Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 16 John J Driscoll

Public | PK-5 | 857 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 14, 2013

The teachers and administration work together. My child has been very happy at the school. The principle and assistant principles are always there if you need to meet them. My daughter even got to see a broadway show. She had breakfast with Baby J.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2013

The Teacher are wonderful. I cannot say the same for the Administration. I had an opportunity to observe the Principal. She ACTS as if she cares for the School. However, she could careless about the safety of the students. There has been many times where I have dropped my child off and there was no one monitoring the kids entering early in the morning. Also, there has been instances of bullying the boys/girls bathrooms and nothing has been done about that either. If you aren't on the PTA or SLT you are unimportant to the Principal of P.S. 16. This school is Horrible!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2012

Very nice school, great teachers! Greater parent involvement would be nice, having classes create class contact lists at the start of the school year so that parents and students can communicate would be great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2012

I was a student here in the late 1960s and early 1970s and received a good education. It is nice to see that the school has maintained a good reputation. I wonder if knows what happened to Mrs. Karen Sinclair (she was my 4th grade teacher in 1970)? I would like to find her.


Posted June 16, 2011

I have three children in the school and think it is a great school. All the teacher and support staff are wonderful and very helpful. They all love all of their students. I am and incoming member of the pta. There is alot of parent support of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

THE SCHOOL IS DOING THE BEST TO PROGRESS BUT I DONT SEE IT HAPPENING CAUSE POOR DISCIPLIN ANDPOOR ENVOLVEMEHT OF PARENT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

I love this school and the teachers. We have a great environment here and everyone respects eachother. The children are very nice and they work hard. I am a para and I do the best I can for my class and for my students.


Posted September 22, 2009

Miss Dugan,Sandy she a creat teacher who care and help all children at PS 16 John J Driscoll School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

It's a school that believes and practices parent partnership. Parents are respected and seen as an integral member of children's education, members of an extended family. I am proud to be a member of P16's family
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

We went from a C to an A rating, which was a big accomplishment. This was due to our teachers hard work with after school tutoring and more assessments. We are like a big family here and we treat each student like they were our own and make each child feel special. Our parents work with the teachers to provide the best they can for their children. The children here develop pride in their work and in themselves and that confidence and joy of learning encourages them to want to do better. Our school is in a poor area and could really use the money for upgrading our electricity so all classrooms can have air conditioning, especially in our gym and auditorium as many children here suffer from asthma.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

this school has some of the hardest working teachers in new york city.


Posted September 21, 2009

The teachers in P.S. 16 genuinely care about the children they teach and help them to see their limitless potential.


Posted September 20, 2009

PS 16 is a wonderful school that provides a rich learning environment for all of its students. Everyone in our school community (teachers, students and administration) consistently strive for the best.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 20, 2009

PS 16 cares deeply about its students and with this funding we could reach so many more. We have worked really, really hard to obtain our goals. It's a great school learning environment ranked A by the department of Education Progress report. As a team of teachers, parents, administrators and students, we were able to reach these high goals. We will continue to work hard to provide for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

ps 16 has hard working staff working every day with a diverse population. This school has come along way since I started working there, they received an A on their report card this year when prior they had a C. Test scores went up for ESL and Special needs students. Overall they are doing a great job at keeping expectations for students high.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 19, 2009

The faculty and staff at PS 16 really care about the students diverse needs. Teachers work cooperatively to achieve our common goals.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 19, 2009

P.S. 16's motto is a community of learners excelling together. I truely believe in this statement. The staff are passionate about creating a caring and kind atmosphere where the students can grow and flourish. I take pride in placeing my energy towards providing my students with the best educational experiences possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

PS 16 is a wealth of diversity and has dedicated, parents, teacher, students, and administrators. We as teachers consider our students well being and education the most important part of our jobs. We care for them, nurture their minds and encourage them to be the best they can be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

We have the most beautiful children. Our teachers and administratoin do whatever it takes to create happy and hardworking members of society. We offer a variety of opportunities to peek students interests, such as music, art, photography, and more.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2009

P.S. is a multicultural learning environment. It is filled with energetic, caring teachers who look forward to helping their students reach their highest abilities and beyond.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
21%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
27%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

153 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
28%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students7%
Female8%
Male5%
African American4%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic7%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White0%
Economically disadvantaged7%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population8%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English11%
Non-migrant7%

Math

All Students5%
Female6%
Male4%
African American4%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic2%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White0%
Economically disadvantaged5%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population6%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English8%
Non-migrant5%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students11%
Female14%
Male9%
African American12%
Asian/Pacific Islander20%
Hispanic9%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White18%
Economically disadvantaged11%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population14%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English15%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant11%

Math

All Students11%
Female13%
Male10%
African American18%
Asian/Pacific Islander30%
Hispanic8%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White5%
Economically disadvantaged11%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities4%
General population14%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English16%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant11%

Science

All Students82%
Female85%
Male78%
African American91%
Asian/Pacific Islander90%
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities64%
General population85%
English language learners57%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students8%
Female11%
Male5%
African American0%
Asian/Pacific Islander53%
Hispanic4%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged6%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities3%
General population9%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English12%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant8%

Math

All Students8%
Female7%
Male8%
African American0%
Asian/Pacific Islander46%
Hispanic4%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged6%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population9%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English11%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant8%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 54% 23%
Black 28% 19%
White 12% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 130%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 195%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 71%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 322 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.2
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents27444%
Teachers4873%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. VINCENZA GALLASSIO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

80 Monroe Ave
Staten Island, NY 10301
Phone: (718) 447-0124

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ps 31 William T Davis
Staten Island, NY



Miraj Islamic School
Staten Island, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT