Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 18 John G Whittier 5

Posted May 17, 2011
- a community member
I really miss this school...although i no longer live in ny i live in nc no school and no teacher will be as cool as mrs.washington she was my favorite teacher and p.s.18 was my favorite school

Ps 18 John G Whittier 5

Posted October 08, 2010
- a community member
I was a student at P.S.18 from '92-'97, and it was my experience there that encouraged me to pursue teaching as a career. I am now working as a special education teacher and love every second of it, and I've Mrs. Carol, Mrs. Jordan, Mrs. Hynes and, especially, Mrs. Spero to thank. They believed in me and taught me how to believe in myself. Where I come from, that means more than an above average score on any standardized test.


Ps 18 John G Whittier 5

Posted March 22, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ps 18 John G Whittier 1

Posted July 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ps 18 John G Whittier 3

Posted April 30, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Ps 18 John G Whittier 5

Posted March 03, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ps 18 John G Whittier 4

Posted June 28, 2007
- a parent
Teachers need to work better with the parent coordinator to improve parental involvement which is necessary for our children to thrive!

Ps 18 John G Whittier 4

Posted May 25, 2006
- a parent
As,a parent of two children attending this school,I have to say I am quite satisfied with the principal and vice principals performance(s). The teachers as most of the staff are very helpful and committed to having both the children and the school thrive. The kitchen staff is wonderful and loving especially our beloved Mrs.Nelson. Parental involvement could use some improvement but along with the pta and the parent coordinator we will achieve this shortly.


Ps 18 John G Whittier 3

Posted June 02, 2005
- a parent
The teachers work hard in this school to provide truly involving classroom activities. Unfortunately, many discipline problems within the classes prevent the teachers from doing an effective job, and there is not nearly enough art/music/enrichment programming.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 18 John G Whittier
221 Broadway, Staten Island, NY  10310
(718) 442-0216
Last modified Ps 18 John G Whittier is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 18 John G Whittier Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top