Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

P.S. 21 Margaret Emery-Elm Park

Public | K-5 | 468 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 31, 2014

This is my sons first year at this school and I most say the principal is most disrespectful and unprofessional person ever. I agree with the other parents. She should work with animals cause that's who she thinks she's speaking to. She's is so lucky that I'm a respectful person. She thinks she's dealing with people that don't have educations and don't know who to speak English and won't answer her back. She should go back to school and learn how to communicate with others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

Pretty obvious the administration at this school needs a major overhaul....you get a more welcom feeling in a cemetary.....the Principal needs to take sensitivity training ....or perhaps demoted to kitchen aide
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2014

I thought I was the only person that felt this way about the principal, parent coordinator and secretary. My daughter has been attending this school since kindergarten and now she's in second grade and it has gotten from bad to worse. and this will be her last year and this circus they call a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

Well this is my child first year attending this school and I truly think the second grade teachers are great. But on the other hand the principal has to work on her social and people skills she's awful. I heard this isn't the first time a parent complained about her until I seen it for myself yesterday at pick up. I thought to myself if I wasn't a person with respect for others I would have told her off. Lets see how the rest of the year goes. I suggest she looks for a job that has nothing to do with communicating with people such as dog walking because her lack of respect for others sure isnt there .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2013

This this is my son's first time and last time going to this school he's in 3rd grade the school isnt good and the principal is very disrespectful, unprofessional and very obnoxious and does not know how to speak to parents and students the teachers are not that great either. my son also suffered from being bullied all year and the principal and teacher just ignored it and pushed it to the side plenty of times and never did anything about it my son was very miserable at this school and is happy that he will not be attending next year also Mr Fernandez is the principles puppet and will do anything that she says the main problem is the principal at the school and I really think that she needs to be replaced with someone better
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2013

The Principal has no clue.....she is rude crude and obnoxious....she is disrespectful, she is parent unfriendly and needs to be replaced. She has zero communication skills. She has the same old ideas year after year after year. No parent or student input. A dictatorship....not condusive to the learning environment. There needs to be a change instituted at this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2011

this is my sons first year there and i have found the secretary's and principal very unprofessional when you speak to them. also the way they dismiss all the children is crazy when it rains you cant even find your child they just put them in any room they are not organized,but on the better part when i have spoken to some of the teachers they showed there interested for there kids and i do agree they need special programs and a pre-k.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2011

This is my daughter's first year at this school. She entered as a transfer student going into the 4th grade. It's only October and I've talked to the teacher 3x's. None of it was negative but great communication between teacher and parent shows my daughter that we are all on the same page and we are here to help her do well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2010

teachers are good,but parking and picking up children ends up being a ticket frenzy for cops,there should be school busses!principal has to learn the difference between parents and students when speaking to them!she can be very judgemental and obnoxious.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

Nearly 4 generations of my family attended this school. The teachers are amazing and are always willing to take time out to help students in need. P.S.21 is a wonderful place. It gives off the right message to students and helps them to grow throughout their years in attendance.


Posted September 5, 2009

My son attended PS21 for Kindergarten and the First Grade. The staff is dedicated, but I was upset that the school does not have classes to accommodate special needs kids. Other than that, the school is fine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2008

It's my first year teaching at PS 21. I have taught at other schools and within other programs. Many times I have heard the term 'family' thrown around, but I've never actually experienced the feeling before. Administration, teachers and students honestly care about each other which fosters a true sense of community within the walls of this school. Iam honored to be a part of the PS 21 family.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 9, 2007

This is a great school! My daughter, who has a learning disability, has been in P.S.21 almost 1 year now. The progress she has made there is just amazing. She has mastered memorizing almost the entire multiplication table(something I couldn't get her to do!) and her reading has improved so much. The staff is very caring and supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2007

Enthusiastic principal. Caring teachers. Supportive staff. Much more parent involvement needed to make this a A++ school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2007

Excellent school and great teachers! They do so much for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2006

P.S. 21 is a great school that has been around for years. I had 3 children who attended the school and the extra curricular activities such as the May Fete were always a highlight for the children and myself.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2011.

75 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 59% 23%
Black 25% 19%
White 12% 48%
Asian 3% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 20%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 94%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 15%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 68%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 318 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents28179%
Teachers3795%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. GINA MORENO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

168 Hooker Pl
Staten Island, NY 10302
Phone: (718) 442-1520

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Adalbert School
Staten Island, NY


P.S. 22 Graniteville
Staten Island, NY


P.S. 44 Thomas C Brown
Staten Island, NY


P.S. 20 Port Richmond
Staten Island, NY


P.S. 19 the Curtis School
Staten Island, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT