Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 31 William T Davis

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 482 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 20, 2013

My son attended for Kindergarten and 1st grade... The curriculum was pathetic and laughable at best, my son would be finished with his homework within the 3 minute drive to my home.Although he was often called upon to assist the teacher, he was under stimulated and often called disruptive because he would finish his work the moment it was placed before him and they didn't know how to keep him interested because he felt that work was no challenge whatsoever. He earned multiple awards each year. I can't completely fault his teachers because although he was advanced they had to cater to the performance level of the other students but as a result myson was frustrated... We now have him enrolled in P.S.16 where the workload is increased and the children are better stimulated to learn. I feel for the state of P.S.31 due to the types of parents who populate the area who don't share an active interest in their children's educations due to not properly valuing one for themselves to begin with and as a result raise children who dont value education much either...I hope things improve for Ms.Covington...She's a nice woman and I know being a principal isnt easy...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

My son has been attending this school since kindergarten. He will now be going to the 2nd grade. My husband and I along with our son love this school. The staff members are great, very attentive and oh so caring. Security guard is on point. The children are welcomed in with a hug and smile by the Asstnt principal and the Principal is also always available. Thank you for such a Wonderful Job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

agree, terrible school, underqualified teachers. Kids are being taught to do less work "If you stay quiet you won't have to do any work" That's what my son was being told all alone the whole year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2012

I do not k now what student teacher that was and when they were there. It must have been over ten years ago. This is a great school environment for kids. There is still a lot of work to do but with the involvement of parents who want to make a difference it starts now. I am a part of the PTA and leadership team. Parents and the community make this school great. The teachers and the Principal and Assistant Principal make this school great. It Takes A Village To Raise A Child
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2012

Don't be fooled by the smiles!! I was a student teacher there and I saw the truth. The teachers scream at the kids all day. I saw one child dragged by his heals out of a classroom by the principal. The class I was in, the teacher would "corral" a student with tables and not let him sit for a half hour. Could not say anything for fear of reprisal. The school is run through fear and intimidation.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 13, 2012

I am impressed by the overall performance of this school. I have to admit that I didn't get especially good feedback, even a neighbor was trying to convince to find another school for my son, but we are zoned to this school, so here we are 3 months later my son has never been happier in school. I have to say all is very integral in PS 31, the administration is friendly and professional, the principal is so involved and accessible, the teacher is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2010

Hi I am a graduate from this wonderful school. The principal, Mrs. Covinton is outstanding. She can help you and your children thick and thin. The SAGE program was great. I was able to get more out of it than any other class I was in. If you have an upcoming child, come to this school, it's the best thing for you!!!


Posted March 19, 2010

My daughter goes to this school and she is in the Sage program. I love this school and all it's teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The principal and staff at PS 31 really care about the children. The staff and parents at the school are friendly and make you feel welcome. They really stay in touch with the parents about their child's progress. They have high hopes for all the children and push for respect and academic success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

I love this school because I love it, I love the principal, the teachers and nice environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

We love this school. The Principal, Mrs. Covington, and her open door policy make you feel comfortable and you can talk to the teachers about your child's progress whenever you need to. The gifted program is exceptional they really enrich the learning experience and take away some of those antiquated mundane boundaries that children don't like. I recommend this school to any parent -to parents who want to become involved and those who if its not broken don't try to fix it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

The school needs improvement when it comes to organization, especially when you go to pick up your child and you are being pushed by the bystanders. I really like the teachers, they are great, especially Mrs. Berkin who is a teacher of Kindergarden class. She is not only a good educator but also a great person with great values. She taught my son last year and this year she has my daughter, and I wouldn't want any other teacher for my kids. A lot of the children attending the school are great, but many need some discipline as well as their parents, but like I said, the teachers are probably the best in NYC, at least the ones that I met!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

Principal Covington has obviously worked very hard to get the school back on track. The worst thing for the kids is that MANY of the PARENTS DO NOT GET INVOLVED. I hear parents complain all the time, so you should spend a day inside the school system and see how difficult it is to be responsible for all those children. If the parents don't like something, maybe they should get off their backsides and participate in the SCHOOL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

Mrs Covington is a great person with a heart of gold. My son is very happy and for the 4 yrs he has attanded this school he has been extremely happy with all of the teachers. This is a very intimate environment, it seems like everone knows eachother. I feel my son is safe in this school. The SAGE program is the best! The school also has a beautiful new playground & library the children can enjoy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

Great school I feel so safe that my kids attending this school. thanks for Ms. Covington.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

Ms. Covington is a super principal. She is very hands-on and makes parents feel like they are a part of the school family. She goes above and beyond the call of duty. It is vey evident that she is passionate about her role as principal. My son has been attending the school for 2 years now and doing well. His classroom teacher is one of the best. I think this school is under-rated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2008

The principal is excellent. She is very hands on and operates with the best interests of the children in mind. My child has been in this school for four years and I've never encounted a problem with any staff members. There is an open door policy for both the principal and the teachers. This is an excellent public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

The principal is great and works hard in this system. Some teachers yell too much but in general the teachers care about the students. The parents should get more involved to aid in the school but that seems to be rare. Most of the issues that the students have come from their families not the school system. The gifted program is great and i would recommend this school to the surrounding community. Parents- get involved!


Posted November 24, 2007

The principal is rude. Everytime I come in to pick up my daugter, there is a problem. I will look into a different school for my child. The gifted program is horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
7%

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

75 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

64 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
27%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

63 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
3%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
32%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

65 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 52% 19%
Hispanic 2 37% 23%
White 1 10% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 1% 9%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 7%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 97%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 40%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 258 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents22669%
Teachers3280%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. PATRICIA COVINGTON

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

55 Layton Ave
Staten Island, NY 10301
Phone: (718) 273-3500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 16 John J Driscoll
Staten Island, NY




Miraj Islamic School
Staten Island, NY


Ps 373
Staten Island, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT