Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 13 M L Lindenmeyer

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 794 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2013

is the best school both my children are so hapy the pre-k teachers are amazing very nicely with children.god bless this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2013

My son loves his school, He has a caring and professional teacher , He was attending a catholic school and in PS 13 for the first time he has been coming home excited about what he is learning, his reading has improved so much and he loves math , the staff is great and the principal is very dedicated to the kids progress and well being ,I wish this school had more financial support to take it to the next level, this is the kind of schools that should be supported to make the education in NYC better ,I am very happy I made the change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2013

what an amazing school that was.it was awesome incredible and fabulous. I will always remember that school


Posted September 7, 2012

This will be my daughters second year attending this school and not by choice. My daughter is in the first grade, unfortunately she wanted to stay in this school for her friends.Her kindergarten year she went through 3 teacher.. one who retired a month after the school year started and one out on medical leave and the teacher who took over the class. i feel for kindergarten students this is not acceptable. Secondly i believe this school is very unorganized with everything that occurs in this school, whether its the first to the last day. Everything is in shambles. Even now starting the first grade and going back to this school for the second year in a row... it is still very unorganized. The principal as well isnt a very pleasant person, you can not approach him and ask questions, his attention is not on you when you try to speak with him. The principal as well put himself inbetween person business, that had nothing to do with him! that there left a bad taste in my mouth, amongst everything else wrong with this school. there is no reason for a principal to be inbetween a broken family issue and take sides. Only very few staff members are pleasant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2012

Great principal, very involved and accessible. It is apparent that he works hard to make the school the best it can be. With great dedicated teachers and staff this school has the perfect recipe for success! Very pleased with my daughter's grades and the amount of preparation for the state tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2011

the best school the teacher gave me money for my child beacause he needed money for the book fair my son was so smart we had to give him a lot of math
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2011

Both of my Kids go to this school. 1st grade and Kindergarten. They are doing so well in reading and math. The Teachers are outstanding and the Principal is so welcoming. i would give this school 10 out of 10.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2011

I'm a student here at p.s.13,senior in fact and i love my teacher ms.Faiella and this school.this is my last year and 7th year here.I am reading on a 6th grade level and this is because of my teacher and how helpful and nice they are and they take the time to tech me new things.i will miss p.s.13 a lot wen i go to 6th grade but ill always remember it.Luv yah p.s.13!!!!!!!!!!


Posted February 16, 2011

Well both of my children go to this school. My daughter is in the second grade and my son is in kindergarten. This school is by far exceptionally well for a public school. My son is reading very well and his grades are improving every marking period. His teacher is Ms. Ogieste and she is an excellent teacher. My daughter is reading on a 5th grade level and she is in the second grade. Her teacher Mrs. Chang is an excellent teacher as well. These teachers take the time to teach my children and any concern I have I will send a note and they will respond promptly. I love this school. I actually transfered them from St. Mary's catholic school and this was the best move ever! YOU CANNOT EXPECT THE TEACHER'S TO TEACH YOUR CHILDREN EVERYTHING. IF YOU HAVE A CHILD WHO DOES NOT LIKE TO LISTEN OR BEHAVE THEN YOU AS A PARENT NEED TO TEACH THAT AT HOME. SCHOOL IS NOT A PLAY GROUND. YOU MUST SIT PAY ATTENTION AND DO YOUR WORK! DON'T BLAME THE TEACHERS BLAME YOURSELVES AS PARENTS!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2011

I am a parent & I am trying to get my son out. He is 5yrs old, he doesn't always sit still in his chair they claim that he has ADHD or Autism. The school asked that I give him medicine. The doctor she referred me to said NO, he doesn't have either one and he definitely does not need meds. I am trying to hard to get him out but they want to put him in special ed. He is a very bright boy. Both his teachers also recommend medicine. "Isn't this the last resort?" The principal says he has ADHD because he used to be a special education teacher. No, that doesn't qualify you to make that statement. I also just get complaints, no good stuff. I spend over $40 for a reward system & they are not even implementing it. After speaking with other parents, so far 3 of them have moved their child out. Others have no issues. I am seeking help from th BOE because she wants him transferred but after evaluating him she will say he needs to be in special education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

They do their best to bring the best out of each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I love Lindenmeyer School because it has a fantastic bunch of teachers. They are inovative and caring and my grandchildren were very suscessfully helped thru all their developmental problems at that school and now are just about straight A students and its all due to P.S. 13!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

I am not happy in this school anymore. The principal is unapproachable and I have been very disappointed in her decision making for the school. The children should be her first priority but it seems that is not the case.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2008

My son did very well at ps 13 . i love this school love the staff & love the teachers !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2007

Very friendly. Highly recommended. Love all the staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I have a child going into kindergarten this year, and everyone in family before went to this school. So far I love it, I even moved so she could go here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
34%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

136 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

135 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 37% 23%
White 1 29% 48%
Black 1 20% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 13% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 116%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 276%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 4%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 59%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 265 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents21633%
Teachers4988%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. PAUL MARTUCCIO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

191 Vermont Ave
Staten Island, NY 10305
Phone: (718) 447-1462

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Joseph Parochial School
Staten Island, NY



Ps 57 Hubert H Humphrey
Staten Island, NY



Ps 14 Cornelius Vanderbilt
Staten Island, NY


Geller House School
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT