Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 11 Thomas Dongan School

Public | PK-5 | 301 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

Little school with big hearts.... my experience has been a good one. My daugther has been blessed every year with great dedicated teachers.. They have worked with me as far as giving her the right resource she needed to excel in her education..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

I am very disappointed by the school. They don't care about parents and never include parents to their children educational path. The school psychology team is good but the school teachers and principal don't get involved with parents who want to be there for their children and the school process. I am very sad by the way teachers talk about students and give negative feedback about students in front of them instead of trying to do a better job to change thing to positive. The students is the one who should learn from the adult teacher by giving example instead of giving negative feedback in front of students . The other negative of this school is teacher who should be doing better work or if you don't want to work with students then give other teacher that cares the chance to make the difference in students life and really let them lead the way to educate. They need to value and keep close with parents who care and they just don't do it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2012

I attempted to contact this school several times this year. However, they do NOT return phone calls. Every time when i call them and leave a message with thier secretary to call me back, she tells me that they have a lunch break (Does not even matter if it is in the morning or in the afternoon). I guess the PRINCIPAL eats there all day long. I guess that is why the taxpayers pay her the salary. That explains why this school has one of the worst grades of all public schools in Staten Island. This principal should be removed and should never be allowed to have a similar job.


Posted October 24, 2012

I agree with the last comment which was posted today. I have experienced the same problem when last year i've tried to enroll my kid into this school. My impression was that the principal did not care at all; was not helpful. I was forced to enroll my child into the private school because i could not trust this public school. I am sorry to hear that other people have had the same experience with the principal, but frankly i am not suprised. What really suprised me is that this person is still in that school.


Posted April 3, 2012

The teachers try their best under the circumstances, if they are even allowed to think for themselves. But the school should be focused more on the students rather than being a spot light for the principal. For the most part, it seems that the staff or perhaps the administration scheduling activities have no clue that most parents do not have the same schedule as the school and unable to attend events scheduled during the work day. They should be more understanding and realistic when it comes to their expectations of the parents. And the ones with children should advise the principal of the difference of being a teacher and actually being a parent responsible for the everyday life of these kids, since she seems totally oblivious to family life. Besides that, the school is in a great area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

Both my children attended PS.11 and we were all happy with the school. Teacher's and staff were very nice and cared very much about the kids. The parent coordinator always went out of her way to help as much as she could. This school is a great school it's like family :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

They is great care for it's students and a great faculty
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2010

2009 graduate *** My daugther love PS11. She did nt want to leave. This school prepare my daughter for middle school and give her the tools to accomplish her role. I give my thanks to all the teacher's that guided my daughter throughout her school year. Parent MJ.********
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

I am a parent and this is my daughter's fourth year in this school. I have no complaints. Her current teacher is Mrs. Williams and I think she is doing a great job with the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

My son is a first grader in P.S. 11. This is his third year in the school. I coulnd not be happier with his progress. All the teachers and staff are very competent. They are friendly and nurturing and create a wonderful learning environment. Personally, my son is doing great, and anything that he has needed help with, he was provided with at school. Sincerely, Christine Duffy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2007

My kids love their school...and I must admit when I first moved here from Brooklyn, 6 yrs ago...I was a bit skeptikal about the test scores..but it is a small school, and my children have had wonderful years..the teachers are all very caring, and the kids are good kids! The principal does indeed know each child by name, and she is always outside before & after school..not hiding in her office the way other principals would. She has also always handled any problem very appropriately from what I have seen! It has been a pleasure sending my kids to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

PS has always been a wonderful place to send your children my children have been their for 4 years now and I have to agree thinks has changed drastically. the children have minimal extra curricular activities and parent support is to an all time low. Since the retirement of the old principal our school is full of last minute notices and broken promises.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2007

I am concerned about the declining test scores. I think the Principal needs to realize that satisfactory is not sufficient and maybe consider what worked before she was appointed. The teachers have basically stayed the same and have always done what was best for our children. What has changed to create such a decrease in our children's reading levels?
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 31, 2007

My fourth grader has had problems with being bullied and nothing has been done to resolve it. With all the problems with obesity I would think our school would have a good physical education program. But sadly it does not. PS 11 is a small school the whole school should have the advantaged of participating in cluster classes like cooking ,dance, drama and scrap booking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

As we end our 9 year relationship, after sending 2 children with finally my second child is graduating 5th grade,PS11 has always been helpful and in the worst of times supportive of my kids and family. The 4 principals that PS11 had due to retirement etc were on the most part professional and supportive. PS11 is a small school that strives to bring anything that will be good for the kids and the staff like computers, the art department, Music with a forth and fifth grade band and performing arts to the curriculum. When there was problems mostly it was handled immediately by the staff. They can benefit with improving there special education department. There seems to be a lack of knowledge of update information for the parent support team and proper IEP procedures etc. Overall PS11 is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2007

I must admit I was a bit skeptical about this school however my son was transfered there and it is great. A small school with big benefits. I would highly recommend it to any parent. Also, to agree with the last comment it is wonderful that the principal does know each child individually by name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

P.S. 11 is a great school in a great neighborhood. The principal knows every child by name and greets each one everyday. Also waiting to greet every parent and child is the parent teacher coordinator. If they do not see a smile they ask why. I just appreciate that so much. The extra curricular activities are impressive especially given the extremely limited budget that the Board of Ed supplies. All activities are very family oriented.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

43 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

44 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

30 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
27%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
28%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
40%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 42% 48%
Hispanic 1 36% 23%
Black 1 17% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 5% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 276%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 77%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 151 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents13156%
Teachers2091%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ERICA MATTERA

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

50 Jefferson St
Staten Island, NY 10304
Phone: (718) 979-1030

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Ann School
Staten Island, NY


Staten Island Academy
Staten Island, NY


Ps 52 John C Thompson
Staten Island, NY


Academy of St. Dorothy
Staten Island, NY


St. Christopher School
Staten Island, NY


Ps 48 William C Wilcox
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT