Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 58 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 01, 2015
- a parent
Too much favoritism and the staff covers each others mistakes. The administrators say one thing and do anothet and lie to parents. If you are not part of the PTA click your situation is helpless

Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon 1

Posted November 01, 2015
- a parent
Parents and school administrators are complete snobs and cover up all the mistakes the school makes. Not the school for you if you want your child to get a proper education. Typical clicky environment filled with bored housewives and a large gossip pool. Sending my child to St. Clares.


Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon 1

Posted October 31, 2014
- a parent
Teachers can be rude and administration is no help. Students are made to feel helpless non motivated by teachers. Many discipline problems that affect good students negatively. Very disappointed in the school and staff not what my family and I expected.

Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon 4

Posted October 30, 2014
- a community member
P.S. 8 Is a great school my son loves the school. Principal and staff do an outstanding job ! Environment is warm and colorful . Continue with great work!

Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon 5

Posted August 30, 2014
- a parent
The school is amazing. I do not approve of the new time changes. I hope this is changed.


Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon 2

Posted July 29, 2014
- a parent
PS 8 is great school for learning but horrible environment, which also has an impact on our children. Principal and staff can be nasty at times. Kids rude and undisciplined. There are even moms who argue and threaten to physically fight each other at school events and on facebook. We're transferring back to our old school!

Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon 1

Posted May 20, 2014
- a parent
Improve the school by saying good bye to principal and parent coordinator!!!!! They are no help!!!!

Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
best school ever for your kids my 2 daughters will be going here and they will be learning tremendiously.


Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
loveeee this school, I am very happy with this school!!!. I am so happy my daugther is excited to go to schooyl every day!!. I can easily say how comfortable I am so is my daugther, and I can recomend it to anyone,is has been a great experience and I am sending my son as well in september, I am excited for him, I feel safe its so close to my house I can walk there if I had like too.

Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
PS* has a great school with great teachers and an outstanding principal that should be rewarded.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon
112 Lindenwood Road, Staten Island, NY  10308
(718) 356-2800
Last modified Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 8 Shirlee Solomon Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 58 reviews. Top