Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
49 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 86 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 32 The Gifford School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 08, 2016
- a parent
The teachers definitely have been teaching for a while and are experienced with dealing with kids that have different levels of learning. I think they know to help kids grow if they are more advanced and also help the kids who are weaker in certain subjects to become better in those areas.

Ps 32 The Gifford School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 08, 2016
- a parent
It's about 1 - 1/2 hours of homework which I believe is fair for my child's grade level.


Ps 32 The Gifford School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted June 08, 2016
- a parent
So far my child has had stern but caring teachers who expect a lot of the students and help them develop in areas where they have weaknesses.

Ps 32 The Gifford School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted June 08, 2016
- a parent
I think sometimes it depends on the teachers the child has. I recently had a situation where other kids were picking on my children and I told the teacher about it. She spoke to the kids to make them stop and so far the kids have not returned to their old ways.

Ps 32 The Gifford School 4

Posted June 08, 2016
- a parent
The teachers and the administration truly care about the student and do everything for their power to create a supportive and safe environment for them. My child has been at this school for 3 years and loves his teachers and the administration. I think they have a very good curriculum and is always striving to improve the school.


Ps 32 The Gifford School 5

Posted March 18, 2015
- a parent
My daughter started kindgarten Sept 2014. She has an amazing one of kind teacher Mrs. Garnett and her Para Ms. Joanne. My daughter is doing extremely well. The administrative staff are pleasant and extremely helpful. I couldnt be happier with this school. As a child i attented this school with my sisters. Noelle Roman

Ps 32 The Gifford School 5

Posted March 12, 2015
- a parent
My daughter went to this school from Pre-K to 5th grade.This school made her who she truly is today. When she was in 5th grade she got in Petrides and unfortunately couldn't go because we moved to New Jersey after she finished 5th grade.I still talk to teachers, and my daughter is now a sophomore at Fordham University in a pre-law program. Not only that, but she also interns for Governer Andrew Cuomo.

Ps 32 The Gifford School 5

Posted June 30, 2014
- a parent
This is a wonderful school with teachers who care. My son has been in this school for two years now and this great that has really helped him grow. He's had one of the best, most caring teachers Mr. Q who has helped him improve his reading, writing and made him more confident. Never had a problem with the administrative staff either, they've always been helpful. I highly recommend this school.


Ps 32 The Gifford School 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
PS 32 is a fantastic school. My daughter are in 4th and 2nd grades. Both of them are reading well above their grade level and enjoy reading and math. They look forward to going to school, not only to see their friends but for the over all experience they get while at school. They've loved every teacher they've gotten since kindergarten. I'm a happy mommy and would recommend this school to anyone looking for a wonderful overall experience. The only questionable issue I do have is why are there 3 assistant principals and 1 principal for a school of this size. I don't feel 4 people are needed to manage the overall well being of a school of this size. Doesn't seem right to me. And I've never seen that in any other grade school.

Ps 32 The Gifford School 5

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
My daughter just started kindergarten in this school and we are very happy that everything went great. Teachers are great, school nice and clean. Management is very professional.

Nearby schools

Ps 32 The Gifford School
32 Elverton Avenue, Staten Island, NY  10308
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 86 reviews. (718) 984-1688
Last modified Ps 32 The Gifford School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top