Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Is 27 Anning S Prall

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 1068 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Saturday, August 16, 2014

This school is NOT a magnet school. Does not have a working website. Does not offer the classes they brag about. Does not have high expectation for children not in the honors program. They lied to me and the other parents at the orientation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

My daughter attended last year this school. Everything is perfect. Thank you all school staff..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2013

i'M looking foward to my child attending this school. My friends and PTA members recommend the programs at IS 27.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2013

My child has received an excellent education, despite a dysfunctional administration and very little parent or community involvement. But don't take my word for it, decide for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2012

all I know is this: My son loves going to school. He works hard and since he is a smart kid, is given grades in the 90s. Very positive experience for him. He also enjoys the before and after-school sport activities. keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2011

I would love to be above average as a former student. true public schools in nyc are terrible, concerning where the home students generally come from. however, it's been improving, the curriculars are excellent. however, when I went to high school, I noticed this school did not prepare me enough for English. science and math curriculum is great. the closeness to look out for safety and order is great within teachers. some teachers aren't the greatest role models. but overall, these kids love to come to school b/c of friends and are much better than other public middle schools. I would just hope this school stops faking things, I've noticed the past 2-3 years, some have put on a fake act to make this school sound great. it is, and would definitely be if they actually do the work. they do, but just not fully. in conclusion, the assisant principals are the + side to this school. overall, school is improving and favorable over the other ones.


Posted October 15, 2010

This is a great school which is motivating the students in higher learning. The informational are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

because it is a great school great support team and great programs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2009

The curricular activities are good, but the behavior of students is bad
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2009

Im A Student At IS27 And I Say Its A Good School Other Than The Freshmen Friday. Were The Older Kids Beat nUp The Freshmens. They Don't Pick On The Honors Kids, Though. I Give This School 5 Stars, The Teachers Are Nice, The Scool Is Clean, Has Better Lunches Than My Old School, And I Already Got 7 Friends And A Group Of 5, And Im Leader! :D
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2009

The curriculum challenges my god-daughter and also allows her access to a wide range of extra-curricular activities and a diversity of students and teachers.


Posted June 25, 2009

i honestly love the school. i am currently going there and moving to eight grade in september. i love the teachers and how they all teach. they are always watching out for us too! GO MUSTANGS!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 17, 2009

hi my name is prince amiekumo, i went to is 27 for my 6 and 7th grade year. i got to meet some amazing people. because of is 27 i got the chance to enter into high school. it is an amazing school i will always remember the amazing people there and every fun things i did there with my friends. i will always be a part of is27.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2009

hello my name is sheyla rivero and i got to I.S 27,i am in the sixth grade and in the academy enterprise I.S 27 is a wonderful school i am part of the chorus group and it is wonderful we do concerts and the seventh graders do musical theater im pretty sure that the upcoming sixth graders will like it just as much as i do
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2009

I go to IS 27,it is a wonderful school...mind you i am in sixth grade...and the academy are awsome and all have a different meaning but with one common thing to make a living out of our lifes as we grow-up,the programs are awsome drama,chorus and band iam in band the band teacher Mr.Gimo is very fun to work with, he makes you want to learn more about music and you get to learn words that are cool...then you spanish and french iam in spanish,the spanish teacher is very helpful if you dont get it,the principal is also very very nice...but at the end of the you cnt wait for the next one..IS 27 might not be a perfect school but they do make sure you kid(s) are always welcome...
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2009

Middle school is a tough place for most students to be. Not much can be done about students' attitudes, but teachers and administrators play a vital role in making a school an effective and safe place to learn. My experiences with both daughters who graduated Prall is that the staff is generally above-average. The deans & assistant principals are responsive and caring; Mrs. Kornish, the principal, has an open-door policy that makes her accessible to parents who have a wide range of concerns. Someone is always patrolling in the hallways to make sure things are quiet and orderly. Classmates gave my younger daughter a hard time, but I was always able to go to the Assistant Principal of her academy for support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

i am a seventh grader here, and i must say it isnt as bad as a 3. it is a regular school, and of course there are going to be fights- show me a public middle school that doesnt have them. the teachers are wonderful, and there are different academys and different oppertunities, which makes it interesting. the academys are- journalism, enterprize, and engineering. the school has wonderful arts programs. drama, chorus, and band. I am in band, and the teacher, he is fantastic.there are languages, spanish and french, i am in french, and the teacher is amazing herself. it is a wonderfull school, and hope to see you/ your child there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 4, 2008

This school has an amazing range of education for the student and is a great learning experience.


Posted January 11, 2008

27 is a wonderful experience for any child. Although the school has a tough student population, the staff ensures the saftey of all students. Staff is out there every day making sure students get home safely. The school is beautifully decorated and there are so mny after school programs offered. This school continues to improve academically, too.


Posted October 4, 2007

I currently go to this school. Im in 8th grade. I had a memorable time there. I love it here even thought the principle is very rude. I do enjoy being in the band program, and when I go to high school, i will miss it. The teachers are nice, but the school needs A.C. It is extremly hottt =)
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

369 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

364 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

367 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
34%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

322 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

292 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students18%
Female21%
Male17%
African American7%
Asian/Pacific Islander39%
Hispanic9%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White29%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities1%
General population25%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English20%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant18%

Math

All Students19%
Female16%
Male22%
African American5%
Asian/Pacific Islander45%
Hispanic11%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White26%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities3%
General population25%
English language learners4%
Proficient in English20%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students21%
Female25%
Male17%
African American13%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic9%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities3%
General population25%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English21%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant21%

Math

All Students19%
Female20%
Male19%
African American10%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities0%
General population24%
English language learners5%
Proficient in English21%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students24%
Female29%
Male21%
African American9%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic13%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White39%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities1%
General population32%
English language learners5%
Proficient in English25%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant24%

Math

All Students19%
Female24%
Male15%
African American5%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White27%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities1%
General population25%
English language learners5%
Proficient in English20%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant19%

Science

All Students55%
Female53%
Male57%
African American28%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities22%
General population68%
English language learners25%
Proficient in English57%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 37% 23%
White 2 28% 48%
Black 2 23% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 11% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 26%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 268%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 1%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 69%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1646 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.2
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.9
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents53556%
Students103298%
Teachers79100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. TRACEY KORNISH

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11 Clove Lake Pl
Staten Island, NY 10310
Phone: (718) 981-8800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Sacred Heart School
Staten Island, NY


Blessed Sacrament School
Staten Island, NY



St Teresa School
Staten Island, NY



Is 61 William A Morris
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT