Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 35 The Clove Valley School

Public | K-5 | 342 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 13, 2014

I have to respond I the parent that said it's who you know in the school that gets you recognized. I'm sorry but I greatly disagree. My kids and I came into the school not knowing anyone but through my parental involvement and my kids working hard to be good and respectful students we became a part of a great community that feels like family. So get involved talk to the principal talk to the PTA at PTA meetings if your not happy but don't put down a great school if your not being proactive and doing something about it other than giving it 1 star and saying it's a bad school. I challenge you to find a public school in the area that's better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2014

I found P.S.35 to be very welcoming! The staff are excellent. The Principal knew my daughter's name by the second day of kindergarten! I am welcome to help out in the classroom anytime I'd like. The work is rigorous, but school goes out of it's way to support students that need help. My daughter love it. I feel like it's a private school that's free. BTW, I am an elementary school teacher myself, so I really know what I'm looking at. Go Bees!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2013

Love how parents in here posted that this school is a closenit school. Yeah right it's who you know how you know them. If you are an outsider of this little click you are in big trouble and its fend for your own child. There should be no favoritism in this school but every year I see the same students getting acknowledged for the same awards and ect. What about the other 280 kids in the school. The principle always says she runs a tight ship news flash this is not a ship but a school. Open up your eyes people!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Great school for my kids, I do wish they had a better yard for the kids to enjoy. The teachers are wonderful and the PTA does a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

My son's school is nurturing and I feel the teachers are helping him with developing the skills he will need to succeed once he leaves this school. His teachers are involved and are always available if I have any questions or concerns. My son is happy going into school each morning which is all I can ask for. I wish there were more after school activities but besides that I'm very happy with his school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

A great small community school with a small student-teacher ratio. It has principal with an open door policy that is always available to hear any concerns you may have and answer any questions regarding your child's education. Very involved PTA adds to the feeling of a connection between the educators and parents. leads to the success of common goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2013

This school has an amazing community of parents and teachers. Not all parents participate, but the ones that do take the time to know all the children and help them. The teachers welcome parent involvement and encourage visits to the class to read or help with projects and parties.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2013

P.S.35 is a great school!! The staff cares about the children and also the parents. The ciriculum they teach is also wonderful the children will leave there with more knowledge then you'd expect. I highly recomend sending your children there!!


Posted September 11, 2013

This is my child's first year attend P. S. 35. We've heard nothing but great things of this school and except to have a great learning experience for our child as well. Best wishes to all the studends and staff for a wonderful school year!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

I think the school is wonderful. The lessons engage the students while helping them to exel in the new common core standards. This year they have started grouping students. I think it can only help. The students that may be a bit above average will be with "like minds" and can all learn and be challenged as a group. While the children that tend be "middle of the road" will have the opportunity to be the "stand out" in their class and the children that struggle will have ample time to "get it" because they will be teaching to a whole class instead of having just a few minutes to explain. The parent base in the school is very strong and the PTA is very involved and always plans great events for both the students and their parents. As far as improvement, more enrichment programs need to be put in place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

This is a great school. Everyone is like family, so not only do you feel your child is really cared for but the get the best care as possible. This school wants as much for the kids as possible. With some financial help the kids would benefit in various ways. Though its great here I know it will just keep getting greater.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

My son going P.S.35 .This is his second year and we are so lucky to have this great school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

I feel very lucky to have my daughter enrolled in PS 35. The staff and principal are all sweethearts they all care for the kids as if they were their own. They know each child and are very accomodating with drop off and pick up. I have my 2 nephews and neices and we all think they are amazing!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

Unfortunately, PS 35 seems to be coasting on the great reputation it acquired under the previous principal, but in fact it has become a haven for mediocrity and petty intolerance. The school's motto, "Kids Come First," has become hypocritical, and the reality is that the administration and teaching staff (the ones we have encountered, anyway) are far more concerned with their own assessments than with the well-being of the students. The school's attractions are its small size and safety, but these are offset by the patronizing and hostile attitudes we have experienced.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

beautiful environment, friendly parent and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2009

I jump the gun by writing this review, since my son just attended the kindergarten three weeks ago. So far I have liked the school. The principal, the teacher, and other staff members are professional and caring. Previously I got an impression that students at NYC s public schools do not have to study that much. It turns out to be wrong. My son has homework to do every day, which pleasantly surprises and occasionally overwhelms me. I am optimistic that my son will get a well-rounded education at P.S. 35, whose motto is kids come first!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2009

My daugther is leaving PS 35 we had a wonderful 6 years at PS 35. We would love to thank Mrs. Wehner for an excellent last year at PS 35. I would of like to see a little bit more done for the 5th grade students, but academically this school is exceptional and we will miss it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2008

My son is in kindergarten at P.S.35 and we are so happy that we decided to send him there. we are so lucky to have Mrs. Touhy as his teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2008

The school is slowly improving in its enrichment programs. Ms. Garafalo aka Longobardi has begun an after school music program for the students and is planning to continue this program next year as part of the regular program of the school. I am glad that the school is finally enriching the children's academic life so that they can become well rounded individuals. I adore P.S. 35. It isn't perfect but what school is. As part of the P.S. 35 community, we should all be pro active about the issues that the school will face, instead of complaining about it all the time. This is a public school. Get involved. Volunteer if you have time. Go to the PTA meetings. Learn with your children. Become aware of the issues at hand and help with the process.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2008

I'm very disappointed in the grade received on the school's report card. My oldest daughter is currently in 5th grade and has nothing but wonderful things to say about the school, it's teachers as well as other staff. Since transferring to this school 3 years ago, they have been nothing but wonderful. I am so happy that my children are enjoying school. That's how it should be...a place where students want to come. We do, however miss Mr. Behr as principal. Many traditions have been started and maintained...the pork chop derby, field day, and dance fete , which is fun for kids...and talked about the entire year...before and after these activities take place. We love P.S. 35 and want to thank Mrs. Chanod, Ms. Morton, Mrs. Hartmann, Ms. Zito, and the rest of the staff for taking the time to care and really help make P.S. 35 a great place to be!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

55 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
50%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 56% 48%
Hispanic 1 20% 23%
Black 1 14% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 9% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 14%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 240%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 75%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 270 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents25491%
Teachers1676%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MELISSA GAROFALO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

60 Foote Ave
Staten Island, NY 10301
Phone: (718) 442-3037

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 29 Bardwell
Staten Island, NY


Ps 48 William C Wilcox
Staten Island, NY


Ps 57 Hubert H Humphrey
Staten Island, NY


St Teresa School
Staten Island, NY


Ps 45 John Tyler
Staten Island, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT