horrible.The only thing that really caught my attention was one teacher the was down to earth. My son use to attend this school but by the way i was treated, i transfered him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2006

I agree with this last parents entry. PS 8 is a very small school with great potential. Poor leadership and a lack of compassionate teachers has created a negative environment. Parent involvement is frowned upon and educational feedback is lacking. It's amazing how different each public school can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

This is a horrible school. It is a small school and should be a great school, but unfortunatley it is not. The teachers do nothing but scream and yell all day.There is not one loving or nurturing teacher in this school. I had 3 kids here and not one possitive memory. They do not like parent involvement, for example the parents are usually not welcome to book fairs and cake sales. They have more fundraisers then the red cross and you never see any improvements with all of the money they make off of these. Do your research on this school before sending your child. The kids are very nice and well behaved and the parents are great, but the overall quality and running of the school is poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2006

P.S. 8 is a good neighborhood school. My daughter and son have received good educations there. My son is still in the school. The school has received a bunch of negative publicity in the past few months, but it hasn't affected the education that my children have received. The teachers are excellent and they are dedicated. The afterschool latchkey program has been great, but it is in jeopardy of disappearing. It is essential that a program like this be continued for the working parents to allow them the extra help they need for their children. It is relied on by parents. I really wish the doors to the school would open at 8:00 am like in most other schools for breakfast because this would alleviate some headaches for the morning & the children wouldn't have to swallow down their breakfast so fast.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2005

Shirlee Solomon is overall a good school. The school is on the right path for academic progress. Most of the teachers have a love of teaching although few are from the old school that believe in the practice of yelling and intimidation for discipline including the principal. Certain rules made are left to the discretion of the class teacher which I disagreed with. I believe class rules should be agreed upon and enforced throughout the school and not left to the individual teachers due to the fact that some will abuse the privilage. Overall on a scale of 1-10 I rate Shirlee Solomon an 8.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2005

I was extremely please with the staffing at this school. They are dedicated from the Ice cream lady to the Principal. They truly are holding the childrens best interest at heart and have provided my son the preparation he will need for middle school. Thanks PS 8 and all it's staff. Great PTA with awesome parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2011.

85 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 48%
Hispanic 13% 23%
Asian 3% 9%
Black 3% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 2%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 79%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 444 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
9.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.3
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
9.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents413100%
Teachers3197%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LISA ESPOSITO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

112 Lindenwood Rd
Staten Island, NY 10308
Phone: (718) 356-2800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Clare School
Staten Island, NY


P.S. 32 the Gifford School
Staten Island, NY


Oakdale Academy
Staten Island, NY


P.S. 53 Bay Terrace
Staten Island, NY


Eltingville Lutheran School
Staten Island, NY


P.S. 55 Henry M Boehm
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT