Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


31 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 38 George Cromwell 2

Posted November 18, 2014
- a parent
When you consider PS38 as a possible choice for your child's education consider this .. children were asked to line up for a fire drill In 32 degree weather-- The teacher tells the students you don't have time to get your coats but she leaves the school with her jacket on ! when the children are outside screaming IM COLD ! they get detention for speaking during a fire drill ! when you call the school to defend your child like every parent should your told in a very condescending tone ..would you want your child to grab his /her coat if it was a real fire? NO! what I want is the teacher to also leave the school without her jacket and not yell at my kid for being COLD. If fire drills are made to be as close to real life as possible then no one should have coats on ! but this school did not use any common sense when they picked the coldest most harsh day of the week for a fire drill , PICK A SCHOOL THAT CARES !
3 people found this helpful

Ps 38 George Cromwell 1

Posted November 18, 2014
- a parent
I was extremely disappointed in the way PS 38 handled todays fire drill. Our 5th grade students were told they could not get their coats during the fire drill. The issue with this is that the teacher who was more concerned with her self than the students made sure she grabbed her coat. This teacher made sure she was warm in 30 deg weather while our children froze. Then our children where reprimanded for complaining that they were cold. This is unacceptable and we will demand an apology from the administration at 38. This teacher should be ashamed!!!!!
3 people found this helpful


Ps 38 George Cromwell 5

Posted September 18, 2014
- a parent
I belive each leader wants to see own people in the morning and P.S. 38 Principle is very good example how it should be done. Kids learn discipline, learn many new things every day from great techers. To keep up with program you have to find time and work with your kids at home. Don't forget that not all kids are so talented, that's mean we have to work harder.

Ps 38 George Cromwell 2

Posted May 28, 2014
- a parent
Below average. If you compare this to other public school it would fail Principal to the most of the teacher. Half the time they don't have enough supplies half the time the information is wrong or selective My mother is a teacher and she cant believe how this place "school" is run. Principal loves her position just like any union worker.
1 person found this helpful

Ps 38 George Cromwell 4

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school with excellent teachers. Two of my children go there and they love their teachers. Staff is helpful and the principal greets students in the morning. The education my children receive is equal to my friends kids that attend private schools. Of course you have to study with your kids at home, don't expect then to learn everything in school.


Ps 38 George Cromwell 2

Posted June 06, 2013
- a parent
PS 38 is more like P.S. this school is run like a union. With a principal Robles being a dictator. Her way or keep quiet. Sadly I think the teacher are made to keep quiet and follow orders, power has gone to her head and she has lost sight of what is important: Children...very pathetic, My brother teaches at a private school are read some of her emails and was horrified by her lack of concern. Maybe time to call the commissioner and others.
3 people found this helpful

Ps 38 George Cromwell 3

Posted September 13, 2012
- a parent
I am overall happy with the teachers but unfortunately do not feel that the principal is supporting the students or has their best interest at heart. I do not believe she povides good leadership or example to her staff and students.
1 person found this helpful

Ps 38 George Cromwell 1

Posted February 29, 2012
- a parent
The Principal of this school is a big phoney. Always has a FAKE smile plastered to her face, that is neither sinceir or trustworthy. The teachers walk around in fear of her, and are inable to do their jobs as a result.
2 people found this helpful


Ps 38 George Cromwell 2

Posted December 09, 2011
- a parent
Teachers and administrators are the rudest and the education given there is way below average. Homework assignments for the older kids are 1st grade level. How do you expect these children to ever succeed in HS and college? They need to stop worrying about games and sports, and focus more on the books.

Ps 38 George Cromwell 5

Posted March 30, 2011
- a parent
This a WONDERFUL school, open door policy, great comunication with the teachers and principal. As a parent you feel welcomed. The Principal is a LOVELY person, she does an amazing job in this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 38 George Cromwell
421 Lincoln Ave, Staten Island, NY  10306
(718) 351-1225
Last modified Ps 38 George Cromwell is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 38 George Cromwell Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews. Top