Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
40 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 35 The Clove Valley School 5

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
Third year in the school. I must say the school is very small which has its ups and downs. A positive way to look at it is you have the opportunity to become very involved and close with the school IF YOU WANT TO. Your child's teacher can encourage your leadership. If you and the teacher is not on the same page it is not the child's fault. (Open your eyes) I don't agree with everything but I can say I am happy with my child's level of education. And that's what it all falls down to.

Ps 35 The Clove Valley School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
The Teachers put in a lot of effort in your child. They become an extended family.


Ps 35 The Clove Valley School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted June 15, 2016
- a parent
Overall, YES I do highly feel the school develops the necessay characters in the students.

Ps 35 The Clove Valley School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
Mrs. Reilly and Ms. Silveri reach out to parents regularly with important information (and reassuring photos!) via text. They come to every PTA meeting! They take time to share a child's small classroom triumph with parents — as well as giving them concrete ideas to help kids hone skills that need improvement. We are so grateful to have them in our school!

Ps 35 The Clove Valley School 5

Posted January 13, 2014
- a parent
I have to respond I the parent that said it's who you know in the school that gets you recognized. I'm sorry but I greatly disagree. My kids and I came into the school not knowing anyone but through my parental involvement and my kids working hard to be good and respectful students we became a part of a great community that feels like family. So get involved talk to the principal talk to the PTA at PTA meetings if your not happy but don't put down a great school if your not being proactive and doing something about it other than giving it 1 star and saying it's a bad school. I challenge you to find a public school in the area that's better.


Ps 35 The Clove Valley School 5

Posted January 12, 2014
- a parent
I found P.S.35 to be very welcoming! The staff are excellent. The Principal knew my daughter's name by the second day of kindergarten! I am welcome to help out in the classroom anytime I'd like. The work is rigorous, but school goes out of it's way to support students that need help. My daughter love it. I feel like it's a private school that's free. BTW, I am an elementary school teacher myself, so I really know what I'm looking at. Go Bees!

Ps 35 The Clove Valley School 1

Posted December 03, 2013
- a parent
Love how parents in here posted that this school is a closenit school. Yeah right it's who you know how you know them. If you are an outsider of this little click you are in big trouble and its fend for your own child. There should be no favoritism in this school but every year I see the same students getting acknowledged for the same awards and ect. What about the other 280 kids in the school. The principle always says she runs a tight ship news flash this is not a ship but a school. Open up your eyes people!

Ps 35 The Clove Valley School 4

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
Great school for my kids, I do wish they had a better yard for the kids to enjoy. The teachers are wonderful and the PTA does a great job.


Ps 35 The Clove Valley School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
My son's school is nurturing and I feel the teachers are helping him with developing the skills he will need to succeed once he leaves this school. His teachers are involved and are always available if I have any questions or concerns. My son is happy going into school each morning which is all I can ask for. I wish there were more after school activities but besides that I'm very happy with his school.

Ps 35 The Clove Valley School 4

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
A great small community school with a small student-teacher ratio. It has principal with an open door policy that is always available to hear any concerns you may have and answer any questions regarding your child's education. Very involved PTA adds to the feeling of a connection between the educators and parents. leads to the success of common goals.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 35 The Clove Valley School
60 Foote Avenue, Staten Island, NY  10301
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. (718) 442-3037
Last modified Ps 35 The Clove Valley School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top