Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 37 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


48 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon 1

Posted October 31, 2014
- a parent
Teachers can be rude and administration is no help. Students are made to feel helpless non motivated by teachers. Many discipline problems that affect good students negatively. Very disappointed in the school and staff not what my family and I expected.

Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon 4

Posted October 30, 2014
- a community member
P.S. 8 Is a great school my son loves the school. Principal and staff do an outstanding job ! Environment is warm and colorful . Continue with great work!


Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon 2

Posted July 29, 2014
- a parent
PS 8 is great school for learning but horrible environment, which also has an impact on our children. Principal and staff can be nasty at times. Kids rude and undisciplined. There are even moms who argue and threaten to physically fight each other at school events and on facebook. We're transferring back to our old school!

Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon 1

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
Improve the school by saying good bye to principal and parent coordinator!!!!! They are no help!!!!

Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
best school ever for your kids my 2 daughters will be going here and they will be learning tremendiously.


Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
PS* has a great school with great teachers and an outstanding principal that should be rewarded.

Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon 4

Posted August 07, 2011
- a community member
In my 30+ years, I taught in many schools throughout Brooklyn before arriving at PS 8. I feel confident to say to parents looking for a caring school that PS 8 will provide their children with the educational, social and emotional needs they will rely on as they expand their education. The principal and her administration create a warm atmosphere where the children feel happy and secure which clears the path for successful learning skills. As a recently retired alumni, I am proud to have my youngest grandson attend PS 8 in September. The priceless friendships they forge in these six years are memorable.

Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon 0
no rating

Posted October 28, 2010
- a parent
My children have attended PS 8 for years and I have no complaints at all. They truely care about the children and I am very happy that my children have such a wonderful school to go to.


Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon 0
no rating

Posted October 25, 2010
- a teacher
The school has excellent faculty who work together with the community and parents, which makes the school run smoothly & the children receive an excellent education!

Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon 0
no rating

Posted October 22, 2010
- a community member
P.S. 8 is a wonderful school with a very dedicated staff. The teachers teach and the children learn. Having worked there for many years I witnessed children coming back to see a favorite teacher to show him/her how well they have done or to volunteer to help in the classroom. Children leave PS 8 with a solid educational background and fond memories.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon
112 Lindenwood Rd, Staten Island, NY  10308
(718) 356-2800
Last modified Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. Top